Passage & Pier

Best Lightweight Travel Backpacks

Ranked on the one number that decides it: the empty weight the maker publishes. On a 7 kg cabin allowance, every ounce of bag is an ounce of clothing you leave at home.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we choose

“Lightweight” is the most abused word in backpack listings, because nothing stops a maker using it on a bag that weighs four pounds empty. So this page has one rule: a pack is ranked on the empty weight its maker publishes, and a pack that publishes no weight cannot be ranked at all. Several popular budget packs fall out on that rule alone. We would rather leave them off than guess.

Why the number matters: on American, Delta and United there is no cabin weight limit, and a heavy bag is merely tiring. On Emirates and Qantas the Economy allowance is 7 kg, on Lufthansa it is 8 kg, and those figures include the bag. A 4.5 lb pack eats 29% of a 7 kg allowance before you pack a sock; a 2.2 lb pack eats 14%. The difference is roughly a day of clothes, which is why the picks below are ordered by published weight within their class, with the airline table linked from carry-on weight limits by airline.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which bag we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on capacity, carry-on fit and who each bag actually suits. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not flown every one of these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Hynes Eagle 40L Flight-Approved Carry-On Backpack

Hynes Eagle 40L Flight-Approved Carry-On Backpack

The perennial budget one-bag pick. A 40L clamshell with a real hip belt for a fraction of the premium price — genuinely capable for the money. You give up refinement and long-term durability, but for occasional trips it punches far above its cost.

Lightest 40L: 2.2 lb published
$43.99 · View on Amazon

$54.9920% off

Price as of September 21, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L Travel Backpack

tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L Travel Backpack

A lot of well-built 40L for the money. A structured clamshell with a protective laptop compartment and a lifetime warranty that undercuts the premium brands by a wide margin. The trade-off is a simpler harness — fine for airport-to-hotel, less so for long walks under load.

Lightest 40L with a 17 in laptop sleeve: 2.65 lb
$79.99 · View on Amazon

$89.9911% off

Price as of September 21, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

The default answer to 'best carry-on travel backpack,' and it earns it: a 40L clamshell that opens flat like a suitcase, a real hip belt that moves the load off your shoulders, and Osprey's all-mighty warranty behind it. At 40L it sits right at the carry-on ceiling — great if you pack full, worth measuring against a strict European carrier.

Lightest premium 40L with a full hip belt: 3.1 lb
$199.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 21, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Pacsafe Metrosafe X 20L Anti-Theft Backpack

Pacsafe Metrosafe X 20L Anti-Theft Backpack

The real anti-theft pick — not a hidden pocket, but a system: slash-resistant fabric, locking zippers and RFID-blocking pockets. A 20L daypack for pickpocket-heavy cities where you want to stop worrying about your bag. Priced accordingly.

Lightest structured day bag: 1.87 lb
$119.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 21, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Sea to Summit Ultra-Sil Dry Day Pack 22L

Sea to Summit Ultra-Sil Dry Day Pack 22L

The rare bag that is actually waterproof rather than merely water-resistant: taped seams, a double roll-top instead of a zipper, and a fabric rated above 2,000 mm — in a pack that still weighs under four ounces. If your trip involves boats, monsoons or a kayak, this is the honest answer at day-bag size.

Lightest packable: 0.24 lb
$69.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 21, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Lightest 40L: 2.2 lb published

Hynes Eagle 40L Flight-Approved Carry-On Backpack

The perennial budget one-bag pick. A 40L clamshell with a real hip belt for a fraction of the premium price — genuinely capable for the money. You give up refinement and long-term durability, but for occasional trips it punches far above its cost.

