Passage & Pier

Nomatic Travel Bag 40L vs Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L

Two premium organization-first packs at similar money. One is level with the carry-on box on every dimension; the other is half an inch over before you expand it. That is the whole decision, and we show the numbers.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we choose

The verdict

Buy the Nomatic Travel Bag 40L if the bag has to fly as a carry-on. Nomatic publishes 21 x 14 x 9 in — inside the 22 x 14 x 9 in box American, Delta, United, JetBlue and Alaska all print, on all three dimensions — at 3.42 lb empty, with a 16-inch laptop section, duffel-or-backpack carry and a lifetime warranty. It is for the traveler who lives out of the bag on work trips and wants no argument at the gate.

Buy the Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L if you need one bag to cover a weekend and a two-week trip and you accept checking it on the way home. It is three bags in one — 30L cinched, 35L standard, 45L expanded — with rear, front, side and top access and the best materials here. It is also 4.5 lb empty and published at 9.5 in deep in standard mode, half an inch over the box, rising to 11 in expanded, which is not a carry-on anywhere.

And the answer for a lot of people is neither. Both of these are organization bags, and neither states a padded load-bearing hip belt. If you walk any real distance with a loaded pack, the Osprey Farpoint 40 costs less than both and is the only one of the three built to put the weight on your hips.

These two get compared constantly and for a good reason: they are the two premium one-bag packs that lead with organization rather than carry comfort, they cost roughly similar money, and they are both bought by the same person — someone who travels with a laptop, a camera or a lot of cables and wants everything in a known pocket rather than at the bottom of a sack.

They are also a genuinely close call on build. Both makers publish full specifications, both back the bag with a lifetime warranty, and both are made of materials you can look up. That is rarer than it should be, and it means this comparison can be settled on published figures instead of vibes. We have not flown either bag; everything below comes from what Nomatic and Peak Design state about their own products, read on the dates listed in the sources at the foot of this page.

The decision comes down to one dimension and one part. The dimension is depth, which is what airlines measure most reliably and where these two bags differ by half an inch that matters. The part is the hip belt, which neither bag really has, and which is why we have put a third pack on this page.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which bag we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on capacity, carry-on fit and who each bag actually suits. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not flown every one of these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductExternal dimensionsWeight (empty)CapacityLaptop sleeveWarrantyBest forPrice
1
Nomatic Travel Bag 40L (Convertible)

Nomatic Travel Bag 40L (Convertible)

The organized traveler's tech bag. Converts between duffel and backpack, opens like a suitcase, and is riddled with structured compartments and a separate laptop/tablet section. Heavy and expensive for its volume — you're paying for organization and build, not lightness.

21 x 14 x 9 in3.42 lb40 L16 inNomatic lifetime warrantyBest for carry-on certainty
$329.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L

Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L

The most completely engineered bag on this site, and the one whose numbers you should read twice. It genuinely is three bags — 30L cinched down, 35L standard, 45L expanded — with rear, front, side and top access and a lifetime warranty behind it. It is also 4.5 lb empty and published at 9.5 in deep before you expand it, which is half an inch over the box every US carrier prints on its sizer.

22 x 13 x 9.5 in (11 in deep expanded)4.5 lb45 L16 inPeak Design lifetime warrantyBest if the bag has to change size
$299.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

The default answer to 'best carry-on travel backpack,' and it earns it: a 40L clamshell that opens flat like a suitcase, a real hip belt that moves the load off your shoulders, and Osprey's all-mighty warranty behind it. At 40L it sits right at the carry-on ceiling — great if you pack full, worth measuring against a strict European carrier.

21 x 15 x 10 in3.1 lb40 L15 inOsprey All Mighty GuaranteeBuy this instead if you walk with it
$199.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Specs read from each product’s own Amazon listing as of September 3, 2026; prices as of October 5, 2026, refreshed daily. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure — we print that rather than an estimate.

The picks in full

#1Best for carry-on certainty

Nomatic Travel Bag 40L (Convertible)

The organized traveler's tech bag. Converts between duffel and backpack, opens like a suitcase, and is riddled with structured compartments and a separate laptop/tablet section. Heavy and expensive for its volume — you're paying for organization and build, not lightness.

