Passage & Pier

Best 35L Travel Backpacks

Thirty-five liters is the capacity most one-bag travelers should be buying, and the one the market under-serves. Five packs that state 34-36L, ranked on what their published dimensions actually do at a sizer.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we choose

The verdict

Buy the Cotopaxi Allpa 35L.It is the only pack in this class that publishes every figure that matters — 35L, 2.94 lb, 22 x 12 x 10 in — and backs them with a warranty for the lifetime of the product, and its 12-inch width is two full inches inside the standard carry-on box, which is where most 40L packs get stopped. It is for the traveler who wants one bag for a week and wants the organization built in rather than bought separately. If theft is the thing on your mind rather than packing, the Pacsafe Venturesafe EXP35 is the same capacity with a security system attached; if the budget is the constraint, the BAGSMART 35L publishes its dimensions, which almost nothing else at that price does.

The finding that surprised us writing this page: 35 liters does not mean the bag fits. Only one of these five publishes exterior dimensions inside 22 x 14 x 9 in on all three sides, and it is the wheeled one. Liters describe volume; a sizer measures shape. We print both.

Thirty-five liters is the quiet sweet spot of one-bag travel. It is enough for a week with packing cubes and a laundry stop, it is small enough that you are not fighting a gate agent, and because the bag is physically smaller than a 40L you tend to pack it properly instead of filling the last five liters with things you brought home unworn. Ask one-bag travelers what they would buy a second time and a surprising number say “the same bag, five liters smaller.”

The market does not reflect that. Almost every travel backpack sold on Amazon is labeled 40L or more, because liters are a selling point and nobody advertises restraint. So this page applies one mechanical rule: the maker or the listing has to state a capacity between 34 and 36 liters, and the ASIN has to carry a live buyable price today. That rule is also what keeps this page from being a second copy of our 40L travel backpacksroundup — it excludes the Osprey Farpoint 40, the tomtoc 40L, the Nomatic Travel Bag and every other bag that page ranks. The five below share no picks with it at all.

One warning before the table, because it is the thing this class gets credit for undeservedly. A 35L bag is usually easier at the gate than a 40L, but that is a tendency, not a spec. The Allpa below publishes a 10-inch depth, an inch over the standard box; the BAGSMART publishes 9.44 in. Capacity and compliance are different questions, and we answer both in every write-up rather than letting the liter figure imply an outcome.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which bag we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on capacity, carry-on fit and who each bag actually suits. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not flown every one of these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductCapacityWeight (empty)External dimensionsCarry-on fit (our read)Best forPrice
1
Cotopaxi Allpa 35L Travel Pack

Cotopaxi Allpa 35L Travel Pack

The organizer's carry-on. A full clamshell with a mesh-divided main compartment, tuck-away straps, and a burly weatherproof shell — at 22 x 12 in it is two inches narrower than the standard sizer, though its published 10-inch depth is an inch over. Cotopaxi's warranty is the quiet reason it holds value.

35 L2.94 lb22 x 12 x 10 inCarry-on (check strict carriers)Best overall
$229.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Pacsafe Venturesafe EXP35 Anti-Theft Travel Backpack

Pacsafe Venturesafe EXP35 Anti-Theft Travel Backpack

The rare bag that is a genuine one-bag carry-on AND a genuine security system. At 35L it's sized to clear a sizer, and it brings Pacsafe's slash-resistant construction and locking zippers to the main travel pack rather than just a daypack. It costs what a premium travel pack plus a security bag would cost — which is roughly what it is.

35 LNot publishedNot publishedCarry-on compliantBest for high-theft cities
$269.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
BAGSMART 35L Travel Backpack with Shoe Compartment

BAGSMART 35L Travel Backpack with Shoe Compartment

The most shoe space of anything here — the listing says the separate compartment takes two pairs — in a lay-flat 35L bag with a sealed wet pocket and a detachable front pouch that becomes a crossbody. It also publishes its dimensions, which is rare at this price, and those dimensions are what undo the listing's own personal-item claim.

