Passage & Pier

Is a 40L Backpack a Carry-On?

Usually yes, and the liter figure is not what decides it. A 22 x 14 x 9 in allowance is roughly 45 liters of box — so 40 liters fits if the bag is shaped right, and gets stopped if it is not.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we choose

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which bag we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Yes, in almost every case — and the liter figure on the label is not what decides it. A standard carry-on allowance of 22 x 14 x 9 inches is 2,772 cubic inches, which is about 45 liters of box. A 40-liter pack fits inside that volume with five liters to spare. What gets a 40L bag refused is never the 40; it is a published width of 15 inches against a 14-inch limit, or a depth of 10 inches against 9. If you want the short answer: the Nomatic Travel Bag 40L, the tomtoc 40L and the Osprey Fairview 40 all publish dimensions inside the standard box on all three sides, and the first two are the cheapest way to get there.

That is the whole guide in a paragraph. The rest is the arithmetic, the bag-by-bag table and the carriers whose numbers are different from the ones everybody quotes.

The box, and the eight carriers that publish it

There is no national carry-on standard. The TSA says so itself: it screens bags, it does not size them, and the dimensions are the airline’s. What exists instead is a de facto standard that five US carriers publish identically, and a set of outliers:

  • 22 x 14 x 9 in— American, Delta, United, JetBlue and Alaska. Delta states it as 45 linear inches; Alaska counts wheels and handles in the measurement.
  • 24 x 16 x 10 in— Southwest and Frontier, the two most generous US boxes. Frontier adds a 35 lb limit.
  • 22 x 18 x 10 in— Spirit, which is wider and deeper than the standard but no taller.
  • 55 x 40 x 20 cm— Ryanair’s priority cabin bag, 10 kg. In inches that is roughly 21.7 x 15.7 x 7.9, so the depth limit is more than an inch tighter than the US standard.
  • 56 x 45 x 25 cm— easyJet’s large cabin bag, up to 15 kg, which is actually a roomier box than the US one.
  • 55 x 40 x 23 cm and 8 kg— Lufthansa, where the weight limit does more work than the dimensions.

Emirates frames it differently again: one Economy cabin bag with total dimensions up to 115 cm and a 7 kg weight limit. On a carrier like that, the empty weight of the bag is the constraint and the liters are a distraction.

Every 40L pack we cover, against the standard box

These are the makers’ and listings’ own published figures, measured against 22 x 14 x 9 in. Where a brand publishes nothing, we print nothing — that is the honest answer, not a reason to invent one.

  • Nomatic Travel Bag 40L — 21 x 14 x 9 in. Inside on all three, level on width and depth. The strictest-fitting 40L we cover.
  • tomtoc 40L (Navigator-T66) — 20.5 x 13 x 9 in. Inside on all three with an inch of width margin, and it publishes a 17.3 in laptop sleeve.
  • Osprey Fairview 40 — 21.3 x 13.8 x 9 in.Inside on all three. The women’s-fit harness is built on a shorter, slimmer frame, which is why this one clears where its sibling does not.
  • Vancropak 40L — 19 x 13 x 7 in, 9 in expanded. Inside on all three in both modes. Read the 40L label as marketing: those dimensions are closer to 28L standard and about 36L expanded.
  • LOVEVOOK 40L with shoe compartment — 18 x 12.5 x 7 in. Comfortably inside, and the same caveat about the capacity claim applies.
  • Hynes Eagle 40L — 20.1 x 13.4 x 9.8 in. Inside on height and width, 0.8 in over on depth.
  • Osprey Farpoint 40 — 21 x 15 x 10 in. One inch over on width and one over on depth. It is soft and it clears gates constantly, but it is not compliant on paper.
  • High Sierra Freewheel Pro 40L — 21.6 x 15.6 x 10 in.Over on width and depth, and it is the wheeled one, so it cannot squash to make up the difference. It does fit Southwest’s and Frontier’s 24 x 16 x 10 in box.
  • MATEIN 40L, LOVEVOOK 40L women’s, Eagle Creek Cargo Hauler 40L, Osprey Transporter 40L, MARCHWAY 40L dry bag— no published exterior dimensions. Measure them yourself.

