Passage & Pier

Best Carry-On Backpacks That Fit 22 x 14 x 9 Inches

The backpacks whose makers publish exterior dimensions inside the standard 22 x 14 x 9 in box on all three sides — ranked on that number and nothing else, with the packs that miss it named and measured.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we choose

22 x 14 x 9 inches is the number American, Delta, United, JetBlue and Alaska all publish for a cabin bag, and it is the number a sizer at the gate is built around. If you searched for it, you have already worked out the thing most “best travel backpack” lists skip: liters do not decide whether a bag fits. Two 40L packs can differ by two inches of depth, and depth is the dimension that gets bags pulled out of the boarding line.

So this page has exactly one ranking criterion. A pack is eligible only if its maker or its listing publishes exterior dimensions, and all three of them sit inside 22 x 14 x 9 in. Not “carry-on approved” in the title. Not a liter figure we converted. A published height, width and depth we can quote and you can check. That rule is unkind to bags we otherwise like — it removes the Osprey Farpoint 40, the top pick on our men’s carry-on page, at a published 21 x 15 x 10 in — and it removes every pack whose brand publishes no measurements at all. Both groups are named below with their numbers, because a page about fit that hides the misses is not about fit. Prices are live and dated on every card; none of these bags is one we own or have measured ourselves, and we say so on how we choose.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which bag we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on capacity, carry-on fit and who each bag actually suits. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not flown every one of these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L Travel Backpack

tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L Travel Backpack

A lot of well-built 40L for the money. A structured clamshell with a protective laptop compartment and a lifetime warranty that undercuts the premium brands by a wide margin. The trade-off is a simpler harness — fine for airport-to-hotel, less so for long walks under load.

Best overall inside the box
$79.99 · View on Amazon

$89.9911% off

Price as of September 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Osprey Fairview 40 Travel Backpack

Osprey Fairview 40 Travel Backpack

The Fairview is the Farpoint on a women's-specific harness — a shorter back panel and narrower, contoured straps. If the Farpoint's harness has ever sat too tall or too wide on you, this is the same excellent 40L clamshell that finally fits.

Best carry system inside the box
$195.30 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Nomatic Travel Bag 40L (Convertible)

Nomatic Travel Bag 40L (Convertible)

The organized traveler's tech bag. Converts between duffel and backpack, opens like a suitcase, and is riddled with structured compartments and a separate laptop/tablet section. Heavy and expensive for its volume — you're paying for organization and build, not lightness.

Best organization inside the box
$329.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
High Sierra Freewheel Wheeled Backpack

High Sierra Freewheel Wheeled Backpack

The one on this page we would actually buy for most trips. High Sierra publishes 19.5 x 13.5 x 8 in, which sits inside the 22 x 14 x 9 box every major US carrier uses with room on all three dimensions — rare enough among wheeled bags to be the reason it is here. It is a 34L commuter-and-campus roller rather than a travel system, and it is priced accordingly.

Best with wheels inside the box
$88.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Pacsafe Metrosafe X 20L Anti-Theft Backpack

Pacsafe Metrosafe X 20L Anti-Theft Backpack

The real anti-theft pick — not a hidden pocket, but a system: slash-resistant fabric, locking zippers and RFID-blocking pockets. A 20L daypack for pickpocket-heavy cities where you want to stop worrying about your bag. Priced accordingly.

Best if you want it to double as your personal item
$119.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall inside the box

tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L Travel Backpack

A lot of well-built 40L for the money. A structured clamshell with a protective laptop compartment and a lifetime warranty that undercuts the premium brands by a wide margin. The trade-off is a simpler harness — fine for airport-to-hotel, less so for long walks under load.

Published 20.5 x 13 x 9 in— 1.5 in of height margin, a full inch of width, and level with the box on depth. That combination is what puts it first: the two dimensions a sizer slot is tightest on are height and depth, and this is the only 40L on the page with real room on one and no overage on the other. It is also the cheapest way to get a structured clamshell that holds 40 liters, and its published 17.3 in laptop sleeve is the largest here. The catch is what you give up for the price, and it is a real one: the harness is a simple belt and back panel, so a full 40L feels like 40L across a long terminal.