35 LNot published18.11 x 12.22 x 9.44 inCarry-on (check strict carriers)Best budget, and the most organized
$30.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Taygeer 35L Under-Seat Travel Backpack

Taygeer 35L Under-Seat Travel Backpack

Marketed as an under-seat personal item, and it works as one when you don't max it out — 35L is generous for a personal item, so packed full it can read as a carry-on. Best used as a soft, squashable bag you keep to the smaller side for basic-economy fares.

35 LNot publishedNot publishedPersonal-item sizedBest as a personal item
$29.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
High Sierra Freewheel Wheeled Backpack

High Sierra Freewheel Wheeled Backpack

The one on this page we would actually buy for most trips. High Sierra publishes 19.5 x 13.5 x 8 in, which sits inside the 22 x 14 x 9 box every major US carrier uses with room on all three dimensions — rare enough among wheeled bags to be the reason it is here. It is a 34L commuter-and-campus roller rather than a travel system, and it is priced accordingly.

34 L5.5 lb19.5 x 13.5 x 8 inCarry-on compliantBest if you want wheels
$88.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Specs read from each product’s own Amazon listing as of October 1, 2026; prices as of October 5, 2026, refreshed daily. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure — we print that rather than an estimate.

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Cotopaxi Allpa 35L Travel Pack

The organizer's carry-on. A full clamshell with a mesh-divided main compartment, tuck-away straps, and a burly weatherproof shell — at 22 x 12 in it is two inches narrower than the standard sizer, though its published 10-inch depth is an inch over. Cotopaxi's warranty is the quiet reason it holds value.

Strengths

  • Split clamshell with zip mesh dividers keeps a whole trip organized
  • Two inches narrower than the sizer, where most 40L packs run wide
  • Weatherproof recycled-nylon shell and Cotopaxi's Guaranteed for Good warranty

Trade-offs

  • Heavier and pricier than plainer 35L packs
  • Bold colorways aren't for everyone (subtler options exist)
Capacity35 L
Weight (empty)2.94 lb
External dimensions22 x 12 x 10 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve15 in
Material100% recycled 840D TPU-coated nylon with ballistic ripstop nylon panels
WarrantyCotopaxi Guaranteed for Good (lifetime of the product)

Fit note. Cotopaxi publishes 22 x 12 x 10 in: two inches inside the standard 22 x 14 x 9 box on width, one inch over it on depth. That shape clears US majors packed sensibly and fits a narrow sizer better than a 40L, but a hard-packed Allpa is not automatically compliant — measure it. The clamshell's mesh dividers are what set it apart from a plain roll-top.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best for high-theft cities

Pacsafe Venturesafe EXP35 Anti-Theft Travel Backpack

The rare bag that is a genuine one-bag carry-on AND a genuine security system. At 35L it's sized to clear a sizer, and it brings Pacsafe's slash-resistant construction and locking zippers to the main travel pack rather than just a daypack. It costs what a premium travel pack plus a security bag would cost — which is roughly what it is.

Strengths

  • Anti-theft construction on a full 35L travel pack, not just a daypack
  • 35L clears carry-on sizers more comfortably than a 40L
  • Locking zippers and RFID-blocking pockets built in

Trade-offs

  • The most expensive way to buy 35L of capacity
  • Security hardware adds weight you carry on every trip, theft risk or not
Capacity35 L
Weight (empty)Not published
External dimensionsNot published
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on compliant
Laptop sleeveNot published
MaterialNot published
WarrantyNot published

Fit note. 35L is the right capacity for this bag's job: big enough for a week with cubes, small enough that you are not fighting a sizer while also carrying security hardware. If you only want anti-theft for day trips, the 20L Metrosafe X is far less bag and far less money.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best budget, and the most organized

BAGSMART 35L Travel Backpack with Shoe Compartment

The most shoe space of anything here — the listing says the separate compartment takes two pairs — in a lay-flat 35L bag with a sealed wet pocket and a detachable front pouch that becomes a crossbody. It also publishes its dimensions, which is rare at this price, and those dimensions are what undo the listing's own personal-item claim.