Five of the eight that publish numbers are inside the box; the three failures are all on depth, two of them on width as well. That is the pattern across the whole category, and it is why we rank capacity pages on dimensions rather than liters in best 40L travel backpacks.

Why soft bags get away with it

A published depth is the bag’s depth when it is full. A soft pack with no frame measures less when it is not, which is why a Farpoint 40 published at 10 inches deep goes in the bin on a US major every day without a word. Three things make that luck run out: a rigid sizer at the gate, a bag packed to capacity, and wheels. Rigid wheeled bags measure what they measure in every mode.

So the decision is really about risk tolerance. If you fly US majors, pack sensibly and never get measured, the published numbers are academic. If your itinerary includes a European budget carrier, or you pack the bag full on the way home, buy a bag whose numbers are inside the frame to begin with.

What to check before you pay

  • The three dimensions, in writing. Not the liters. If the listing gives no dimensions, treat that as an unknown rather than a pass.
  • Depth first. It is the dimension the category fails most often and the one a sizer catches most reliably.
  • Whether the bag is soft or framed. A soft pack buys you forgiveness; a wheeled bag does not.
  • Expanded dimensions, if it expands. Several packs publish one number standard and another expanded, and only the first one is a carry-on.
  • Your airline’s number, not the standard one.Spirit is 18 inches wide; Ryanair’s depth limit is under 8 inches.

Three 40L packs that are carry-on size on paper

Having set out what to check, here are the bags that pass it. Prices come from the live price layer with the date they were read.

#1Inside the box on all three sides, at the lowest price of the three

tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L Travel Backpack

A lot of well-built 40L for the money. A structured clamshell with a protective laptop compartment and a lifetime warranty that undercuts the premium brands by a wide margin. The trade-off is a simpler harness — fine for airport-to-hotel, less so for long walks under load.

Strengths

  • Structured clamshell and a well-padded laptop compartment
  • Lifetime warranty at a mid-tier price
  • Clean, business-appropriate looks

Trade-offs

  • Simpler hip belt and back panel than an Osprey — less comfortable under a heavy load
  • At 40L, the same strict-carrier caveat applies when packed full
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)2.65 lb
External dimensions20.5 x 13 x 9 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve17.3 in
MaterialRecycled 1680D PET fabric, YKK zippers
Warranty1-year (2-year with registration)

Fit note. The tomtoc's strength is protective tech carry at a mid price; its weakness is the suspension. If you'll walk far with it loaded, budget for the comfort gap versus a hip-belted Osprey.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#221 x 14 x 9 in — level with the standard allowance, with a lifetime warranty

Nomatic Travel Bag 40L (Convertible)

The organized traveler's tech bag. Converts between duffel and backpack, opens like a suitcase, and is riddled with structured compartments and a separate laptop/tablet section. Heavy and expensive for its volume — you're paying for organization and build, not lightness.

Strengths

  • Carries as a backpack or a duffel without changing how it packs
  • Dedicated, well-padded tech compartment
  • Serious build quality and structure

Trade-offs

  • Heavy empty — the structure and hardware add up
  • Premium price, and a fixed 40L that runs right at the carry-on limit
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)3.42 lb
External dimensions21 x 14 x 9 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve16 in
MaterialWater-resistant polyester/nylon
WarrantyNomatic lifetime warranty

Fit note. This is a fixed 40L, not an expandable — Nomatic sells the 30L as a separate bag, and the model that expands is the Travel Pack (20L to 30L). Nomatic's published 21 x 14 x 9 in sits right at the standard 22 x 14 x 9 limit, and a structured bag has no give at a sizer, so re-check it against your carrier.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3The only compliant 40L here with a real load-transferring hip belt

Osprey Fairview 40 Travel Backpack

The Fairview is the Farpoint on a women's-specific harness — a shorter back panel and narrower, contoured straps. If the Farpoint's harness has ever sat too tall or too wide on you, this is the same excellent 40L clamshell that finally fits.