Strengths

  • Structured clamshell and a well-padded laptop compartment
  • Lifetime warranty at a mid-tier price
  • Clean, business-appropriate looks

Trade-offs

  • Simpler hip belt and back panel than an Osprey — less comfortable under a heavy load
  • At 40L, the same strict-carrier caveat applies when packed full
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)2.65 lb
External dimensions20.5 x 13 x 9 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve17.3 in
MaterialRecycled 1680D PET fabric, YKK zippers
Warranty1-year (2-year with registration)

Fit note. The tomtoc's strength is protective tech carry at a mid price; its weakness is the suspension. If you'll walk far with it loaded, budget for the comfort gap versus a hip-belted Osprey.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best carry system inside the box

Osprey Fairview 40 Travel Backpack

The Fairview is the Farpoint on a women's-specific harness — a shorter back panel and narrower, contoured straps. If the Farpoint's harness has ever sat too tall or too wide on you, this is the same excellent 40L clamshell that finally fits.

Published 21.3 x 13.8 x 9 in— inside the box on all three, though the margin is thin: 0.7 in of height and 0.2 in of width. It earns its place because it is the only pack here with a genuine load-carrying harness, a hip belt that transfers weight, and Osprey’s All Mighty Guarantee behind it. One thing to be clear about: the Fairview is the women’s-fit version of the Farpoint — shorter back panel, narrower straps — and Osprey’s published figures for the two bags are not the same. The Farpoint 40 is 21 x 15 x 10 in and does not qualify for this page; the Fairview does. If you have a long torso, that shorter back length is a comfort problem no dimension chart will fix, so read the torso-fit guide before you buy it for the numbers alone.

Strengths

  • Women's-fit harness: shorter back length, narrower shoulder straps
  • Same clamshell packing and hip belt as the Farpoint
  • Osprey All Mighty Guarantee

Trade-offs

  • The fit that helps a shorter torso is wrong for a long one — size to your back, not the label
  • Same at-the-limit 40L caveat as the Farpoint
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)3.2 lb
External dimensions21.3 x 13.8 x 9 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve15 in
MaterialNylon ripstop
WarrantyOsprey All Mighty Guarantee

Fit note. The Fairview and Farpoint are the same bag with different harnesses. 'Women's' is really 'shorter/narrower fit' — pick by your torso length, not the marketing. See our Farpoint vs Fairview comparison.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best organization inside the box

Nomatic Travel Bag 40L (Convertible)

The organized traveler's tech bag. Converts between duffel and backpack, opens like a suitcase, and is riddled with structured compartments and a separate laptop/tablet section. Heavy and expensive for its volume — you're paying for organization and build, not lightness.

Published 21 x 14 x 9 in— inside the box, but exactly level with it on both width and depth, with all the margin in height. On a soft pack that would barely matter; on this one it does, because the Nomatic is the most structured bag on the page and structure is the thing that will not squash into a slot. It is the pick for a traveler who wants a padded address for every cable and a bag that opens flat like a suitcase, and it is the heaviest option here at a published 3.42 lb empty. Buy it for the organization, pack it honestly, and do not count on compressing it at a strict gate.

Strengths

  • Carries as a backpack or a duffel without changing how it packs
  • Dedicated, well-padded tech compartment
  • Serious build quality and structure

Trade-offs

  • Heavy empty — the structure and hardware add up
  • Premium price, and a fixed 40L that runs right at the carry-on limit
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)3.42 lb
External dimensions21 x 14 x 9 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve16 in
MaterialWater-resistant polyester/nylon
WarrantyNomatic lifetime warranty

Fit note. This is a fixed 40L, not an expandable — Nomatic sells the 30L as a separate bag, and the model that expands is the Travel Pack (20L to 30L). Nomatic's published 21 x 14 x 9 in sits right at the standard 22 x 14 x 9 limit, and a structured bag has no give at a sizer, so re-check it against your carrier.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best with wheels inside the box

High Sierra Freewheel Wheeled Backpack

The one on this page we would actually buy for most trips. High Sierra publishes 19.5 x 13.5 x 8 in, which sits inside the 22 x 14 x 9 box every major US carrier uses with room on all three dimensions — rare enough among wheeled bags to be the reason it is here. It is a 34L commuter-and-campus roller rather than a travel system, and it is priced accordingly.