Strengths

  • Carries as a backpack or a duffel without changing how it packs
  • Dedicated, well-padded tech compartment
  • Serious build quality and structure

Trade-offs

  • Heavy empty — the structure and hardware add up
  • Premium price, and a fixed 40L that runs right at the carry-on limit
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)3.42 lb
External dimensions21 x 14 x 9 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve16 in
MaterialWater-resistant polyester/nylon
WarrantyNomatic lifetime warranty

Fit note. This is a fixed 40L, not an expandable — Nomatic sells the 30L as a separate bag, and the model that expands is the Travel Pack (20L to 30L). Nomatic's published 21 x 14 x 9 in sits right at the standard 22 x 14 x 9 limit, and a structured bag has no give at a sizer, so re-check it against your carrier.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best if the bag has to change size

Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L

The most completely engineered bag on this site, and the one whose numbers you should read twice. It genuinely is three bags — 30L cinched down, 35L standard, 45L expanded — with rear, front, side and top access and a lifetime warranty behind it. It is also 4.5 lb empty and published at 9.5 in deep before you expand it, which is half an inch over the box every US carrier prints on its sizer.

Strengths

  • Publishes every number that matters — 22 x 13 x 9.5 in, 4.5 lb, a 16 in laptop sleeve and a recycled 400D shell — so the fit math is checkable before you buy
  • Three usable sizes in one bag: cinched to 30L, 35L as standard, 45L expanded for the trip home
  • Rear, front, side and top access, so nothing is ever buried, plus Peak Design's lifetime warranty on failures that stop the bag working

Trade-offs

  • 4.5 lb empty — the heaviest bag we cover that doesn't have wheels, and nearly a third of a 7 kg cabin allowance gone before you pack
  • Published at 9.5 in deep in standard mode against a 9 in limit, and 11 in expanded, which is not a carry-on on any airline
  • Several times the price of a competent budget 40L, and the packing cubes, camera cubes and pouches the layout is designed around are all sold separately
Capacity45 L
Weight (empty)4.5 lb
External dimensions22 x 13 x 9.5 in (11 in deep expanded)
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve16 in
MaterialWeatherproof 100% recycled 400D nylon shell with a 900D bottom liner
WarrantyPeak Design lifetime warranty

Fit note. Read the two dimensions that move. Width is the good news: 13 in against a 14 in limit, where much of the 40L field runs 15 in and gets stopped on a narrow sizer. Depth is the bad news: 9.5 in standard is half an inch over the 22 x 14 x 9 in box, and the 45L mode adds another inch and a half to exactly the dimension airlines measure most reliably. Fly out in standard mode, expand on the way home, and treat the expanded bag as checked.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Buy this instead if you walk with it

Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

The default answer to 'best carry-on travel backpack,' and it earns it: a 40L clamshell that opens flat like a suitcase, a real hip belt that moves the load off your shoulders, and Osprey's all-mighty warranty behind it. At 40L it sits right at the carry-on ceiling — great if you pack full, worth measuring against a strict European carrier.

Strengths

  • Clamshell opens flat so you pack it like a suitcase, not a stuff sack
  • Proper padded hip belt actually transfers weight off the shoulders
  • Backed by Osprey's All Mighty Guarantee — they repair or replace it

Trade-offs

  • At 40L it runs right at the carry-on limit; overpack it and strict carriers push back
  • Premium price versus the budget 40L crowd
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)3.1 lb
External dimensions21 x 15 x 10 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve15 in
MaterialNylon ripstop
WarrantyOsprey All Mighty Guarantee

Fit note. 40L is the most a soft carry-on backpack can hold before it starts failing strict sizers when full. On generous US carriers it clears; on a strict 40x20x25cm European budget limit, packed full it can get flagged. Check your carrier's number on our size guide before you count on it.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

The dimension that decides it

Put the two published figures next to the box every major US carrier prints on its sizer, 22 x 14 x 9 in:

  • Nomatic Travel Bag 40L — 21 x 14 x 9 in. One inch under on height, level on width, level on depth. Nothing is over.
  • Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L — 22 x 13 x 9.5 in standard, 11 in deep expanded. Level on height, a full inch under on width — which is genuinely good, because width is where a lot of the 40L field runs 15 in and gets stopped — and half an inch over on depth before you touch the expansion zip.