Strengths

  • Women's-fit harness: shorter back length, narrower shoulder straps
  • Same clamshell packing and hip belt as the Farpoint
  • Osprey All Mighty Guarantee

Trade-offs

  • The fit that helps a shorter torso is wrong for a long one — size to your back, not the label
  • Same at-the-limit 40L caveat as the Farpoint
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)3.2 lb
External dimensions21.3 x 13.8 x 9 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve15 in
MaterialNylon ripstop
WarrantyOsprey All Mighty Guarantee

Fit note. The Fairview and Farpoint are the same bag with different harnesses. 'Women's' is really 'shorter/narrower fit' — pick by your torso length, not the marketing. See our Farpoint vs Fairview comparison.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

The tomtoc is the value answer: 20.5 x 13 x 9 in published, a protective 17.3-inch laptop compartment and a structured clamshell, with a simpler harness than the Ospreys. The Nomatic is the premium organization pick and is level with the box on two dimensions, so there is nothing to argue about at a gate. The Fairview is the one to buy if you will carry the bag any distance, because it is the only one of the three with a hip belt that actually transfers load — see Fairview 40 vs Cotopaxi Allpa 35L if you are weighing it against the obvious 35L alternative.

If you want the bag to be unarguable rather than merely compliant, the next step down in capacity does it: best 35L travel backpacks and what size travel backpack cover why many experienced one-baggers settle five liters below this class.

The honest limits of this answer

Every figure above is published by the maker, the listing or the airline, and all of them are in Sources. We have not flown these bags and we do not measure them ourselves, so what this guide can tell you is whether a bag is compliant on paper — not whether a particular gate agent on a particular morning will care. Airlines also change baggage policy without warning, so check your carrier’s own page before you fly. What we will and will not claim is set out in how we choose.

Check your airline before you fly. Carry-on and personal-item limits change, vary by aircraft and fare, and are enforced at the gate’s discretion. We date every figure and cite the airline’s own page — but confirm the current rule for your specific flight before you count on it.

Frequently asked questions

Is a 40L backpack a carry-on?

Usually, yes. A standard 22 x 14 x 9 in carry-on allowance is about 45 liters of box, so a 40L pack fits inside it with room to spare on volume — the question is shape. Of the 40L packs we cover that publish exterior dimensions, most are inside the box on height and width and the failures are almost always on depth. Soft packs also compress, which is why 40L bags clear US gates every day.

Is a 40L backpack too big for carry-on?

Only if its dimensions are, or if you overpack it. The 40 liters is not the problem; a bag published at 15 inches wide against a 14 inch limit is. Check the three published numbers against your airline's box rather than the capacity, and if the bag has no published dimensions, measure it yourself packed the way you will fly.

Which 40L backpacks are actually carry-on size?

Of the 40L bags we cover, the ones whose published dimensions sit inside 22 x 14 x 9 in on all three sides are the Nomatic Travel Bag 40L (21 x 14 x 9 in), the tomtoc 40L (20.5 x 13 x 9 in) and the Osprey Fairview 40 (21.3 x 13.8 x 9 in). The Osprey Farpoint 40 (21 x 15 x 10 in) and the High Sierra Freewheel Pro (21.6 x 15.6 x 10 in) are over on both width and depth, and the Hynes Eagle 40L is 0.8 in over on depth.

Will a 40L backpack fit in a sizer?

If its published dimensions are inside the frame, yes. If they are over and the bag is soft, it depends on how full it is — a half-packed clamshell squashes into a frame a stuffed one will not. Rigid wheeled bags get no such break, which is why the wheeled 40L in our roundups is the one most likely to be refused despite having the same capacity.

Do airlines check the size of a backpack?

Rarely on the US majors, where a soft bag that obviously fits the bin is waved through. Routinely on European budget carriers, which measure as policy: Ryanair's priority cabin bag is 55 x 40 x 20 cm and easyJet's large cabin bag is 56 x 45 x 25 cm, both enforced at a frame. Lufthansa publishes 55 x 40 x 23 cm and an 8 kg cabin weight limit.

Is 40L enough for a carry-on-only trip?

For most people, yes — 40 liters is a week of clothes packed in cubes, or two weeks with a laundry stop. Many one-bag travelers end up preferring 35L because the smaller bag is easier at a gate and harder to overpack. Our size guide works through the decision by trip length and season rather than by liters alone.

Sources

Keep reading