Passage & Pier

Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L vs Cotopaxi Allpa 42L

Two premium one-bag packs with lifetime-grade warranties, three liters apart, and a published depth problem each. One of them shrinks to fit a sizer; the other is 1.37 lb lighter and hundreds of dollars cheaper to live with.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we choose

The verdict

Buy the Cotopaxi Allpa 42L if you want one bag for two-week trips.It is 3.13 lb against the Peak Design’s 4.5 lb, it publishes 42 liters in one fixed shape, it has a tuckable hip belt Peak Design does not state on the 45L, and it costs a fraction of the Peak Design once you add the cubes that pack’s layout is designed around. It is for the organization-first packer who wants the bag to be simple and the inside to be sorted. Buy the Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L if your trip changes size — 30L cinched, 35L standard, 45L expanded, with rear, front, side and top access and a 16 in laptop sleeve. It is for camera and tech carry and for the traveler who flies out light and comes home full.

Neither one is a dimensionally compliant carry-on on paper, and the Allpa is further out than the Peak Design. Peak Design publishes 22 x 13 x 9.5 in standard, half an inch over the 22 x 14 x 9 in box American, Delta, United, JetBlue and Alaska print, growing to 11 in deep expanded. Cotopaxi publishes 22 x 14 x 11 in — two inches over on depth and level on width and height, in every mode, because the Allpa has no modes. Both are soft bags that compress, so both clear US gates routinely; only the Peak Design has a published way to get smaller on purpose.

This is the premium end of one-bag travel: two packs people research for weeks, both with a warranty meant to outlast the trip, both built around the idea that the inside of the bag should be organized rather than a sack. They are three liters apart on paper and they feel like different products in the hand, because they solve organization in opposite ways. The Allpa splits one big clamshell with zip mesh dividers. The Peak Design gives you four doors into a bag that changes volume.

That difference drives everything else: the Peak Design’s engineering costs weight and money, and the Allpa’s simplicity costs you flexibility. The specs below are each maker’s own published figures, cross-checked where an independent spec box exists, and the prices are read live from the price layer with the date they were read.

One honest caveat before the table: we do not own either pack and we have not flown them. What published specs settle well is fit, weight, laptop carry and warranty terms — which is most of this decision. What they cannot settle is how a shell wears over five years, so you will find no durability verdict and no score here.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which bag we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on capacity, carry-on fit and who each bag actually suits. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not flown every one of these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductCapacityWeight (empty)External dimensionsLaptop sleeveBest forPrice
1
Cotopaxi Allpa 42L Travel Pack

Cotopaxi Allpa 42L Travel Pack

The Allpa for longer trips, and a better deal on weight than it looks: seven more liters than the 35L for three more ounces, with the same suitcase-style opening, the same tough recycled shell and the same warranty. What it gives up is the 35L's whole reason for existing — the sizer margin. Cotopaxi publishes 22 x 14 x 11 in, which is level with the standard box on two dimensions and two inches over it on the third.

42 L3.13 lb22 x 14 x 11 in15 inBest overall: more bag for less weight
$254.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L

Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L

The most completely engineered bag on this site, and the one whose numbers you should read twice. It genuinely is three bags — 30L cinched down, 35L standard, 45L expanded — with rear, front, side and top access and a lifetime warranty behind it. It is also 4.5 lb empty and published at 9.5 in deep before you expand it, which is half an inch over the box every US carrier prints on its sizer.

45 L4.5 lb22 x 13 x 9.5 in (11 in deep expanded)16 inBest if the trip changes size
$299.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

The default answer to 'best carry-on travel backpack,' and it earns it: a 40L clamshell that opens flat like a suitcase, a real hip belt that moves the load off your shoulders, and Osprey's all-mighty warranty behind it. At 40L it sits right at the carry-on ceiling — great if you pack full, worth measuring against a strict European carrier.

40 L3.1 lb21 x 15 x 10 in15 inBest carry comfort for much less money
$199.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Specs read from each product’s own Amazon listing as of September 10, 2026; prices as of October 10, 2026, refreshed daily. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure — we print that rather than an estimate.