Strengths

  • 40L clamshell with a hip belt at a budget price
  • Compression straps to cinch a light load down to size
  • A frequent recommendation in one-bag communities

Trade-offs

  • Materials and zippers aren't built for years of hard use
  • No premium warranty to fall back on
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)2.2 lb
External dimensions20.1 x 13.4 x 9.8 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve15.6 in
MaterialWater-repellent polyester
WarrantyNot published

Fit note. A capable 40L for the price. Treat it as a few-years bag rather than a buy-it-for-life pack, and the value is hard to argue with. Same 40L strict-carrier caveat applies.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Lightest 40L with a 17 in laptop sleeve: 2.65 lb

tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L Travel Backpack

A lot of well-built 40L for the money. A structured clamshell with a protective laptop compartment and a lifetime warranty that undercuts the premium brands by a wide margin. The trade-off is a simpler harness — fine for airport-to-hotel, less so for long walks under load.

Strengths

  • Structured clamshell and a well-padded laptop compartment
  • Lifetime warranty at a mid-tier price
  • Clean, business-appropriate looks

Trade-offs

  • Simpler hip belt and back panel than an Osprey — less comfortable under a heavy load
  • At 40L, the same strict-carrier caveat applies when packed full
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)2.65 lb
External dimensions20.5 x 13 x 9 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve17.3 in
MaterialRecycled 1680D PET fabric, YKK zippers
Warranty1-year (2-year with registration)

Fit note. The tomtoc's strength is protective tech carry at a mid price; its weakness is the suspension. If you'll walk far with it loaded, budget for the comfort gap versus a hip-belted Osprey.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Lightest premium 40L with a full hip belt: 3.1 lb

Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

The default answer to 'best carry-on travel backpack,' and it earns it: a 40L clamshell that opens flat like a suitcase, a real hip belt that moves the load off your shoulders, and Osprey's all-mighty warranty behind it. At 40L it sits right at the carry-on ceiling — great if you pack full, worth measuring against a strict European carrier.

Strengths

  • Clamshell opens flat so you pack it like a suitcase, not a stuff sack
  • Proper padded hip belt actually transfers weight off the shoulders
  • Backed by Osprey's All Mighty Guarantee — they repair or replace it

Trade-offs

  • At 40L it runs right at the carry-on limit; overpack it and strict carriers push back
  • Premium price versus the budget 40L crowd
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)3.1 lb
External dimensions21 x 15 x 10 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve15 in
MaterialNylon ripstop
WarrantyOsprey All Mighty Guarantee

Fit note. 40L is the most a soft carry-on backpack can hold before it starts failing strict sizers when full. On generous US carriers it clears; on a strict 40x20x25cm European budget limit, packed full it can get flagged. Check your carrier's number on our size guide before you count on it.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Lightest structured day bag: 1.87 lb

Pacsafe Metrosafe X 20L Anti-Theft Backpack

The real anti-theft pick — not a hidden pocket, but a system: slash-resistant fabric, locking zippers and RFID-blocking pockets. A 20L daypack for pickpocket-heavy cities where you want to stop worrying about your bag. Priced accordingly.

Strengths

  • Slash-resistant paneling and lockable zipper pulls — actual security, not just a hidden pocket
  • RFID-blocking pockets for cards and passport
  • Comfortable, low-key 20L daypack

Trade-offs

  • Security hardware adds weight and cost versus a plain daypack
  • 20L is a day bag, not a travel main-bag
Capacity20 L
Weight (empty)1.87 lb
External dimensions17.7 x 11.8 x 5.1 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Personal-item sized
Laptop sleeve16 in
Material750D recycled polyester, eXomesh slashguard
WarrantyPacsafe 5-year limited warranty

Fit note. This is what 'anti-theft' should mean: slash-resistant fabric and locking zippers, not a marketing sticker. Overkill for a quiet trip; exactly right for a crowded market or a night train.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 7, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Lightest packable: 0.24 lb

Sea to Summit Ultra-Sil Dry Day Pack 22L

The rare bag that is actually waterproof rather than merely water-resistant: taped seams, a double roll-top instead of a zipper, and a fabric rated above 2,000 mm — in a pack that still weighs under four ounces. If your trip involves boats, monsoons or a kayak, this is the honest answer at day-bag size.

