Passage & Pier

How Much Does a Travel Backpack Weigh?

Between 2.2 lb and 7.93 lb empty, across every bag on this site whose maker publishes a figure. Packed for a week, expect 18 to 25 lb — and on the carriers that weigh cabin bags, the empty number is a third of the problem.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we choose

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which bag we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

An empty travel backpack weighs between 2.2 lb and 7.93 lb, and almost every full-size carry-on pack worth buying lands between 2.5 and 3.5 lb. If you want one figure to plan with, use 3 lb for a 35-40L pack. If the bag has wheels, use 5 to 8 lb instead, because the wheels, chassis and handle are part of what you carry. Packed for a week, most travelers end up between 18 and 25 lb all in.

Below is every published empty weight on this site in one table. These are makers’ own figures — where a brand publishes nothing we print nothing, which is common at the budget end and is the honest answer rather than an estimate.

Every published empty weight we have

Full-size travel and carry-on packs, lightest first:

  • 2.2 lb— Hynes Eagle 40L. The lightest full 40L pack we cover, and a budget bag.
  • 2.59 lb— Vancropak 40L (whose dimensions describe roughly 28L standard).
  • 2.65 lb— tomtoc 40L (Navigator-T66).
  • 2.94 lb— Cotopaxi Allpa 35L.
  • 3.0 lb— SwissGear Travel Tech Elite (31.4L).
  • 3.1 lb— Osprey Farpoint 40.
  • 3.13 lb— Cotopaxi Allpa 42L. Seven more liters than the 35L for three more ounces.
  • 3.17 lb— Peak Design Travel Backpack 30L.
  • 3.2 lb— Osprey Fairview 40.
  • 3.42 lb— Nomatic Travel Bag 40L, and the MATEIN 52L expandable.
  • 3.8 lb— Osprey Fairview 55 (a 40L pack plus a 15L zip-off daypack).
  • 3.9 lb— Osprey Farpoint 55, the same two-bag arrangement.
  • 4.5 lb— Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L. The heaviest pack we cover without wheels; Pack Hacker’s independent spec box reads 4.55 lb.

Wheeled bags, where the hardware shows up:

  • 4.9 lb— MATEIN rolling backpack (36L).
  • 5.3 lb— High Sierra Freewheel Pro 40L.
  • 5.5 lb— High Sierra Freewheel, for only 34 liters.
  • 7.93 lb— Osprey Sojourn 45. The heaviest bag on this site, and 4.83 lb more than an Osprey Farpoint 40.

Daypacks and second bags, for scale:

  • 0.16 lb (2.5 oz)— Sea to Summit Ultra-Sil Day Pack, 20L, which packs into its own pocket.
  • 0.24 lb (3.9 oz)— Sea to Summit Ultra-Sil Dry Day Pack, 22L, with taped seams and a roll-top.
  • 1.48 lb— BAGSMART weekender.
  • 1.87 lb— Pacsafe Metrosafe X 20L, which carries slash-resistant mesh in the fabric.

The spread inside a single capacity class is the interesting part. Four 40L packs here sit at 2.2, 2.65, 3.1 and 3.42 lb — a difference of 1.22 lb between the lightest and the heaviest, for the same stated volume. The heavier ones are buying you a hip belt, a tougher shell or an organized interior; the lighter ones are buying you clothes.

What the empty weight costs you

On the US majors, nothing: they do not weigh cabin bags, so an extra pound is a comfort question. Elsewhere the empty weight is a straight subtraction from what you may pack:

  • Emirates and Qantas — 7 kg (15.4 lb) for one Economy cabin bag. A 3 lb pack uses 20 percent of that before you pack. The 7.93 lb Sojourn uses more than half.
  • Lufthansa — 8 kg (17.6 lb), with a 55 x 40 x 23 cm box.
  • Ryanair — 10 kg (22 lb) for the priority cabin bag.
  • easyJet — up to 15 kg (33 lb)for a large cabin bag, which is generous enough that the bag’s own weight stops mattering.
  • Frontier — 35 lb, the only US carrier in our table with a published carry-on weight limit.

The uncomfortable arithmetic is on the 7 kg carriers. A week of clothes, a laptop, chargers and toiletries is commonly 14 to 20 lb on its own, so a fully packed carry-on will exceed 7 kg no matter which bag you bought. If you fly those routes often, the answer is to pack less and choose a lighter bag, in that order. Our carry-on weight limits guide has the full carrier list and what being over actually triggers.