The picks in full

#1Best overall: more bag for less weight

Cotopaxi Allpa 42L Travel Pack

The Allpa for longer trips, and a better deal on weight than it looks: seven more liters than the 35L for three more ounces, with the same suitcase-style opening, the same tough recycled shell and the same warranty. What it gives up is the 35L's whole reason for existing — the sizer margin. Cotopaxi publishes 22 x 14 x 11 in, which is level with the standard box on two dimensions and two inches over it on the third.

Strengths

  • 42L for 3 lb 2 oz — only 3 oz more than the Allpa 35L, and level with the Osprey Farpoint 40
  • Suitcase-style full-wrap opening with large, medium and small internal zip pockets
  • 100% recycled 840D TPU-coated and ballistic ripstop nylon shell, plus Cotopaxi's Guaranteed for Good warranty

Trade-offs

  • Published at 11 in deep against a 9 in limit — two inches over, on the dimension sizers catch most reliably
  • At 14 in wide it loses the two inches of width margin that make the 35L easy at a strict sizer
  • A 15 in laptop sleeve, so a 16-inch laptop is not a published fit
Capacity42 L
Weight (empty)3.13 lb
External dimensions22 x 14 x 11 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve15 in
Material100% recycled 840D TPU-coated nylon and 840D ballistic ripstop nylon; recycled ripstop polyester lining
WarrantyCotopaxi Guaranteed for Good (lifetime of the product)

Fit note. Cotopaxi publishes 22 x 14 x 11 in: level with the 22 x 14 x 9 box on height and width, two inches over on depth. A published depth is the bag's full depth, so a soft pack packed below capacity measures less — but on a carrier that uses a sizer, that is the whole bet. The weight is the pleasant surprise: 3 lb 2 oz is about 20% of a 7 kg allowance, level with the Osprey Farpoint 40 for two more liters.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 10, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best if the trip changes size

Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L

The most completely engineered bag on this site, and the one whose numbers you should read twice. It genuinely is three bags — 30L cinched down, 35L standard, 45L expanded — with rear, front, side and top access and a lifetime warranty behind it. It is also 4.5 lb empty and published at 9.5 in deep before you expand it, which is half an inch over the box every US carrier prints on its sizer.

Strengths

  • Publishes every number that matters — 22 x 13 x 9.5 in, 4.5 lb, a 16 in laptop sleeve and a recycled 400D shell — so the fit math is checkable before you buy
  • Three usable sizes in one bag: cinched to 30L, 35L as standard, 45L expanded for the trip home
  • Rear, front, side and top access, so nothing is ever buried, plus Peak Design's lifetime warranty on failures that stop the bag working

Trade-offs

  • 4.5 lb empty — the heaviest bag we cover that doesn't have wheels, and nearly a third of a 7 kg cabin allowance gone before you pack
  • Published at 9.5 in deep in standard mode against a 9 in limit, and 11 in expanded, which is not a carry-on on any airline
  • Several times the price of a competent budget 40L, and the packing cubes, camera cubes and pouches the layout is designed around are all sold separately
Capacity45 L
Weight (empty)4.5 lb
External dimensions22 x 13 x 9.5 in (11 in deep expanded)
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve16 in
MaterialWeatherproof 100% recycled 400D nylon shell with a 900D bottom liner
WarrantyPeak Design lifetime warranty

Fit note. Read the two dimensions that move. Width is the good news: 13 in against a 14 in limit, where much of the 40L field runs 15 in and gets stopped on a narrow sizer. Depth is the bad news: 9.5 in standard is half an inch over the 22 x 14 x 9 in box, and the 45L mode adds another inch and a half to exactly the dimension airlines measure most reliably. Fly out in standard mode, expand on the way home, and treat the expanded bag as checked.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best carry comfort for much less money

Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

The default answer to 'best carry-on travel backpack,' and it earns it: a 40L clamshell that opens flat like a suitcase, a real hip belt that moves the load off your shoulders, and Osprey's all-mighty warranty behind it. At 40L it sits right at the carry-on ceiling — great if you pack full, worth measuring against a strict European carrier.