Strengths

  • Genuinely sealed: taped seams plus a double roll-top, not a 'water-resistant' zipper
  • 3.9 oz for 22L — waterproof normally costs far more weight than this
  • Packs down small enough to live inside your main bag all trip

Trade-offs

  • Roll-top closure means slower access than a zip, every single time
  • Unpadded and frameless — it protects your gear, it doesn't carry it comfortably
Capacity22 L
Weight (empty)0.24 lb
External dimensionsNot published
Carry-on fit (our read)Personal-item sized
Laptop sleeveNot published
Material30D siliconized Cordura nylon, PU-coated
WarrantyNot published

Fit note. Sea to Summit states a hydrostatic head above 2,000 mm, double-stitched seams sealed with PU tape, and a non-wicking double roll-top — and also states it is not intended to be submerged. That last line is the difference between 'waterproof in the rain' and 'waterproof underwater,' and almost no listing in this category is that clear.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

The weight table, and what it costs you

These are the published empty weights of the five picks, and what each takes out of a 7 kg (15.4 lb) allowance. The percentages are arithmetic, not opinion.

Published empty weight of each pick and its share of a 7 kg cabin allowance
PackPublished weightShare of a 7 kg allowanceClass
Sea to Summit Ultra-Sil Dry Day Pack 22L0.24 lb2%Packable day bag
Pacsafe Metrosafe X 20L1.87 lb12%Structured day bag / personal item
Hynes Eagle 40L2.2 lb14%40L carry-on
tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L2.65 lb17%40L carry-on
Osprey Farpoint 403.1 lb20%40L carry-on

For context, the heaviest travel packs we cover publish 4.5 lb (the Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L) and 5.5 lb (the High Sierra Freewheel, a wheeled bag). On a weight-capped carrier those are a third of your allowance gone before you start.

Why the lightest 40L is a budget bag

The Hynes Eagle’s 2.2 lb is not a design triumph so much as an absence: no frame sheet, thinner fabric, a simpler harness, no premium warranty. That is exactly the trade the weight-conscious traveler is choosing, and for occasional trips on a 7 kg carrier it is the right one. It is also a 40L clamshell with a real hip belt, which almost nothing else at its weight or price manages. The honest caveat is durability: it is a few-years bag, not a buy-it-for-life one, and our Hynes Eagle 40L review says so at length.

The tomtoc is the more interesting number. A structured 1680D clamshell with YKK zippers and a published 17.3 in laptop sleeve at 2.65 lb is a genuinely good result; most bags that protect a laptop that well weigh a pound more. What it gives up is the suspension: a simpler hip belt and back panel than the Osprey, which you notice on a long walk and not between a taxi and a hotel.

The Farpoint 40 is here as the floor for a premium pack with a proper load-bearing hip belt: 3.1 lb, and for that you get a harness that moves weight onto your hips and a lifetime guarantee. The Fairview 40, the women’s-fit version, publishes 3.2 lb. The Cotopaxi Allpa 35L publishes 2.94 lb for 35L, which per liter is close to the Farpoint and a shade lighter overall; it is not a pick here only because we currently have no live Amazon price to show for it, and you can read the case for it in our Cotopaxi Allpa 35L review.

Light versus lightweight: the two questions

People searching for a lightweight travel backpack want one of two things, and it is worth knowing which.

A light bag. The empty weight is the problem, usually because a carrier weighs cabin bags. The picks above answer this directly, and the rule is simple: subtract the published weight from your allowance and pack to what is left.

A light load. The total is the problem, and the bag is a small part of it. Here the bag weight matters less than what you put in it, and the real gains are elsewhere: one pair of shoes worn rather than packed, a laundry cycle instead of a second week of clothes, a two-week carry-on plan that treats laundry as capacity. A 2.2 lb bag with 20 lb of clothes in it is not light.

If your version of the question is the second one, our minimalist travel backpacks roundup is about carrying less rather than carrying a lighter bag, and it is probably the page you want.

