Passage & Pier

How to Choose a Travel Backpack

Seven decisions, in the order they actually matter. Get the first two right and most of the market disappears; get them wrong and no amount of pockets will save the bag.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we choose

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which bag we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

There are hundreds of travel backpacks and about seven decisions. Most listings are built to make you think about the wrong ones first: pockets, colors, a USB port, a phrase like “flight approved” that no airline or agency has ever certified. This guide puts the decisions in order. The first two eliminate most of the market; the next three decide comfort; the last two decide how long the bag lasts. Work down the list and the right pack tends to pick itself.

If you want the answer to one decision in depth, each one links to the guide that covers it. If you want to see bags first and reasons second, the travel backpacks roundup applies exactly these criteria to every pick.

1. Capacity, checked against the box you will actually fly

Start with the airline, not the bag. The standard US carry-on allowance is 22 x 14 x 9 in; the European budget carriers publish far smaller free bags and a paid cabin bag around 55 x 40 x 20 cm; Emirates and Qantas cap the cabin bag at 7 kg including the pack itself. Those three numbers, your carrier’s box, its free-versus-paid split and its weight limit, decide the capacity before you look at a single product. TSA, for what it is worth, sets no size limit at all; the airline does.

With that in hand, the ranges are simple. 35 to 40L is the one-bag sweet spot: a week of clothes, and the most a soft pack can hold and still stand a fair chance at a sizer. 25 to 33L is the two-to-four-night and laptop-first range, and clears sizers with margin. Under 26L is where a pack can be a personal item. Over 45L is a checked bag with straps. The full decision by trip length and body size is in what size travel backpack you need.

One rule inside this rule: the liter figure is a claim; the external dimensions are the spec. Two 40L packs can measure an inch apart on the outside, and the outside is what the sizer sees. Where a maker publishes no dimensions, our spec tables say “Not published” rather than guess, and on a 40L bag that is a reason to keep looking. The airline-by-airline table is the carry-on size guide.

2. The opening: clamshell or top-loader

This is the line between a travel backpack and a hiking backpack, and it matters more than anything else on the list except capacity. A clamshell unzips around three sides and opens flat like a suitcase, so you pack it in layers with cubes and reach anything without unpacking the rest. A top-loader is a tube with a lid: you load it from the top and everything you need is under everything you do not. On a trail, the top-loader wins on load carry; in a hotel room on the fourth night, it is the bag you resent. The whole comparison is in travel backpack vs hiking backpack.

Between those two sit the convertible bags, which switch between backpack and duffel or shoulder carry, and the expandable packs, which zip out a bigger mode for the trip home. Both are clamshells at heart; the question is whether you will use the second mode. Our travel duffels and expandable packs roundups each cover one of them.

3. The harness, and your torso

A pack fits a torso length, not a height and not a gender. Measure from the bump at the base of your neck to the top of your hip bones; that number, usually 15 to 21 in, is what a harness is built for, and the two-minute method is in how to fit a travel backpack. “Women’s” packs like the Osprey Fairview are shorter-torso, narrower-strap versions of the same bag, and they suit anyone with that torso; the pick sets by harness are in travel backpacks for women and travel backpacks for men, with the carry-on-first versions in carry-on backpacks for women and carry-on backpacks for men.

Then decide on the hip belt. A load-bearing hip belt, padded and shaped rather than a webbing strap, moves weight off the shoulders and onto the hips, and it is the single biggest comfort difference between a premium 40L and a budget one. If the loaded bag will pass 15 lb and you will walk with it, you want one. If the bag is a 25L laptop carry between a taxi and a lobby, you do not, and paying for one is wasted.

4. The laptop sleeve, by published size

If a laptop is coming, the sleeve has two requirements: a published size at least as large as the machine, and a position against the back panel, suspended off the bottom of the bag so a set-down does not land on the laptop’s corner. A 15 in sleeve and a 16 in laptop is not a compromise; it is a bag you will end up carrying the laptop outside of. Sleeve size is the first filter on our laptop travel backpacks and business travel backpacks pages, and it is the reason the tomtoc below, with a published 17.3 in sleeve, keeps appearing on both.

5. Weight, only if it is published

Empty weight is irrelevant on most US domestic flights, where no cabin weight limit exists, and decisive on a 7 kg or 8 kg carrier, where the bag is part of the allowance. A 2.2 lb pack takes 14% of a 7 kg limit; a 4.5 lb pack takes 29%. Decide which kind of flying you do, then rank accordingly; our lightweight travel backpacks page ranks only on published figures, and the carriers that weigh are listed in carry-on weight limits by airline. The general rule: weight comes out of the frame, the padding and the fabric, so the lightest packs are the least comfortable under a heavy load and the least durable. That is a fair trade for an occasional traveler and a poor one for a frequent one.

6. Fabric and hardware the maker will name

You do not need to become a textile expert. You need the maker to state something. A denier figure (400D, 840D, 1680D), a named zipper brand, a water-resistance claim with a coating named: these are signs of a product the maker expects to be judged on. “Premium durable material” is not. Higher denier is heavier and tougher; lower denier with a good weave is lighter and usually fine for a bag that lives in bins and hotel rooms rather than on rock. Zippers fail before fabric does on almost every pack, so a named zipper is the more useful of the two lines.