Strengths

  • Separate shoe compartment stated to hold two pairs — the largest claim on our list
  • Sealed wet/dry pocket for a damp towel or swimsuit, plus a 180-degree lay-flat opening and a 17.3 in padded laptop sleeve
  • Detachable front pouch converts to a crossbody bag, so the day bag is in the box
  • Publishes 18.11 x 12.22 x 9.44 in, which most bags at this price do not

Trade-offs

  • The listing's personal-item claim does not survive its own numbers: at 9.44 in deep it is 1.44 in over the 8 in depth Spirit and Frontier publish
  • The shoe compartment is what makes it that deep — the two-pair capacity and the over-depth are the same feature
  • No published empty weight, no fabric named beyond "water-resistant", and no warranty term
Capacity35 L
Weight (empty)Not published
External dimensions18.11 x 12.22 x 9.44 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve17.3 in
MaterialNot published
WarrantyNot published

Fit note. Do the arithmetic the listing skips. 18.11 x 12.22 x 9.44 in is about 34L of exterior volume, so the 35L on the label is credible — but the same 9.44 in depth is over the 8 in that American, Spirit and Frontier publish for a personal item, and over the 9 in depth of a standard 22 x 14 x 9 carry-on box. The listing's claim that it "meets Spirit, Frontier, and Delta personal item size limits" is not supported by the dimensions printed one bullet earlier. It is a soft bag, so it will squash; buy it as a carry-on and treat any free-bag outcome as luck. The listing states water-resistant fabric but names no fiber or denier, so we print none.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 1, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best as a personal item

Taygeer 35L Under-Seat Travel Backpack

Marketed as an under-seat personal item, and it works as one when you don't max it out — 35L is generous for a personal item, so packed full it can read as a carry-on. Best used as a soft, squashable bag you keep to the smaller side for basic-economy fares.

Strengths

  • Soft, squashable body that pushes down to fit under a seat
  • Lots of pockets and a luggage-strap sleeve for a roller
  • Very inexpensive

Trade-offs

  • At 35L, packed full it can exceed a strict personal-item limit — keep it light
  • No structure or hip belt; a hand-and-shoulder bag
Capacity35 L
Weight (empty)Not published
External dimensionsNot published
Carry-on fit (our read)Personal-item sized
Laptop sleeve15.6 in
MaterialNot published
WarrantyNot published

Fit note. 35L is bigger than most airlines' personal-item allowance if you fill it, but because it's soft it compresses to fit. Pack it two-thirds full and it slides under the seat; stuff it and you're gambling at the gate.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best if you want wheels

High Sierra Freewheel Wheeled Backpack

The one on this page we would actually buy for most trips. High Sierra publishes 19.5 x 13.5 x 8 in, which sits inside the 22 x 14 x 9 box every major US carrier uses with room on all three dimensions — rare enough among wheeled bags to be the reason it is here. It is a 34L commuter-and-campus roller rather than a travel system, and it is priced accordingly.

Strengths

  • 19.5 x 13.5 x 8 in published — inside the standard 22 x 14 x 9 in allowance on every dimension
  • Limited lifetime warranty, which nothing else near this price on this page offers
  • Padded 15-inch laptop sleeve, and the wheel housing keeps grit off the back panel when you wear it

Trade-offs

  • 5.5 lb empty for only 34 liters — the wheels cost you roughly two pounds against a plain 35L pack
  • The straps are for short carries: no frame, no hip belt, nothing to transfer load to your hips
  • The Amazon listing quotes a 20.5 in height where High Sierra's own spec page says 19.5 in
Capacity34 L
Weight (empty)5.5 lb
External dimensions19.5 x 13.5 x 8 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on compliant
Laptop sleeve15 in
MaterialPolyester
WarrantyHigh Sierra limited lifetime warranty

Fit note. The two published heights disagree: High Sierra states 19.5 in, the Amazon listing title says 20.5 in. Both clear the 22 in limit, so the discrepancy costs you nothing here — but it is a fair reminder to measure the bag you are handed rather than the bag in the listing photo.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

What five liters actually buys you

Five liters is about the volume of a pair of shoes, or a bulky sweater, or three days of underwear and socks. That is the entire practical difference between a 35L and a 40L pack in what you can carry. It is a real difference on a cold-weather trip and an irrelevant one on a summer trip where the bulkiest item is a pair of jeans.