Strengths

  • Clamshell opens flat so you pack it like a suitcase, not a stuff sack
  • Proper padded hip belt actually transfers weight off the shoulders
  • Backed by Osprey's All Mighty Guarantee — they repair or replace it

Trade-offs

  • At 40L it runs right at the carry-on limit; overpack it and strict carriers push back
  • Premium price versus the budget 40L crowd
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)3.1 lb
External dimensions21 x 15 x 10 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve15 in
MaterialNylon ripstop
WarrantyOsprey All Mighty Guarantee

Fit note. 40L is the most a soft carry-on backpack can hold before it starts failing strict sizers when full. On generous US carriers it clears; on a strict 40x20x25cm European budget limit, packed full it can get flagged. Check your carrier's number on our size guide before you count on it.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

The published figures that decide it

  • Capacity.Allpa 42L, fixed. Peak Design 30L cinched / 35L standard / 45L expanded. The Peak Design’s headline number is its largest mode, not its normal one — as a carry-on it is a 35L bag.
  • Empty weight.Allpa 3.13 lb (Cotopaxi states 3 lb 2 oz / 1.41 kg). Peak Design 4.5 lb, which Pack Hacker’s independent spec box puts at 4.55 lb. The Allpa is about 1.37 lb lighter while holding seven more liters than the Peak Design’s standard mode.
  • Dimensions. Allpa 22 x 14 x 11 in. Peak Design 22 x 13 x 9.5 in standard, 11 in deep expanded. Peak Design has an inch of width margin the Allpa does not; the Allpa is 1.5 in deeper in standard use.
  • Laptop. Peak Design publishes a 16 in sleeve plus a separate tablet sleeve. Cotopaxi publishes a 15 in fleece-lined sleeve. If you carry a 16-inch machine, that is the whole comparison in one line.
  • Shell.Peak Design: weatherproof 100% recycled 400D nylon over a 900D bottom liner. Cotopaxi: 100% recycled 840D TPU-coated nylon with 840D ballistic ripstop panels. Both are serious fabrics; the Allpa’s is the heavier denier, which is part of why it carries weight well for its size.

Read the two warranties, because they are not the same promise

Both get described as “lifetime,” and both are good, but they cover different things in their own words. Cotopaxi’s Guaranteed for Good covers manufacturing defects for the lifetime of the product. Peak Design’s lifetime warranty covers manufacturing defects and failures or breakages that render part or all of the product non-functional — broader on the failure side — while explicitly excluding cosmetic wear, misuse, Factory 2nds and anything bought on a secondhand marketplace or auction site.

Two practical consequences. First, a zipper that dies in year four is more clearly covered by Peak Design’s wording. Second, if you were planning to save money by buying a used Peak Design, the warranty does not travel with the bag; the Cotopaxi terms are about the product rather than the purchase channel. Our how long do travel backpacks last guide quotes every warranty on this site in its own words, which is the only way to compare them fairly.

The sizer math, stated plainly

Depth is the dimension airlines measure most reliably, and both bags lose on it. The Peak Design is half an inch over in standard mode and two inches over expanded, which is not a carry-on anywhere. The Allpa is two inches over, always. Neither bag has a frame, so a pack that is not full measures less than its published depth — and that is exactly the bet you are placing at a gate.

Where Peak Design pulls ahead is that it has a documented way to lose volume: cinched to 30L the bag is deliberately smaller, so you can fly out compliant and expand on the return leg, treating the expanded bag as checked. The Allpa has no equivalent, which is the price of its simplicity. If a strict sizer is part of your routine, the honest answer is neither of these: the 35L class and the bags on 22 x 14 x 9 in carry-on backpacks exist for that constraint, and is a 40L backpack a carry-on works through the same arithmetic one bag at a time.

