Because it costs the manufacturer about the price of a sandwich and lets the listing say “charging backpack.” There is no battery inside. The USB socket on the strap or the side panel is a pass-through: it is wired to a short cable that dangles inside the main compartment, and you plug your own power bank into that. All the port does is route the cable so you are not threading one out through a half-open zip. That is the honest sum of the feature, and the better brands say it out loud — SwissGear states plainly that the battery pack is not included with its USB ScanSmart packs.
Which sounds like a debunking, and is not quite. Once you know what it is, a pass-through is actually the right design for a bag that flies, for a reason most people never think about. The rest of this page is what the feature does, why brands fit it, the three catches, and the regulatory accident that makes it better than the alternative.
What the port physically is
Open any bag that advertises one and you will find the same three parts:
- An external socket, almost always USB-A, grommeted into the shoulder strap or a side panel.
- A short internal cable— the pigtail — running from the back of that socket into the main or laptop compartment, terminating in a USB-A male plug.
- Nothing else. No cell, no circuitry, no charge controller, no switch.
You plug the pigtail into your power bank, zip the bank into the bag, and plug your phone into the outside socket. Power runs bank → pigtail → socket → phone. The bag is a cable management accessory with a hole in it.
Why brands fit them anyway
Three reasons, in descending order of honesty.
- It genuinely solves a small annoyance. Charging on the move from a bank inside your bag normally means leaving a zip open with a cable snaking out of it, which catches on things and exposes the compartment. The pass-through tidies that up. If you commute and charge, you will use it.
- It is nearly free to add.A grommet, a socket and a pigtail cost a few dollars at manufacturing volume and need no certification, no battery safety testing and no shipping restrictions — which is precisely why the feature appears on bags that cost forty dollars.
- It photographs and keywords beautifully.“USB charging backpack” is a search term. A socket in a product photo reads as technology. This is the main reason the feature is everywhere, and it is why you should discount it to zero when comparing bags.
The three catches
1. No battery, so no capacity
You still have to buy, carry and charge a power bank. The bag has added a feature and no capability. If a listing is vague about this, treat the silence as a no — and if a listing implies a battery is included, read the specification twice before you pay for it.
2. Phone power only
These are USB-A sockets on simple cables, designed around phone charging. A modern laptop wants USB-C Power Delivery at 45 W and up, and nothing about a pass-through grommet is specified for that. If you need to charge a laptop from a bank, plug into the bank’s own USB-C port directly and skip the bag entirely. Our electronics packing guide covers how to lay a tech kit out so that is easy.
3. The pigtail is a wear item
It is the most-flexed component in the bag and it is usually the first thing to fail. It is also the part least likely to be covered by a warranty, because a cable reads as an accessory rather than a structural defect — worth checking against the actual terms. SwissGear, for instance, warrants its backpacks for three years, doubled to six when bought direct from its own site; the longer term you may have seen quoted applies to luggage and travel bags, not backpacks. Our lifespan guide quotes every warranty on this site verbatim.
The reason a pass-through beats a built-in battery
This is the part worth knowing, and it is a rule rather than an opinion. Power banks and spare lithium batteries must travel in the cabin: the TSA prohibits spare lithium batteries in checked baggage, and the FAA’s passenger battery guidance is the regulation behind it. Over roughly 100 watt-hours you need airline approval; over 160 Wh you generally cannot fly with it at all.
Now imagine a backpack with a battery sealed permanently inside it. Two ordinary travel situations become problems. First, you can never check that bag. Second — and this is the one that catches people — if your carry-on gets gate-checked for size, every battery has to come out of it before it goes down the jet bridge, and a non-removable one cannot. A pass-through bag has no such failure mode: the regulated object is your power bank, which lives in your pocket or your personal item, and the bag itself is just fabric with a hole in it.
So the feature everyone treats as a disappointment is, for air travel specifically, the correct engineering decision. Our power bank guide has the full watt-hour math, and the gate-check guide covers what has to come out of a bag before it is taken.
How to judge a bag that has one
Ignore the port. Judge everything else, in this order: the three published external dimensions against your airline’s box, the empty weight, the stated laptop sleeve size, and the warranty term in the maker’s own words. A port is a tiebreaker between two bags you already like. It is never a reason to pick the worse bag, and it is never worth a price premium, because the part is cheap and the feature is identical on every bag that has it.
The three packs in our registry whose maker states a port
Having set out what to look for, here are the picks — chosen because each one’s own listing or spec sheet states the pass-through, not because a photo showed a socket. Prices come from the live price layer with the date they were read.
#1The one whose maker states the battery is not included
SwissGear Travel Tech Elite USB ScanSmart Laptop Backpack
The only bag on our shoe-compartment list from a brand that publishes a full spec sheet and a warranty you can read before you buy. SwissGear's own page gives 31.4L, 18 x 11.5 x 7 in and 3 lb, and describes the shoe storage precisely: an internal zippered shoe bag with side access, so the shoes come out from the flank without opening the clothes. It is a work-trip bag, not a one-bag travel pack, and the 31.4L is the honest reason why.