Published 19.5 x 13.5 x 8 in— the largest margin of any bag here that still holds a trip’s worth of clothes, and genuinely unusual for a rolling bag, because wheels and a telescoping handle are exactly what push this category over. It is 34 liters, not 40, and the price you pay for the wheels is weight: 5.5 lb empty, roughly two pounds more than a plain 35L pack, with straps meant for short carries rather than a real harness. Note also that the Amazon listing quotes a 20.5 in height where High Sierra’s own spec page says 19.5 in; both clear 22 in, so the disagreement costs you nothing here, but it is a good reminder that listings and spec pages are not the same source. More rolling options, judged the same way, are on our wheeled carry-on page.

Strengths

  • 19.5 x 13.5 x 8 in published — inside the standard 22 x 14 x 9 in allowance on every dimension
  • Limited lifetime warranty, which nothing else near this price on this page offers
  • Padded 15-inch laptop sleeve, and the wheel housing keeps grit off the back panel when you wear it

Trade-offs

  • 5.5 lb empty for only 34 liters — the wheels cost you roughly two pounds against a plain 35L pack
  • The straps are for short carries: no frame, no hip belt, nothing to transfer load to your hips
  • The Amazon listing quotes a 20.5 in height where High Sierra's own spec page says 19.5 in
Capacity34 L
Weight (empty)5.5 lb
External dimensions19.5 x 13.5 x 8 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on compliant
Laptop sleeve15 in
MaterialPolyester
WarrantyHigh Sierra limited lifetime warranty

Fit note. The two published heights disagree: High Sierra states 19.5 in, the Amazon listing title says 20.5 in. Both clear the 22 in limit, so the discrepancy costs you nothing here — but it is a fair reminder to measure the bag you are handed rather than the bag in the listing photo.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best if you want it to double as your personal item

Pacsafe Metrosafe X 20L Anti-Theft Backpack

The real anti-theft pick — not a hidden pocket, but a system: slash-resistant fabric, locking zippers and RFID-blocking pockets. A 20L daypack for pickpocket-heavy cities where you want to stop worrying about your bag. Priced accordingly.

Published 17.7 x 11.8 x 5.1 in— the biggest margin on the page by a wide gap, and the only bag here small enough to also be worth checking against personal-item limits. It clears American’s published 18 x 14 x 8 in personal-item allowance on all three dimensions, but it is 0.7 in taller than the 17 in that United and JetBlue publish for theirs, so it is not a universal under-seat bag. The honest limitation is capacity: 20 liters is a day bag, not a one-bag travel pack. It is on this page because it is the dimension-safe answer for anyone flying a fare that only includes a personal item, and because the anti-theft build — slash-resistant paneling, locking zippers — is real hardware rather than a hidden pocket.

Strengths

  • Slash-resistant paneling and lockable zipper pulls — actual security, not just a hidden pocket
  • RFID-blocking pockets for cards and passport
  • Comfortable, low-key 20L daypack

Trade-offs

  • Security hardware adds weight and cost versus a plain daypack
  • 20L is a day bag, not a travel main-bag
Capacity20 L
Weight (empty)1.87 lb
External dimensions17.7 x 11.8 x 5.1 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Personal-item sized
Laptop sleeve16 in
Material750D recycled polyester, eXomesh slashguard
WarrantyPacsafe 5-year limited warranty

Fit note. This is what 'anti-theft' should mean: slash-resistant fabric and locking zippers, not a marketing sticker. Overkill for a quiet trip; exactly right for a crowded market or a night train.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 7, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Where 22 x 14 x 9 comes from, and who actually uses it

It is worth knowing that the TSA does not set this number. The TSA screens bags; it publishes no carry-on dimensions of its own and says explicitly that the size limit is the airline’s. The 22 x 14 x 9 in figure is a commercial convention that the large US carriers converged on, and it is the one most hard-shell luggage is built to.

Among the airlines we track, American, Delta, United, JetBlue and Alaska all publish 22 x 14 x 9 in for a cabin bag. Alaska states that the measurement includes wheels and handles, which is the detail that catches rolling bags. Two carriers are more generous: Southwest and Frontier both publish 24 x 16 x 10 in, and Spirit publishes 22 x 18 x 10 in — same height, far more width and depth. Nothing on this page is at risk on any of those three.