Carry comfort is where the third pick comes in

Cotopaxi publishes tuckable shoulder straps and a hip belt on the Allpa 42L. Peak Design does not state a hip belt in the 45L spec we cite, and on its 30L sibling the hip belt is sold as an optional accessory — so do not assume one is in the box. For a 42 to 45 liter bag packed for two weeks, that matters: a belt moves the load onto your hips instead of hanging it off your shoulders.

Neither, though, carries like an Osprey Farpoint 40, which is why it is the third pick above. The Farpoint is 3.1 lb with a proper padded hip belt and the All Mighty Guarantee, at a fraction of the Peak Design’s price. It gives up the Allpa’s mesh dividers and the Peak Design’s four-way access, and its own published 21 x 15 x 10 in is over the box on two dimensions. If carrying distance is the thing you actually optimize for, start there and read best travel backpacks with a hip belt.

Who should buy which

Buy the Allpa 42L if you take two-week or cold-weather trips, you want everything sorted and visible, you carry a 15-inch laptop or smaller, and you would rather spend the difference on the trip. Our Cotopaxi Allpa 42L review has the full write-up, and Farpoint 40 vs Allpa 35L covers the smaller Allpa against the obvious Osprey.

Buy the Peak Design 45L if you want one bag to cover a weekend and a two-week trip, you carry camera gear or a 16-inch laptop, you value getting at your things from four directions, and you accept 4.5 lb and a separate spend on cubes. Our Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L review goes deeper, and Nomatic 40L vs Peak Design 45L is the comparison to read if the Nomatic is also on your list.

Buy neither if the price is the problem. Both are premium bags and neither is necessary to travel well. The best travel backpacks under $100 page covers what you give up at the other end of the ladder, and how much should you spend on a travel backpack is the honest version of that argument.

Frequently asked questions

Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L or Cotopaxi Allpa 42L?

The Allpa 42L for most one-bag travelers: 3.13 lb against 4.5 lb, seven more liters than the Peak Design's standard 35L mode, a published tuckable hip belt, and a much lower price before you add cubes. Choose the Peak Design if you need a bag that changes size — 30L cinched to 45L expanded — or if you carry camera gear or a 16-inch laptop.

Is the Cotopaxi Allpa 42L carry-on size?

Not by its published dimensions. Cotopaxi states 22 x 14 x 11 in: level with the standard 22 x 14 x 9 in box on height and width, two inches over on depth. It is a soft pack, so packed below capacity it measures less and clears US gates routinely — but on a carrier that uses a rigid sizer, a full Allpa 42L is over.

Is the Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L a carry-on?

In standard mode it is close and still technically over: Peak Design publishes 22 x 13 x 9.5 in against a 9 in depth limit. Expanded to 45L it is 11 in deep, which is not a carry-on on any airline. The useful trick is the cinched 30L mode — fly out small, expand for the trip home, and treat the expanded bag as checked.

Which one is lighter?

The Allpa 42L, by about 1.37 lb: Cotopaxi states 3 lb 2 oz (1.41 kg) and Peak Design states 4.5 lb, which Pack Hacker's independent spec box measures at 4.55 lb. Against a 7 kg (15.4 lb) cabin allowance, the empty Peak Design uses nearly a third and the empty Allpa about a fifth.

Do either of them have a hip belt?

Cotopaxi publishes tuckable shoulder straps and a hip belt on the Allpa 42L. Peak Design does not state a hip belt in the Travel Backpack 45L spec we cite, and on the 30L model the hip belt is an optional accessory sold separately — so do not assume one is included.

Which warranty is better?

They cover different things. Cotopaxi's Guaranteed for Good covers manufacturing defects for the lifetime of the product. Peak Design's lifetime warranty covers defects plus failures that render part or all of the bag non-functional, which is broader, but excludes cosmetic wear, misuse, Factory 2nds and bags bought secondhand or at auction. If you plan to buy used, that exclusion decides it.