What you are really buying at 35L is shape margin. Travel packs are roughly as tall and as deep as each other, because both dimensions are constrained by the same airline box; the extra five liters in a 40L usually goes into width or depth, and those are the two dimensions a sizer is least forgiving about. The Allpa 35L is the clearest illustration on this page: Cotopaxi publishes 12 inches of width against a 14-inch limit, where a good part of the 40L field runs 14 or 15 inches and gets flagged on a narrow European sizer. That two-inch cushion is worth more at a gate than five liters is worth in the bag.

It also matters for weight, on the carriers that weigh. Emirates and Qantas cap an Economy cabin bag at 7 kg including the bag itself, and the Allpa’s 2.94 lb is about 19 percent of that allowance before a shirt goes in. A smaller bag is lighter empty and holds less, so it is harder to accidentally exceed a weight limit you cannot see. Our carry-on weight limits guide has the carrier-by-carrier figures.

The dimension problem, stated plainly

Three of the five bags here publish exterior dimensions and two do not. Of the three that do, exactly one is inside the 22 x 14 x 9 in box American, Delta, United, JetBlue and Alaska all publish:

  • High Sierra Freewheel— 19.5 x 13.5 x 8 in. Inside the box on all three dimensions, with room to spare. It is also the wheeled bag, 5.5 lb empty for 34 liters.
  • Cotopaxi Allpa 35L— 22 x 12 x 10 in. Two inches inside on width, level on height, one inch over on depth. It is soft, so it compresses, but it is not automatically compliant packed hard.
  • BAGSMART 35L— 18.11 x 12.22 x 9.44 in. Inside on height and width by a wide margin, 0.44 in over on depth — and well over the 8-inch depth American, Spirit and Frontier publish for a personal item, which is what its own listing claims it is.
  • Pacsafe Venturesafe EXP35 and Taygeer 35L— publish no exterior dimensions at all. They are not ranked low for it, but we will not supply a figure their makers have not.

If your airline measures with a rigid frame, that list is the page. If it does not — and most US majors do not, for a soft bag that obviously fits the bin — then capacity and comfort matter more and the Allpa is the answer. Measure yours the way a gate agent would, with how to measure a backpack.

Choosing between the five

Buy the Cotopaxi Allpa 35L for one-bag travel.It is a full clamshell with zip mesh dividers in the main compartment, which means the organization is structural rather than something you add with cubes, and the shell is a recycled 840D TPU-coated nylon that shrugs off weather. Cotopaxi’s Guaranteed for Good covers manufacturing defects for the lifetime of the product. The trade-offs are honest: it is heavier and more expensive than plainer 35L packs, the colorways are loud by default, and the published depth is an inch over the box. Our Cotopaxi Allpa 35L review has the full write-up, and the Farpoint 40 vs Allpa 35L comparison is the 40L-versus-35L decision in one page.

Buy the Pacsafe Venturesafe EXP35 if the destination is the reason. It is the only bag we cover that is simultaneously a real 35L one-bag travel pack and a real security system — slash-resistant construction, locking zippers, RFID-blocking pockets — rather than a daypack with a hidden pocket. It is also the most expensive way to buy 35 liters, and you carry the security hardware on every trip whether the risk is there or not. If you only want anti-theft for day trips, the 20L Metrosafe X on our anti-theft backpacks page is far less bag and far less money.

Buy the BAGSMART 35L if the budget is fixed.It publishes its dimensions, has a sealed wet pocket, opens 180 degrees flat, takes a 17.3-inch laptop and includes a detachable front pouch that becomes a crossbody — so the day bag is in the box. What you should not believe is its personal-item claim: at 9.44 in deep it is 1.44 in over the 8 in Spirit and Frontier publish, and the listing says otherwise one bullet after printing the number that contradicts it. Buy it as a carry-on.

Buy the Taygeer 35L if you fly basic-economy fares.It is a soft, squashable, very cheap bag marketed as an under-seat personal item, and it works as one when you keep it two-thirds full. Thirty-five liters is generous for a personal item, so packed hard it reads as a carry-on and you are gambling. There is no structure and no hip belt — it is a hand-and-shoulder bag. The wider field is on best under-seat backpacks.