Strengths
- +The brand publishes everything: 31.4L, 18 x 11.5 x 7 in, 3 lb, a 16 in laptop sleeve and an 11 x 8.5 in tablet pocket
- +Side-access internal zippered shoe bag — shoes come out without unpacking the main compartment
- +ScanSmart laptop section that lies flat for security, an add-a-bag trolley strap and an insulated side zip pocket
Trade-offs
- −31.4L is a two- to three-day bag; it will not replace a 35-40L one-bag pack
- −The shoe bag sits INSIDE the main compartment, so shoes borrow clothes volume rather than adding any
- −The USB outlet is a pass-through only — SwissGear states the battery pack is not included
- −The Amazon listing advertises a 5-year warranty in its headline and a 10-year one in its body; SwissGear's own warranty page puts BACKPACKS at 3 years (6 if bought direct), and 5/10 years are the terms for its luggage line
| Capacity | 31.4 L |
|---|
| Weight (empty) | 3 lb |
|---|
| External dimensions | 18 x 11.5 x 7 in |
|---|
| Carry-on fit (our read) | Carry-on compliant |
|---|
| Laptop sleeve | 16 in |
|---|
| Material | Polyester with small ripstop |
|---|
| Warranty | 3-year limited warranty; 6 years if bought direct from SwissGear |
|---|
Fit note. SwissGear's wording for the shoe storage is exact: an "internal zippered shoe bag with side access". That is a panel inside the main compartment that unzips into a side-opening pocket, which is why a packed pair reduces the space available for clothes. The size is the thing to check against your route: 18 x 11.5 x 7 in is comfortably inside a 22 x 14 x 9 in carry-on box, and it is level with the 18 in length American, Spirit and Frontier publish for a personal item while sitting an inch over JetBlue's and United's 17 in. Treat it as a carry-on that sometimes flies free, not as a guaranteed free bag.
Specs read from the product listing, on October 1, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.
#2The budget default: port, hidden pocket and a luggage sleeve
MATEIN Travel Laptop Backpack (Anti-Theft)
One of Amazon's best-selling laptop backpacks for a reason: it's a cheap, sensible personal-item bag with a hidden back pocket, a USB pass-through and a luggage sleeve. Not a travel 'system,' just a reliable day-and-commute bag that flies well as your second item.
Strengths
- +Hidden anti-theft back pocket and lockable main zippers
- +USB pass-through and a padded 15.6" laptop sleeve
- +Luggage strap sleeve to stack it on a roller
Trade-offs
- −A commuter bag, not a one-bag travel pack
- −Budget materials — functional, not premium
| Capacity | Not published |
|---|
| Weight (empty) | Not published |
|---|
| External dimensions | Not published |
|---|
| Carry-on fit (our read) | Personal-item sized |
|---|
| Laptop sleeve | 15.6 in |
|---|
| Material | Not published |
|---|
| Warranty | Not published |
|---|
Fit note. 'Anti-theft' here means a concealed back pocket and lockable zippers — real deterrents for a day bag, not a slash-proof security pack. As a cheap personal item it's hard to beat.
Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.
#3The only full-size 40L carry-on here with a port
MATEIN 40L Expandable Carry-On Backpack
A very cheap, very high-volume expandable that a lot of people buy as their first travel backpack. It expands from a slim daypack to a full carry-on, which is useful — but the expanded size can push past strict sizers, so pack it deliberately.
Strengths
- +Expands from commuter-slim to full carry-on volume
- +USB pass-through and a padded laptop sleeve
- +About as cheap as a functional 40L gets
Trade-offs
- −Fully expanded it can exceed strict carry-on sizers
- −No hip belt worth the name — a shoulder-carry bag
| Capacity | 40 L |
|---|
| Weight (empty) | Not published |
|---|
| External dimensions | Not published |
|---|
| Carry-on fit (our read) | Convertible / expandable |
|---|
| Laptop sleeve | 17 in |
|---|
| Material | Not published |
|---|
| Warranty | Not published |
|---|
Fit note. The expansion zipper is the catch: slim, it's an easy personal item; fully expanded, it can breach a strict sizer. Pack to the trip, not to the zipper.
Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.
The SwissGear is the pick if you want the port attached to a bag worth owning: 31.4 liters at a published 18 x 11.5 x 7 in, which is inside every carry-on box we track with room to spare, 3 lb empty, a 16-inch ScanSmart laptop section and an add-a-bag trolley strap. The MATEIN laptop backpack is the honest budget answer — a sensible personal-item bag for commuting that flies well as a second item, not a travel system. The MATEIN 40L is the one to look at if you want a full carry-on rather than a day bag, with the caveat we make on its own review: it publishes neither dimensions nor empty weight, and its expandable section is the feature that quietly works against you at a sizer.
If the port is genuinely your deciding feature, our USB-charging roundupis the page for it — three picks, because only three bags in our registry state the feature and we would rather run a short list than pad one.
The honest limits of this answer
We have not opened these bags, measured current through their ports or tested a pigtail to failure. Everything above is the published feature set, the physical arrangement every pass-through design shares, and the TSA and FAA’s own current battery rules. If a specific bag claims an integrated battery, check it against those rules before you fly with it — and here is exactly how we choose what goes on a page like this.