Sources

  • Peak Design — Travel Backpack 45L specs — Manufacturer spec: 30L compressed / 35L standard (max carry-on) / 45L expanded, 22 x 13 x 9.5 in growing to 22 x 13 x 11 in expanded, 4.5 lb, weatherproof 100% recycled 400D nylon shell with a 900D bottom liner, 16 in laptop sleeve plus a separate tablet sleeve (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Peak Design — Lifetime Warranty — Covers manufacturing defects and failures or breakages that render part or all of the product non-functional; excludes cosmetic wear, misuse, apparel, Factory 2nds and products bought on secondhand marketplaces or auction sites (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Pack Hacker — Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L — Independent spec box used to cross-check the manufacturer figures: 45L, 4.55 lb, 22 x 13 x 9.5 in with depth increasing to 11 in expanded, 16 in laptop compartment (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Peak Design — Travel Backpack 30L specs — Manufacturer spec: 27L standard / 33L expanded; external 53 x 33 x 18 cm (20.9 x 13 x 7 in) standard and 53 x 33 x 20 cm (20.9 x 13 x 7.9 in) expanded; internal 49 x 36 x 14 cm standard / 16 cm deep expanded; 1.44 kg (3.17 lb); fits a 16 in laptop (max 40.6 x 28 x 2.5 cm / 16 x 11 x 1 in) and a 10 in tablet (max 24 x 19 x 1.5 cm); holds 3 Peak Design packing or camera cubes; weatherproof 100% recycled 400D nylon Versa Shell (DWR and double poly coated) over a 900D waterproof bottom liner, anodized aluminum and glass-reinforced nylon hardware, UltraZips with UHMPE thread; tuck-away shoulder straps, optional hip belt accessory; in the box: the pack, two Cord Hook external carry straps and a stowable sternum strap (accessed September 17, 2026)
  • Cotopaxi — Allpa 42L Travel Pack specs — Manufacturer spec: 42L (2,563 cu in), 22 x 14 x 11 in (56 x 36 x 27 cm), 3 lb 2 oz (1.41 kg), 100% recycled 840D TPU-coated nylon and 100% recycled 840D ballistic ripstop nylon, 100% recycled ripstop polyester lining, 15 in padded fleece-lined laptop sleeve, suitcase-style full-wrap opening, internal pockets 1 large / 1 medium / 1 small, tuckable shoulder straps and hip belt (accessed September 10, 2026)
  • Cotopaxi — Releases New Allpa Travel Packs (press release, August 1, 2024) — The current Allpa generation: air mesh shoulder straps, better weight distribution, an exterior stretch water bottle pocket and a luggage pass-through strap, in 100% recycled fabrics; offered in 20L, 28L, 35L and 42L (accessed September 10, 2026)
  • Pack Hacker — Cotopaxi Allpa 42L Travel Pack — Independent spec box, updated to the current version: 42L, 3.11 lb (1.4 kg), 22 x 14 x 11 in, 15 in laptop compartment (accessed September 10, 2026)
  • Cotopaxi — Warranty & Repairs (Guaranteed for Good) — Cotopaxi 'Guaranteed for Good' — manufacturing defects covered for the lifetime of the product (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Osprey — All Mighty Guarantee — Osprey's free-repair, any-product, any-era guarantee (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • American Airlines — Carry-on baggage — AA carry-on 22 x 14 x 9 in; personal item 18 x 14 x 8 in (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Delta Air Lines — Carry-on baggage — Delta carry-on 22 x 14 x 9 in (45 linear in); personal item must fit under the seat (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • United Airlines — Carry-on bags — United carry-on 22 x 14 x 9 in; personal item 17 x 10 x 9 in (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • JetBlue — Carry-on bags — JetBlue carry-on 22 x 14 x 9 in; personal item 17 x 13 x 8 in (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Alaska Airlines — Carry-on luggage — Alaska carry-on 22 x 14 x 9 in incl. wheels/handles; personal item must fit under the seat (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Emirates — Cabin baggage rules — Emirates Economy: one cabin bag max 7 kg (15 lb), total dimensions max 115 cm (L+W+H); 10 kg for journeys originating in Brazil (accessed August 13, 2026)
  • TSA — What are the size restrictions for carry-on bags? — TSA does not set carry-on dimensions — the airline does; TSA screens, it doesn't size (accessed July 21, 2026)

Keep reading