Lightweight travel backpacks for women

The weight of a pack does not change with the harness label, but the fit does, and a light pack that sits wrong is still uncomfortable. The women’s-fit Osprey Fairview 40 publishes 3.2 lb, a tenth of a pound more than the Farpoint, on a shorter, narrower harness. The LOVEVOOK 40L women’s pack publishes no weight, so it does not appear here. The full women’s field is in best travel backpacks for women, and the fit decision itself is about torso length, not gender: measure yours in how to fit a travel backpack.

The packable pick, and its limits

At a published 0.24 lb, the Sea to Summit Ultra-Sil Dry Day Pack is in a different category from everything else here: a roll-top dry bag with shoulder straps that packs into its own pocket and lives inside your main bag until you need a second one. It has no structure, no padding and no laptop sleeve. It is the lightest day bag you can buy and a wonderful thing on a beach or a wet market day. It is not a travel backpack, and nobody should try to fly a week out of it. The structured alternative, and the only one here we would put a laptop in, is the Pacsafe: 1.87 lb for a 20L bag with slash-resistant panels and a published 16 in sleeve.

What “lightweight” should make you check

  • Is a weight published at all?If the listing says “lightweight” and gives no figure, the word is decoration.
  • Does your carrier weigh cabin bags?On most US majors, no; on most of Asia, the Middle East and Europe’s full-service carriers, yes. The table is in the weight limits guide.
  • What was removed to get the weight down? Usually the frame sheet, the hip-belt padding and the fabric weight. That is fine for a light load and a short walk, and a false economy if you carry 20 lb across a city.
  • Are the dimensions still inside the box? Light does not mean small. The Hynes Eagle publishes 20.1 x 13.4 x 9.8 in, which is 0.8 in over the standard 9 in depth; check it against the size guide as you would any 40L.

Frequently asked questions

What is the lightest travel backpack?

Of the packs we cover that publish a weight, the lightest full-size carry-on is the Hynes Eagle 40L at 2.2 lb, followed by the tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L at 2.65 lb and the Cotopaxi Allpa 35L at 2.94 lb. The lightest structured day bag is the Pacsafe Metrosafe X 20L at 1.87 lb, and the lightest bag of any kind is the packable Sea to Summit Ultra-Sil Dry Day Pack at 0.24 lb. Packs that publish no weight are not ranked, because we will not estimate one.

How much should a travel backpack weigh empty?

Under 3 lb is light for a 40L travel pack with a real harness; 3 to 3.5 lb is typical for a premium clamshell; over 4 lb is heavy and starts to matter on a weight-capped carrier. The way to judge it is as a share of your allowance: a 3 lb bag is about 20% of a 7 kg limit, a 4.5 lb bag is about 29%.

Do airlines weigh carry-on backpacks?

Some do. American, Delta and United publish no cabin weight limit for domestic flights. Emirates and Qantas publish a 7 kg Economy allowance, Lufthansa 8 kg, and many other international and budget carriers publish a figure and enforce it at check-in or the gate. The allowance includes the bag itself, which is why empty weight matters. Check your specific carrier on our carry-on weight limits page.

Is a lightweight backpack less durable?

Often, because weight usually comes out of the fabric denier, the frame and the padding. The Hynes Eagle at 2.2 lb uses lighter materials and carries no premium warranty; the Osprey Farpoint 40 at 3.1 lb is heavier partly because of a load-bearing hip belt and a build backed by a lifetime guarantee. Decide how many trips a year the bag will do before you decide how light it needs to be.

What is the lightest 40L travel backpack?

The Hynes Eagle 40L, at a published 2.2 lb, is the lightest 40L pack we cover. The tomtoc Navigator-T66 at 2.65 lb is the lightest 40L with a large, padded laptop sleeve (17.3 in published), and the Osprey Farpoint 40 at 3.1 lb is the lightest premium 40L with a full hip belt and lifetime warranty. Several budget 40L packs publish no weight at all and cannot be compared.

Sources

Keep reading