7. Warranty, read for what it excludes

A lifetime warranty is the cheapest insurance you will ever buy on a bag, and the difference between the premium tier and the budget one is often this line alone. Osprey’s All Mighty Guarantee and Cotopaxi’s Guaranteed for Good are the two we cite most; both repair or replace for the life of the product. Read the exclusions: airline damage and normal wear are usually out. A budget pack with no warranty is a few-years bag, and it is priced like one. Decide how many trips a year it will do and whether that math works.

What to ignore

  • “Flight approved” and “TSA approved”.No airline or agency certifies backpacks. The only test is your carrier’s published numbers against the bag’s published numbers.
  • The USB port. It is a cable routed through the fabric. The power bank you plug into it does the charging, and the rules on the bank matter more than the port.
  • Pocket count. Organization comes from packing cubes, which you can move between bags. A pack with eleven pockets is a pack with eleven places to lose a passport.
  • “Anti-theft” without a spec. On most listings it means a hidden back pocket. Slash-resistant fabric and locking zippers are a different, named thing; the difference is in the anti-theft roundup.

Four packs that pass every check

Applying the seven decisions to our registry leaves a short list. These four are not the only good bags, but each passes the checks above with a published figure on every line that matters, and each answers a different version of the question.

#1The default: 40L clamshell, real hip belt, lifetime guarantee

Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

The default answer to 'best carry-on travel backpack,' and it earns it: a 40L clamshell that opens flat like a suitcase, a real hip belt that moves the load off your shoulders, and Osprey's all-mighty warranty behind it. At 40L it sits right at the carry-on ceiling — great if you pack full, worth measuring against a strict European carrier.

Strengths

  • Clamshell opens flat so you pack it like a suitcase, not a stuff sack
  • Proper padded hip belt actually transfers weight off the shoulders
  • Backed by Osprey's All Mighty Guarantee — they repair or replace it

Trade-offs

  • At 40L it runs right at the carry-on limit; overpack it and strict carriers push back
  • Premium price versus the budget 40L crowd
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)3.1 lb
External dimensions21 x 15 x 10 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve15 in
MaterialNylon ripstop
WarrantyOsprey All Mighty Guarantee

Fit note. 40L is the most a soft carry-on backpack can hold before it starts failing strict sizers when full. On generous US carriers it clears; on a strict 40x20x25cm European budget limit, packed full it can get flagged. Check your carrier's number on our size guide before you count on it.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2The value pick: structured 40L, 17.3 in sleeve, 2.65 lb

tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L Travel Backpack

A lot of well-built 40L for the money. A structured clamshell with a protective laptop compartment and a lifetime warranty that undercuts the premium brands by a wide margin. The trade-off is a simpler harness — fine for airport-to-hotel, less so for long walks under load.

Strengths

  • Structured clamshell and a well-padded laptop compartment
  • Lifetime warranty at a mid-tier price
  • Clean, business-appropriate looks

Trade-offs

  • Simpler hip belt and back panel than an Osprey — less comfortable under a heavy load
  • At 40L, the same strict-carrier caveat applies when packed full
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)2.65 lb
External dimensions20.5 x 13 x 9 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve17.3 in
MaterialRecycled 1680D PET fabric, YKK zippers
Warranty1-year (2-year with registration)

Fit note. The tomtoc's strength is protective tech carry at a mid price; its weakness is the suspension. If you'll walk far with it loaded, budget for the comfort gap versus a hip-belted Osprey.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3The sizer-proof pick: 20.9 x 13 x 7 in published

Peak Design Travel Backpack 30L

The 45L's build in a bag that actually clears the sizer. Peak Design publishes 20.9 x 13 x 7 in — inside the 22 x 14 x 9 in box on all three dimensions, with the depth still under 8 in expanded — so the half-inch argument that follows the 45L around does not apply here. The trade is capacity and weight: 27L standard, 33L expanded, and 3.17 lb empty, which is more than an Osprey Farpoint 40 weighs for ten fewer liters. The hip belt is an accessory, not in the box.

Strengths

  • Published at 20.9 x 13 x 7 in standard and 7.9 in deep expanded — the only Peak Design travel pack that is inside the standard carry-on box in every mode
  • A 16 in laptop sleeve (published max 16 x 11 x 1 in) plus a 10 in tablet sleeve, in a rear-loading clamshell that opens flat
  • The same weatherproof recycled 400D shell, 900D bottom liner, metal hardware and lifetime warranty as the 45L, at 1.33 lb less