What to check before you buy

  • Whether the figure is published at all. Most budget Amazon brands state no empty weight. An unpublished weight is not a light weight.
  • Weight per liter, not weight alone. The Allpa 42L at 3.13 lb is a better weight deal than the Allpa 35L at 2.94 lb, because it carries seven more liters for three ounces.
  • What the weight is buying. A hip belt, a frame sheet, a 900D base or a weatherproof shell all weigh something and all do something. Wheels weigh the most and do the least when you are not rolling.
  • Whether the number includes removable parts. Two-bag systems like the Farpoint 55 publish a combined weight that includes the zip-off daypack; the main pack alone is lighter.
  • Your own baseline. Weigh your packed bag at home on a luggage scale once. It is the only figure that settles an argument at a check-in desk.

The three lightest full-size packs we cover

Having set out what to check, here are the bags at the top of the table. Prices come from the live price layer with the date they were read.

#1Lightest full 40L we cover: 2.2 lb published, with a real hip belt

Hynes Eagle 40L Flight-Approved Carry-On Backpack

The perennial budget one-bag pick. A 40L clamshell with a real hip belt for a fraction of the premium price — genuinely capable for the money. You give up refinement and long-term durability, but for occasional trips it punches far above its cost.

Strengths

  • 40L clamshell with a hip belt at a budget price
  • Compression straps to cinch a light load down to size
  • A frequent recommendation in one-bag communities

Trade-offs

  • Materials and zippers aren't built for years of hard use
  • No premium warranty to fall back on
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)2.2 lb
External dimensions20.1 x 13.4 x 9.8 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve15.6 in
MaterialWater-repellent polyester
WarrantyNot published

Fit note. A capable 40L for the price. Treat it as a few-years bag rather than a buy-it-for-life pack, and the value is hard to argue with. Same 40L strict-carrier caveat applies.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#22.59 lb, and the only one of the three that publishes dimensions in both modes

Vancropak 40L Expandable Carry-On Travel Backpack

The cheapest bag here that gets the shoe compartment right: at the bottom, separate, with two ventilation holes, and sized in the listing to a US 10-12 shoe rather than left to your imagination. It is 2.59 lb, it publishes its dimensions in both modes, and expanded it is still level with the 9 in depth the major US carriers allow. The capacity figure on the label is the only thing to discount.

Strengths

  • Shoe compartment is bottom-access, separate and vented, and the listing states it takes a US size 10-12
  • 2.59 lb empty — the lightest bag on this list by more than half a pound
  • Publishes 19 x 13 x 7 in and a 2 in expansion, so expanded it is still level with a 9 in depth limit
  • Two packing cubes and a water-resistant toiletry bag included, plus a 17.3 in laptop section that lies flat

Trade-offs

  • The 40L claim does not match its own dimensions: 19 x 13 x 7 in is roughly 28L, and about 36L expanded
  • Sized to a US 10-12 shoe, so a boot or a US 13 will not go in the compartment
  • No published warranty, and an Amazon-native brand with no service record to check
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)2.59 lb
External dimensions19 x 13 x 7 in (9 in deep expanded)
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on compliant
Laptop sleeve17.3 in
MaterialWater-resistant, scratch-resistant polyester
WarrantyNot published

Fit note. The dimensions are the useful number and the capacity is not. 19 x 13 x 7 in is about 28L of exterior volume and about 36L with the 2 in expansion open, so read the 40L as marketing. What those dimensions do buy you is the thing the MATEIN 52L loses: expanded, this bag is 19 x 13 x 9 in, level with the 22 x 14 x 9 in box American, Delta, United, JetBlue and Alaska publish, and under it on height and width. The listing's wording is a "separate shoe compartment at the bottom" with "two ventilation holes", stated to fit a size 10-12 shoe.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 1, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#32.65 lb with a structured shell and a 17.3 in laptop compartment

tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L Travel Backpack

A lot of well-built 40L for the money. A structured clamshell with a protective laptop compartment and a lifetime warranty that undercuts the premium brands by a wide margin. The trade-off is a simpler harness — fine for airport-to-hotel, less so for long walks under load.