The direction that hurts is international. A pack that clears 22 x 14 x 9 in can still be too big for a European budget carrier, whose limits are set in centimeters and are often smaller in every direction. If your flying includes those airlines, the box on this page is the wrong box to shop against — start from the carry-on size guide, which lists each carrier’s published figure with the date we read it, or from our international picks.

How we judged this page

Three rules, applied in order, and all three are mechanical rather than editorial. That is the point: a page about whether something fits should not need our taste.

1. Dimensions have to be published

If a maker or its listing states no height, width and depth, the bag is not eligible — not ranked low, not included with a caveat. Excluded. We own none of these packs and measure none of them ourselves, so an unpublished dimension is a number we would have to invent, and inventing it is the one thing this site will not do. A surprising share of the budget field falls out at this step.

2. All three dimensions have to be inside the box

Not two of three. Not “close on depth.” A sizer is a three-dimensional slot, and the dimension a bag is over on is the dimension that stops it. This is the rule that removes several packs we recommend elsewhere on the site.

3. There has to be a live price today

Every pick above is carrying a price pulled from Amazon’s API, dated on the card. If a bag has no buyable offer right now, we do not rank it, because a recommendation you cannot act on is not a recommendation. One consequence worth naming: the Peak Design Travel Backpack 30L publishes 20.9 x 13 x 7 in — comfortably inside the box, better on depth than anything above except the Pacsafe — and would otherwise be a pick. It is currently in a brand-wide stockout with no live price, so it sits here in prose instead. If it is back when you read this, it belongs on your shortlist.

What does not fit, and by how much

These are all bags we cover, and several are bags we recommend for other reasons. They are here with their published numbers so you can see exactly what the box costs them.

Over by an inch or more

  • Osprey Farpoint 40— published 21 x 15 x 10 in. Over on width by 1 in and depth by 1 in. Still an excellent pack, still the top pick on our men’s page, and still the one that will get measured on a strict day. Our Farpoint 40 review has the rest.
  • Cotopaxi Allpa 42L— published 22 x 14 x 11 in. Level on height and width, 2 in over on depth, with no margin anywhere to trade. The 42L review makes the same point and sends most buyers to the 35L instead.
  • High Sierra Freewheel Pro 40L— published 21.6 x 15.6 x 10 in. Over on width by 1.6 in and depth by 1 in. The plain Freewheel above is the one in that line that fits.
  • Rockland Rolling Backpack 17 in— published 17 x 13 x 10 in. Small in height and width, 1 in over on depth.
  • Osprey Farpoint 55 and Fairview 55— published 25 x 13 x 12 in and 24.6 x 13 x 11.8 in. These are 40L packs with a zip-off daypack, and the combined body is over on height and depth by a wide margin. Split the daypack off and you are carrying two bags, which is a different plan, not a smaller bag.

Over by half an inch to an inch — the near misses

These deserve their own group, because a soft-sided pack that is 0.5 in over on paper often goes through a slot when it is not packed to bursting. We will not tell you they fit, because their makers publish a number that says they do not.

  • Hynes Eagle 40L— published 20.1 x 13.4 x 9.8 in. Inside on height and width; 0.8 in over on depth. It is the budget pack we recommend most often, it is soft, and it is the most likely bag in this group to pass in practice. At a strict gate, that is your risk to take, not a promise we can make.
  • Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L— published 22 x 13 x 9.5 in compressed, and 11 in deep expanded. Level on height, 0.5 in over on depth before you use the expansion at all. The 45L review works through that in detail.
  • Baboon to the Moon Go-Bag 32L— published 18.5 x 12 x 9.5 in. Well inside on height and width, 0.5 in over on depth.

The Osprey Sojourn 45 wheeled pack is a special case worth a line: it publishes 22 x 14 x 9 in, level with the box on every single dimension, which is why it tops the wheeled roundup. It is not a pick here because at a published 7.93 lb empty it spends more than half of a 7 kg cabin allowance on the bag itself, and this page’s job is fit, which it achieves with zero margin in three directions.

The bags we cannot rank here

Several popular budget carry-ons publish no exterior dimensions at all — the MATEIN 40L, the LOVEVOOK 40L and the Taygeer 35L among them. Their listings state a capacity and a laptop size and stop. We cover all three elsewhere on their merits, and the two 40L bags are almost certainly in the same physical class as the packs above. But “almost certainly” is not a dimension, and this page ranks on dimensions, so they are out by rule rather than by judgment.

