Passage & Pier

Osprey Farpoint 40 vs Osprey Sojourn 45

The same brand and the same guarantee, on opposite sides of the carry-or-roll decision. One is 3.1 lb and published over the sizer on two dimensions; the other is published at the carry-on box exactly and weighs 7.93 lb empty.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we choose

The verdict

Buy the Osprey Farpoint 40 unless you have a specific reason to roll. It is 3.1 lb against the Sojourn’s 7.93 lb, it costs considerably less, it has a real load-transferring hip belt, and the five liters you give up are about a pair of shoes. It is for the traveler who walks from the station to the apartment and wants the bag on their back for that walk. Buy the Osprey Sojourn 45 if your trip has a long rolling leg— conference floors, airport transfers, a hotel-to-hotel itinerary on smooth ground — or if a shoulder or back problem makes carrying a loaded pack a non-starter. It is the only wheeled bag we cover whose harness Osprey builds as a real suspension rather than two courtesy straps.

The result that surprises people: the bigger, heavier Sojourn is the one whose published dimensions fit the standard carry-on box, and the lighter Farpoint is the one that does not. Osprey publishes 22 x 14 x 9 in for the Sojourn — the box American, Delta, United, JetBlue and Alaska all print, to the inch — and 21 x 15 x 10 in for the Farpoint, which is an inch over on width and an inch over on depth. The Farpoint is soft and squashes, which is why it clears gates every day; the Sojourn is rigid and never needs to.

These two get compared because they are one company’s two answers to the same trip. Both are built on the same idea — a travel bag that opens like a suitcase, covered by Osprey’s All Mighty Guarantee — and then they diverge completely on how the bag gets from the curb to the room. The Farpoint 40 is a 40L clamshell with a padded hip belt. The Sojourn 45 is a 45L wheeled case on 90 mm wheels and a rigid chassis, with a harness that zips away behind the back panel when you do not want it.

What makes this harder than the usual carry-versus-roll argument is that the wheeled bag here is not the compromise it normally is. It holds more, it is published to the inch of the US carry-on allowance, and its harness is genuinely load-bearing. What makes it easy again is the scale of the weight: 7.93 lb empty is the heaviest bag on this site, and 4.8 lb of that is wheels, chassis and handle you carry whether you use them or not.

Everything below comes from Osprey’s own published specs and the carriers’ own baggage pages, listed in Sources. We do not own either bag and have not flown them, so there is no score column and no durability verdict here — only the figures both makers publish and what they mean for a specific traveler.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which bag we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on capacity, carry-on fit and who each bag actually suits. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not flown every one of these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductCapacityWeight (empty)External dimensionsCarry-on fit (our read)Best forPrice
1
Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

The default answer to 'best carry-on travel backpack,' and it earns it: a 40L clamshell that opens flat like a suitcase, a real hip belt that moves the load off your shoulders, and Osprey's all-mighty warranty behind it. At 40L it sits right at the carry-on ceiling — great if you pack full, worth measuring against a strict European carrier.

40 L3.1 lb21 x 15 x 10 inCarry-on (check strict carriers)Best overall: carry it
$199.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Osprey Sojourn 22"/45L Wheeled Travel Pack

Osprey Sojourn 22"/45L Wheeled Travel Pack

The only bag in this category that takes the backpack half seriously. The harness, backpanel and hip belt stow behind a zip and deploy into something close to a real Osprey suspension, and Osprey publishes 22 x 14 x 9 in — the standard US carry-on box exactly. You pay for that twice: in money, and in 7.93 lb of empty weight you carry before a single shirt goes in.

45 L7.93 lb22 x 14 x 9 inCarry-on (check strict carriers)Best if you need wheels and a real harness
$430.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
High Sierra Freewheel Wheeled Backpack

High Sierra Freewheel Wheeled Backpack

The one on this page we would actually buy for most trips. High Sierra publishes 19.5 x 13.5 x 8 in, which sits inside the 22 x 14 x 9 box every major US carrier uses with room on all three dimensions — rare enough among wheeled bags to be the reason it is here. It is a 34L commuter-and-campus roller rather than a travel system, and it is priced accordingly.

34 L5.5 lb19.5 x 13.5 x 8 inCarry-on compliantBest budget alternative to the Sojourn
$79.15 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Specs read from each product’s own Amazon listing as of August 25, 2026; prices as of October 10, 2026, refreshed daily. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure — we print that rather than an estimate.

The picks in full

#1Best overall: carry it

Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

The default answer to 'best carry-on travel backpack,' and it earns it: a 40L clamshell that opens flat like a suitcase, a real hip belt that moves the load off your shoulders, and Osprey's all-mighty warranty behind it. At 40L it sits right at the carry-on ceiling — great if you pack full, worth measuring against a strict European carrier.