Strengths

  • Structured clamshell and a well-padded laptop compartment
  • Lifetime warranty at a mid-tier price
  • Clean, business-appropriate looks

Trade-offs

  • Simpler hip belt and back panel than an Osprey — less comfortable under a heavy load
  • At 40L, the same strict-carrier caveat applies when packed full
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)2.65 lb
External dimensions20.5 x 13 x 9 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve17.3 in
MaterialRecycled 1680D PET fabric, YKK zippers
Warranty1-year (2-year with registration)

Fit note. The tomtoc's strength is protective tech carry at a mid price; its weakness is the suspension. If you'll walk far with it loaded, budget for the comfort gap versus a hip-belted Osprey.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

The Hynes Eagle is the weight answer and the budget answer at once: 2.2 lb for a 40L clamshell with a hip belt, at the cost of refinement and with no published warranty term. The Vancropak is 2.59 lb and publishes 19 x 13 x 7 in standard, so it is genuinely a smaller bag than its 40L label suggests — part of why it is light. The tomtoc is 2.65 lb with a structured shell and the largest published laptop sleeve of the three, and it has the smallest exterior box of any 40L pack we cover. The rest of the light end, including the packable daypacks, is on best lightweight travel backpacks.

If weight is your binding constraint rather than a preference, the other lever is capacity: a 35L bag is lighter empty and holds less, which makes it harder to accidentally exceed a limit you cannot see. That argument is on best 35L travel backpacks and what size travel backpack.

The limits of this answer

Every weight above is the maker’s own published figure, cross-checked against an independent spec box where one exists, and all the sources are listed below. We do not own these bags and we do not put them on a scale, so we cannot tell you that a stated 2.65 lb is 2.65 lb in the box — stated weights sometimes exclude a rain cover or a removable belt. Weigh your own bag packed before a flight on a carrier that cares. Our method is in how we choose.

Check your airline before you fly. Carry-on and personal-item limits change, vary by aircraft and fare, and are enforced at the gate’s discretion. We date every figure and cite the airline’s own page — but confirm the current rule for your specific flight before you count on it.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a travel backpack weigh?

Empty, between about 2.2 lb and 7.93 lb across every pack on this site that publishes a figure. A typical 40L carry-on pack is 2.5 to 3.5 lb; a premium organization-first pack runs 4 to 4.5 lb; a wheeled travel pack is 5 to 8 lb because the wheels, chassis and handle are part of the bag. Packed for a week, most people end up between 18 and 25 lb all in.

How much does a full travel backpack weigh?

Add the empty weight to what you pack. A week of clothes, toiletries, a laptop and chargers commonly runs 14 to 20 lb, so a 3 lb pack lands at 17 to 23 lb and a 7.93 lb wheeled pack at 22 to 28 lb. That matters on carriers with a cabin weight limit — Emirates and Qantas publish 7 kg (15.4 lb), which a fully packed carry-on will exceed.

What is the lightest travel backpack?

Among full-size travel packs we cover, the Hynes Eagle 40L at 2.2 lb published. Among packable daypacks, the Sea to Summit Ultra-Sil Day Pack at 0.16 lb (2.5 oz) and the Ultra-Sil Dry Day Pack at 0.24 lb (3.9 oz) — those are second bags, not trip bags.

Does the weight of the backpack count toward the airline limit?

On carriers that weigh cabin bags, yes — the limit is for the bag and its contents together. Emirates allows one Economy cabin bag at 7 kg, Qantas the same on international Economy, Lufthansa 8 kg, Ryanair 10 kg for its priority cabin bag and easyJet up to 15 kg for a large cabin bag. The US majors do not weigh carry-ons; Frontier publishes a 35 lb limit.

How much should a travel backpack weigh empty?

Under 3.5 lb for a 35-40L pack is a good target, and under 3 lb is excellent. Above 4.5 lb you are paying weight for either wheels or a lot of structure, and should be sure you want them. There is no safety threshold here — it is simply that every ounce of empty bag is an ounce of clothes you cannot carry under a weight limit.

Why do wheeled backpacks weigh so much more?

Wheels, a rigid chassis, a telescoping handle and the reinforcement they need are all heavy, and you carry them whether you roll or not. The Osprey Sojourn 45 is 7.93 lb empty against 3.1 lb for the Osprey Farpoint 40, and the High Sierra Freewheel is 5.5 lb for only 34 liters — roughly two pounds more than a plain 35L pack.