Buy the High Sierra Freewheel if you want wheels.At 34L it is the only bag here whose published figures sit inside the carry-on box on every dimension, and it carries a limited lifetime warranty that nothing else near its price offers. The cost is weight: 5.5 lb empty for 34 liters, roughly two pounds more than a plain 35L pack, and the straps are for crossing a terminal rather than carrying a load. Note also that High Sierra states 19.5 in of height where the Amazon listing title says 20.5 — both clear the limit, but it is a reminder to measure the bag you are handed. The rest of that class is on wheeled carry-on backpacks.

What is not here, and why

  • The SwissGear Travel Tech Elite (31.4L).Close, and it publishes everything, but 31.4 is not 35 and we are not going to round a maker’s own figure up to make a list longer. It is on best travel backpacks for business.
  • The Peak Design Travel Backpack 30L. Peak Design publishes 27L standard and 33L expanded, so its expanded figure brushes this class while its standard one does not. A capacity page that counts expanded volumes would let every expandable in, which would make the rule meaningless.
  • Every 40L pack. Deliberately. The whole point of a capacity class is that it excludes the next one up. If 40L is what you actually want, our 40L roundup is the page, and what size travel backpack settles the decision before you shop.
  • Bags whose 35L claim fails their own arithmetic.Several carry-on packs print a capacity that cannot be reconciled with the dimensions printed one bullet below it. Where a bag states both and they disagree, we print the dimensions and say so in that bag’s write-up; where a bag claims 35L and publishes nothing, it is not here.

How we picked

One rule, applied mechanically: a stated capacity of 34 to 36 liters, and a live buyable price on the day of publication. Rank order is editorial and argued above — we do not own these bags, we have not flown all of them, and there is no score column on this page because a number would dress spec-reading up as testing. What we do instead, including what we refuse to claim, is set out in how we choose.

Frequently asked questions

Is 35L big enough for a week of travel?

Yes, for most people in most seasons. Thirty-five liters takes about four to five days of clothes packed loose, or a week packed in cubes with a laundry stop. The constraint is bulk, not days: a trip needing a winter coat, boots and a second pair of shoes will fill 35L in three days, while a summer trip can run ten days in the same bag.

35L or 40L — which should I buy?

Buy 35L unless you know why you need 40. Five liters is roughly a pair of shoes or a bulky sweater, and the extra volume in a 40L usually goes into the width and depth a sizer is strictest about. Buy 40L if you travel in cold weather, carry bulky gear, or want one bag that also covers a two-week trip without laundry.

Does a 35L backpack count as a carry-on or a personal item?

Almost always a carry-on. A soft 35L bag packed lightly can pass as a personal item on carriers that only require it to fit under the seat, like Delta and Alaska, but it will not meet a published personal-item box such as United's 17 x 10 x 9 in or Spirit's and Frontier's 18 x 14 x 8 in when it is full. Plan on it being your carry-on and carry a packable daypack as the second bag.

Will a 35L travel backpack fit in a sizer?

Usually, but the liter figure is not what decides it — the published dimensions are. Of the five bags on this page, only the High Sierra Freewheel (19.5 x 13.5 x 8 in) is inside the 22 x 14 x 9 in box on all three dimensions. The Cotopaxi Allpa 35L publishes 10 in of depth and the BAGSMART 35L publishes 9.44 in, both over it, and two of the five publish no dimensions at all. Soft bags compress, so they commonly pass anyway; that is luck, not compliance.

What is the best 35L travel backpack?

The Cotopaxi Allpa 35L, for most travelers. It is the only pack in the class that publishes capacity, empty weight and exterior dimensions and backs them with a lifetime-of-the-product warranty, and its 12-inch width gives it two inches of margin on a narrow sizer. Choose the Pacsafe Venturesafe EXP35 instead if you want anti-theft construction on your main bag, or the BAGSMART 35L if price is the deciding factor.

Do any 35L travel backpacks have a hip belt?

Fewer than you would expect. Of the bags here, none publishes a padded load-bearing hip belt — the Taygeer explicitly has none, and Pacsafe, BAGSMART and High Sierra do not state one. The hip belt is largely a 40L-and-up feature, which is one genuine argument for the larger class; the packs whose makers do state one are on our hip belt roundup.

Sources

Keep reading