Half an inch sounds like nothing, and in a bin it is nothing. At a rigid sizer it is the difference between walking through and being asked to try. Peak Design is not hiding this: the brand describes the 35L standard mode as the maximum carry-on configuration, and the 45L mode exists for the journey where the bag gets checked. Our Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L review works through that math in full.

There is a second-order point in the Nomatic’s favor and against it at the same time. It is structured: a rigid, compartmentalized body with no give. A soft bag that is nominally over a limit frequently squashes into a sizer; a structured bag at exactly the limit does not squash, so it has to actually fit. Nomatic’s numbers do fit, but there is no margin in them, which means an overfilled front pocket is the failure mode to watch rather than the shell.

Weight, and the allowance you cannot see

Nomatic publishes 3.42 lb. Peak Design publishes 4.5 lb. On a US carrier that does not weigh cabin bags, that difference is a pound you carry and nothing more. On Emirates or Qantas, where Economy caps the cabin bag at 7 kg including the bag itself, 4.5 lb is about 29 percent of the allowance gone before a single shirt goes in, against about 22 percent for the Nomatic. That is roughly a kilo and a half of clothes, which is a lot on a one-bag trip.

Neither bag is light in absolute terms. Both spend their weight on structure and hardware rather than on a frame and a harness, which is the recurring theme of this comparison: these are bags optimized for being organized and opened, not for being carried. For context, the Osprey Farpoint 40 on this page is 3.1 lb with a frame and a padded belt, and the tomtoc 40L is 2.65 lb. The carrier-by-carrier weight figures are in carry-on weight limits.

How you get into them, which is the real difference in daily use

The Nomatic opens like a suitcase and converts between duffel and backpack carry without repacking, and its interior is a grid of structured compartments with a separate, well-padded laptop and tablet section. The idea is that every object has one home. If you are the kind of traveler who knows which pocket the charger lives in, this is designed for you; if you pack in cubes and like one big space, you are paying for structure you will not use.

The Peak Designopens four ways — rear, front, both sides and the top — so nothing is ever buried regardless of how you packed it. That is the best access of anything we cover, and it is the single strongest argument for the bag. The catch is that the layout is designed around Peak Design’s own packing cubes, camera cubes and pouches, and all of those are sold separately. Budget for them or the interior is emptier than the marketing photos suggest.

Both state a 16-inch laptop sleeve, so neither is an option if your laptop is 17 inches — that market is covered on best travel backpacks for a 17-inch laptop, and it is almost entirely budget brands.

Materials and warranty, read properly

Peak Design publishes the more detailed specification: a weatherproof 100 percent recycled 400D nylon shell over a 900D waterproof bottom liner, anodized aluminum and glass-reinforced nylon hardware. Nomatic publishes a water-resistant polyester and nylon construction and a reputation for structure and hardware quality. On the fabric spec sheet, Peak Design wins on disclosure.

Both offer a lifetime warranty, and this is where reading the terms is worth two minutes. Peak Design’s own warranty page covers manufacturing defects and failures or breakages that render part or all of the product non-functional, and explicitly excludes cosmetic wear, misuse, Factory 2nds and anything bought on a secondhand marketplace or auction site. That is a normal, reasonable set of exclusions — and it means a scuffed shell or a frayed strap edge is yours to live with. Nomatic states a lifetime warranty on the bag. Osprey’s All Mighty Guarantee, for comparison, is a repair-or-replace commitment with no time limit on any product from any era, which is the most generous policy of the three. What a warranty is actually worth over years of use is the subject of how long travel backpacks last.

Why there is a third bag on this page

Because neither of these two states a padded, load-bearing hip belt. Peak Design sells a hip belt for its Travel Backpacks as a separate accessory and states that the pack has no frame; Nomatic’s published specification does not include one. Both are therefore shoulder-carry bags, which is entirely fine for airport-to-hotel travel and increasingly unpleasant above about 15 lb over a long walk.