Sources

  • Osprey — Sojourn Wheeled Travel Pack 22"/45L specs — Manufacturer spec: 45L, 22 x 14 x 9 in, 7.93 lb, stowaway AirScape harness/backpanel and padded hipbelt, 90 mm wheels on a HighRoad chassis, recycled high-tenacity nylon and ballistic polyester (accessed August 25, 2026)
  • High Sierra — Freewheel Wheeled Backpack specs — Manufacturer spec: 34L, 19.5 x 13.5 x 8 in, 5.5 lb, fits a 15 in laptop, limited lifetime warranty (accessed August 25, 2026)
  • High Sierra — Freewheel Pro Wheeled Backpack specs — Manufacturer spec: 40L, 21.6 x 15.6 x 10 in, 5.3 lb, fits a 15 in laptop, limited 5-year global warranty (accessed August 25, 2026)
  • Peak Design — Travel Backpack 45L specs — Manufacturer spec: 30L compressed / 35L standard (max carry-on) / 45L expanded, 22 x 13 x 9.5 in growing to 22 x 13 x 11 in expanded, 4.5 lb, weatherproof 100% recycled 400D nylon shell with a 900D bottom liner, 16 in laptop sleeve plus a separate tablet sleeve (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Peak Design — Travel Backpack 30L specs — Manufacturer spec: 27L standard / 33L expanded; external 53 x 33 x 18 cm (20.9 x 13 x 7 in) standard and 53 x 33 x 20 cm (20.9 x 13 x 7.9 in) expanded; internal 49 x 36 x 14 cm standard / 16 cm deep expanded; 1.44 kg (3.17 lb); fits a 16 in laptop (max 40.6 x 28 x 2.5 cm / 16 x 11 x 1 in) and a 10 in tablet (max 24 x 19 x 1.5 cm); holds 3 Peak Design packing or camera cubes; weatherproof 100% recycled 400D nylon Versa Shell (DWR and double poly coated) over a 900D waterproof bottom liner, anodized aluminum and glass-reinforced nylon hardware, UltraZips with UHMPE thread; tuck-away shoulder straps, optional hip belt accessory; in the box: the pack, two Cord Hook external carry straps and a stowable sternum strap (accessed September 17, 2026)
  • Cotopaxi — Allpa 42L Travel Pack specs — Manufacturer spec: 42L (2,563 cu in), 22 x 14 x 11 in (56 x 36 x 27 cm), 3 lb 2 oz (1.41 kg), 100% recycled 840D TPU-coated nylon and 100% recycled 840D ballistic ripstop nylon, 100% recycled ripstop polyester lining, 15 in padded fleece-lined laptop sleeve, suitcase-style full-wrap opening, internal pockets 1 large / 1 medium / 1 small, tuckable shoulder straps and hip belt (accessed September 10, 2026)
  • Nomatic — Travel Bag 40L (specs & lifetime warranty) — Manufacturer spec: 40L, 21 x 14 x 9 in, 3.42 lb, lifetime warranty (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • tomtoc — 40L Travel Backpack (Navigator-T66) specs — Manufacturer spec: 40L, 20.5 x 13 x 9 in, 2.65 lb, up to 17.3 in laptop (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Sea to Summit — Ultra-Sil Day Pack (20L) specs — Manufacturer spec: 20L, 2.5 oz (72 g), packed size 2 x 4 x 7 in, 100% nylon; stated water-resistant only (seams unsealed) (accessed August 11, 2026)
  • Sea to Summit — Ultra-Sil Dry Day Pack (22L) specs — Manufacturer spec: 22L, 3.9 oz (110 g), 30D siliconized Cordura nylon, taped seams, double roll-top, >2000 mm hydrostatic head, not for submersion (accessed August 11, 2026)
  • Emirates — Cabin baggage rules — Emirates Economy: one cabin bag max 7 kg (15 lb), total dimensions max 115 cm (L+W+H); 10 kg for journeys originating in Brazil (accessed August 13, 2026)
  • Qantas — Carry-on baggage allowances — Qantas international Economy: one carry-on up to 7 kg plus one small personal item; over the limit must be checked (accessed August 13, 2026)
  • Lufthansa — Carry-on baggage — Lufthansa carry-on 55 x 40 x 23 cm and max 8 kg; Economy Basic excludes the carry-on and allows a 40 x 30 x 15 cm personal item only (accessed August 13, 2026)
  • Ryanair — Bag policy — Ryanair free small bag 40 x 20 x 25 cm; priority cabin bag 55 x 40 x 20 cm, 10 kg (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • easyJet — Cabin bags FAQ — easyJet free small cabin bag 45 x 36 x 20 cm; large cabin bag 56 x 45 x 25 cm, up to 15 kg (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Frontier Airlines — Bag options — Frontier carry-on 24 x 16 x 10 in; personal item 18 x 14 x 8 in; 35 lb limit each (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • onebag.travel — carry-on backpack spec database — Republished manufacturer dimension/weight spec sheets used to cross-check pack figures (accessed July 21, 2026)

Keep reading