Trade-offs

  • 3.17 lb empty for 27-33L — heavier than the Osprey Farpoint 40 (3.1 lb, 40L) and the Cotopaxi Allpa 35L (2.94 lb), so per liter it is one of the heaviest packs we cover
  • No hip belt in the box and no frame: the hip belt is a separate accessory, and the load rides on the shoulders
  • At 20.9 in tall it is a carry-on, not a personal item, on every major carrier — and a premium price for a bag that holds four to five days of clothes
Capacity30 L
Weight (empty)3.17 lb
External dimensions20.9 x 13 x 7 in (7.9 in deep expanded)
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on compliant
Laptop sleeve16 in
MaterialWeatherproof 100% recycled 400D nylon Versa Shell with a 900D waterproof bottom liner
WarrantyPeak Design lifetime warranty

Fit note. Peak Design publishes 53 x 33 x 18 cm (20.9 x 13 x 7 in) standard and 53 x 33 x 20 cm (20.9 x 13 x 7.9 in) expanded. Against a 22 x 14 x 9 in box that is 1.1 in under on height, an inch under on width and two inches under on depth — expanded, still more than an inch under on depth. It fits Ryanair's 55 x 40 x 20 cm priority bag in both modes (level on depth expanded) and Lufthansa's 55 x 40 x 23 cm. It is not a personal item anywhere: 20.9 in tall against United's 17 in and American's 18 in. The 30L in the name is the marketing figure; the published capacity is 27L standard and 33L expanded.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 17, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4The budget pick: 40L clamshell with a hip belt at 2.2 lb

Hynes Eagle 40L Flight-Approved Carry-On Backpack

The perennial budget one-bag pick. A 40L clamshell with a real hip belt for a fraction of the premium price — genuinely capable for the money. You give up refinement and long-term durability, but for occasional trips it punches far above its cost.

Strengths

  • 40L clamshell with a hip belt at a budget price
  • Compression straps to cinch a light load down to size
  • A frequent recommendation in one-bag communities

Trade-offs

  • Materials and zippers aren't built for years of hard use
  • No premium warranty to fall back on
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)2.2 lb
External dimensions20.1 x 13.4 x 9.8 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve15.6 in
MaterialWater-repellent polyester
WarrantyNot published

Fit note. A capable 40L for the price. Treat it as a few-years bag rather than a buy-it-for-life pack, and the value is hard to argue with. Same 40L strict-carrier caveat applies.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

The Farpoint 40 is the answer when you do not want to think further: every line above is covered, and the one thing to check is its 21 x 15 x 10 in against a strict European carrier. The tomtoc is the same brief for a good deal less money, with a simpler harness and the biggest laptop sleeve of the four. The Peak Design 30L is for the traveler whose first decision was “clear every sizer”: it publishes dimensions inside the box in every mode, at the cost of capacity and weight. The Hynes Eagle is what a budget 40L looks like when it still gets the opening and the hip belt right, and it comes with no warranty to fall back on.

The order, one more time

  1. Capacity, from your airline’s box and weight limit, not from the listing.
  2. Clamshell, unless you know why you want a top-loader.
  3. A harness for your torso length, with a hip belt if the load will pass 15 lb.
  4. A laptop sleeve with a published size at least as large as your laptop.
  5. A published weight, if your carriers weigh bags.
  6. A fabric and a zipper the maker is willing to name.
  7. A warranty, read for its exclusions.

Everything else is preference. This is the same method behind every roundup on the site, set out in full in how we choose, including what we do not claim: we do not own a lab, and we do not pretend to have tested bags we have not.

Frequently asked questions

What should I look for in a travel backpack?

In order: a capacity of 35 to 40L for carry-on travel, with published external dimensions inside your airline's box; a clamshell opening so it packs like a suitcase; a harness that matches your torso length, with a real hip belt if you will carry more than about 15 lb; a laptop sleeve at least as large as your laptop; a published empty weight you can subtract from a cabin allowance; a fabric and zipper spec the maker is willing to state; and a warranty. Pockets, colors and USB ports come last.

What are the types of travel backpacks?

Four, by how they open and carry. Clamshell travel packs open flat like a suitcase and are the default for one-bag travel. Top-loading hiking packs load from the top under a lid and carry heavy loads well but pack badly for cities. Convertible bags switch between backpack and duffel or shoulder carry. Expandable packs have a zip-out volume for the trip home. Wheeled backpacks add a trolley handle at a large weight cost.

What size travel backpack should I choose?

35 to 40L for carry-on travel of any length beyond a weekend, 25 to 33L for two- to four-night trips or laptop-first travel, and under 26L if the bag must be a personal item. Above 45L you are choosing a checked bag. The liter figure is a manufacturer's claim; the published external dimensions against your airline's box are what actually decide it.

Is a more expensive travel backpack worth it?

It buys three things reliably: a load-bearing hip belt, a build backed by a lifetime warranty, and published specifications you can check. For occasional trips, a budget 40L clamshell covers the essentials for a fraction of the price. Pay more if you travel often, walk far with the bag, or fly carriers that measure and weigh.

Do I need a hip belt on a travel backpack?

If the loaded bag will weigh more than about 15 lb and you will walk more than a few minutes with it, yes. A hip belt moves weight from the shoulders to the hips, which is what makes 20 lb comfortable. For a 25L laptop bag between taxis, no; for a full 40L across a city, it is the single biggest comfort difference between packs.

Sources

Keep reading