The Osprey Farpoint 40 costs less than either, weighs 3.1 lb, and has a padded belt anchored to a structured back panel that moves weight onto your pelvis — plus the best warranty of the three. What you give up is organization (it is one big clamshell, and you will want packing cubes), the laptop sleeve drops to 15 in, and its published 21 x 15 x 10 in is wide and deep enough that a strict European sizer is a real risk. That is a genuine trade, not a free upgrade. The whole field of bags with a real belt is on best travel backpacks with a hip belt.

Buy rules, stated flatly

  • You fly carriers that use a rigid sizer, and the bag must come in the cabin. Nomatic. It is the only one of the three with no dimension over the limit.
  • Your trips range from two nights to two weeks and you will check a bag. Peak Design. 30L to 45L in one shell is a real capability nothing else here has.
  • You walk more than ten minutes with the bag loaded. Osprey Farpoint 40, or another bag with a belt. Neither premium pack solves this and no amount of organization compensates.
  • You shoot photos and own Peak Design cubes already. Peak Design. The four-way access and the cube ecosystem are the entire point of that bag.
  • Your laptop is 17 inches. Neither. Both state 16 in.
  • Weight is capped at 7 kg on your route. Nomatic over Peak Design, by about a pound of empty bag.

What we did not test

Everything above is read from what the two makers publish about their own products, plus the airline pages cited below. We do not own either bag, we have not flown them, and there is no score on this page because a number would make spec-reading look like testing. Where a figure is contested or conditional — the Peak Design’s depth in its three modes, the Nomatic’s lack of give at a sizer — we have said so rather than rounding it away. Our full method is in how we choose.

Frequently asked questions

Nomatic Travel Bag 40L or Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L — which should I buy?

Buy the Nomatic if the bag has to be a carry-on: Nomatic publishes 21 x 14 x 9 in, inside the standard 22 x 14 x 9 in box on all three dimensions, at 3.42 lb. Buy the Peak Design if you need one bag that covers a weekend and a two-week trip and you will check it expanded: it runs 30L cinched, 35L standard and 45L expanded, with four-way access and the better published materials, at 4.5 lb and 9.5 in deep in standard mode.

Is the Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L a carry-on?

In standard mode it is borderline and in expanded mode it is not. Peak Design publishes 22 x 13 x 9.5 in standard — half an inch over the 9 in depth that American, Delta, United, JetBlue and Alaska all print — and 11 in deep expanded, which is over the limit everywhere. Peak Design itself describes the 35L standard configuration as the maximum carry-on size. Fly out in standard mode and plan on checking it if you expand it.

Which is lighter, the Nomatic 40L or the Peak Design 45L?

The Nomatic, by about a pound: 3.42 lb against 4.5 lb published empty. On airlines that do not weigh cabin bags that is a pound you carry. On Emirates or Qantas, where the Economy cabin allowance is 7 kg including the bag, the Peak Design uses roughly 29 percent of your allowance empty against the Nomatic's 22 percent.

Do either of them have a hip belt?

Not as sold. Peak Design offers a hip belt for its Travel Backpacks as a separate accessory and states that the pack has no frame; Nomatic's published specification does not include a hip belt. Both are shoulder-carry bags. If you will walk any distance with a loaded pack, the Osprey Farpoint 40 — cheaper than either — has a padded belt over a structured back panel and is the better buy.

Which has the better warranty?

Both offer a lifetime warranty, but the terms differ. Peak Design's own page covers manufacturing defects and failures that render the product non-functional, and excludes cosmetic wear, misuse, Factory 2nds and secondhand purchases. Nomatic states a lifetime warranty on the bag. Osprey's All Mighty Guarantee is the most generous of the three: repair or replace, any product, any era, with no time limit.

Does either take a 17-inch laptop?

No. Both state a 16-inch laptop sleeve, as do the Pacsafe Metrosafe X and the SwissGear Travel Tech Elite. A 17-inch machine rules out the premium end of the travel-pack market entirely — the 17 and 17.3-inch sleeve is almost exclusively a budget-brand specification.

Sources

Keep reading