If you already own one of them, the answer is not a spec sheet, it is a tape measure: how to measure a backpack walks through doing it the way a sizer will, at the widest point, with the bag packed the way you actually pack it.

Wheels, handles and the other things that count

Two practical points that change the math on a bag that looks like it fits.

Wheels and handles are part of the measurement. Alaska says so outright, and gate agents at every carrier treat it that way. A rolling bag’s published depth normally includes the wheel housing, but its published height may or may not include a raised handle. That is the single biggest reason so few wheeled bags qualify for a page like this one.

External pockets and compression straps do not shrink. A water bottle in a side pocket adds width a sizer will find, and a pack that is level with the box on depth is over it the moment you put a jacket under the front straps. If your bag has no margin on a dimension, keep that dimension clear.

What we would actually buy

If the gate is your main worry and you want one bag to stop thinking about, the tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L is the pick: full 40L capacity, real margin on height and width, level on depth, at a fraction of the premium packs’ price. If you will be walking with it loaded and your torso suits the fit, pay the difference for the Osprey Fairview 40 and its harness. If your fare only includes a personal item, the Pacsafe Metrosafe X 20L is the dimension-safe answer.

And if you are shopping capacity rather than inches, this is the wrong page to finish on. The wider 40L field — including the packs that are over the box — is on our 40L roundup, and what size travel backpack you need argues the liters question properly. The box is a constraint, not a shopping list.

Frequently asked questions

What backpacks fit 22x14x9 exactly?

Of the packs we cover whose makers publish exterior dimensions, five sit inside 22 x 14 x 9 inches on all three sides: the tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L (20.5 x 13 x 9 in), the Osprey Fairview 40 (21.3 x 13.8 x 9 in), the Nomatic Travel Bag 40L (21 x 14 x 9 in), the High Sierra Freewheel (19.5 x 13.5 x 8 in) and the Pacsafe Metrosafe X 20L (17.7 x 11.8 x 5.1 in). The Peak Design Travel Backpack 30L publishes 20.9 x 13 x 7 in and also qualifies, but has no buyable offer right now.

Is a 40L backpack 22x14x9?

Sometimes, and the liter figure will not tell you. Among 40L packs with published dimensions, the tomtoc (20.5 x 13 x 9 in) and the Nomatic (21 x 14 x 9 in) are inside the box, while the Osprey Farpoint 40 (21 x 15 x 10 in) and the High Sierra Freewheel Pro 40L (21.6 x 15.6 x 10 in) are over it. Capacity describes what the bag holds; only the exterior measurements describe whether it fits.

Does the TSA enforce 22x14x9?

No. The TSA screens bags and publishes no carry-on size limit of its own; it states that the dimensions are set by the airline. The 22 x 14 x 9 in figure is what American, Delta, United, JetBlue and Alaska publish. Southwest and Frontier allow 24 x 16 x 10 in, and Spirit allows 22 x 18 x 10 in, so the bag that gets stopped depends on who you are flying, not on security.

Do wheels and handles count toward 22x14x9?

Yes. Alaska states explicitly that the limit includes wheels and handles, and other carriers measure the bag as presented. That is why very few rolling backpacks qualify: the wheel housing eats depth and a telescoping handle can add height. The High Sierra Freewheel is on this page because its published 19.5 x 13.5 x 8 in leaves room for both.

Will a backpack that's half an inch over still fit?

Often, but we cannot promise it. A soft-sided pack that is 0.5 to 0.8 in over on depth — the Hynes Eagle 40L and the Baboon Go-Bag are the examples here — will usually go into a sizer when it is not packed to bursting, because fabric compresses and a hard shell does not. A structured pack with no give is a different case. If you are flying a carrier that enforces, pack to the sizer rather than to the zipper.

Is 22x14x9 the same everywhere in the world?

No, and this is where dimension-first shopping goes wrong. 22 x 14 x 9 in is a US convention; international and European budget carriers publish their limits in centimeters and are frequently smaller in every direction, sometimes much smaller for the free bag. A pack chosen for this box can still be too big abroad, so check your specific carrier in our carry-on size guide before a long-haul or intra-Europe trip.

Sources

Keep reading