Strengths

  • Clamshell opens flat so you pack it like a suitcase, not a stuff sack
  • Proper padded hip belt actually transfers weight off the shoulders
  • Backed by Osprey's All Mighty Guarantee — they repair or replace it

Trade-offs

  • At 40L it runs right at the carry-on limit; overpack it and strict carriers push back
  • Premium price versus the budget 40L crowd
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)3.1 lb
External dimensions21 x 15 x 10 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve15 in
MaterialNylon ripstop
WarrantyOsprey All Mighty Guarantee

Fit note. 40L is the most a soft carry-on backpack can hold before it starts failing strict sizers when full. On generous US carriers it clears; on a strict 40x20x25cm European budget limit, packed full it can get flagged. Check your carrier's number on our size guide before you count on it.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best if you need wheels and a real harness

Osprey Sojourn 22"/45L Wheeled Travel Pack

The only bag in this category that takes the backpack half seriously. The harness, backpanel and hip belt stow behind a zip and deploy into something close to a real Osprey suspension, and Osprey publishes 22 x 14 x 9 in — the standard US carry-on box exactly. You pay for that twice: in money, and in 7.93 lb of empty weight you carry before a single shirt goes in.

Strengths

  • Stowaway harness, backpanel and padded hip belt — a real suspension, not two courtesy straps
  • Published at 22 x 14 x 9 in, which is the standard US carry-on allowance to the inch
  • Oversized 90 mm wheels on a rigid chassis, and Osprey's All Mighty Guarantee behind the whole bag

Trade-offs

  • 7.93 lb empty — more than a fifth of a 7 kg cabin allowance gone before you pack
  • Comfortably the most expensive bag on this page, and several times the price of the budget rollers
  • No published laptop sleeve, so the computer lives in your personal item
Capacity45 L
Weight (empty)7.93 lb
External dimensions22 x 14 x 9 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeveNot published
MaterialRecycled high-tenacity nylon and ballistic polyester
WarrantyOsprey All Mighty Guarantee

Fit note. Forty-five liters inside a 22 x 14 x 9 in shell is the whole trick: a rigid wheeled box uses the allowance more completely than a soft 40L pack does. The number to watch here is not size but weight — at 7.93 lb empty this is the heaviest bag we cover, which matters enormously on carriers that weigh cabin bags and not at all on the US majors that don't.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best budget alternative to the Sojourn

High Sierra Freewheel Wheeled Backpack

The one on this page we would actually buy for most trips. High Sierra publishes 19.5 x 13.5 x 8 in, which sits inside the 22 x 14 x 9 box every major US carrier uses with room on all three dimensions — rare enough among wheeled bags to be the reason it is here. It is a 34L commuter-and-campus roller rather than a travel system, and it is priced accordingly.

Strengths

  • 19.5 x 13.5 x 8 in published — inside the standard 22 x 14 x 9 in allowance on every dimension
  • Limited lifetime warranty, which nothing else near this price on this page offers
  • Padded 15-inch laptop sleeve, and the wheel housing keeps grit off the back panel when you wear it

Trade-offs

  • 5.5 lb empty for only 34 liters — the wheels cost you roughly two pounds against a plain 35L pack
  • The straps are for short carries: no frame, no hip belt, nothing to transfer load to your hips
  • The Amazon listing quotes a 20.5 in height where High Sierra's own spec page says 19.5 in
Capacity34 L
Weight (empty)5.5 lb
External dimensions19.5 x 13.5 x 8 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on compliant
Laptop sleeve15 in
MaterialPolyester
WarrantyHigh Sierra limited lifetime warranty

Fit note. The two published heights disagree: High Sierra states 19.5 in, the Amazon listing title says 20.5 in. Both clear the 22 in limit, so the discrepancy costs you nothing here — but it is a fair reminder to measure the bag you are handed rather than the bag in the listing photo.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

The numbers, side by side

Four published figures decide this, and all four are the makers’ own.

  • Capacity.Farpoint 40L, Sojourn 45L. Five liters is roughly a pair of shoes or a bulky sweater — real on a cold-weather trip, irrelevant in summer.
  • Published dimensions. Farpoint 21 x 15 x 10 in; Sojourn 22 x 14 x 9 in. The Sojourn is inside the standard US box on all three. The Farpoint is over on two of the three, which is the single most important thing comparisons of these bags tend not to mention.
  • Empty weight. Farpoint 3.1 lb, Sojourn 7.93 lb. The difference, 4.83 lb, is more than the entire empty weight of a budget 40L pack.
  • Laptop. Farpoint publishes a 15 in sleeve. Osprey publishes no laptop sleeve for the Sojourn at all, so on that bag the computer lives in your personal item.

Both carry the All Mighty Guarantee, Osprey’s any-product, any-era free-repair promise, so the warranty cancels out of this decision. So does the brand: whatever you think of Osprey’s build applies equally to both bags.

Why the heavier bag is the compliant one

A rigid wheeled case uses an airline allowance more completely than a soft pack does. The Sojourn is built to 22 x 14 x 9 in and holds that shape whether it is empty or stuffed, which is how Osprey fits 45 liters inside the box. The Farpoint has no frame, so its 40 liters bulge: packed hard it measures its published 15 in of width and 10 in of depth, and against a rigid sizer that is an inch over on each.

In practice this rarely bites on the US majors, because a soft bag that obviously fits the bin does not get measured. It bites on the carriers that measure as policy — the European budget airlines in particular, where Ryanair’s priority cabin bag is 55 x 40 x 20 cm and easyJet’s large cabin bag is 56 x 45 x 25 cm, both enforced at a frame. If your itinerary includes an intra-Europe hop, read our carry-on size guide before you count on a packed Farpoint, and measure the bag you own the way a gate agent would with how to measure a backpack.

Where the weight actually hurts

On the US majors, cabin bags are not weighed, so 7.93 lb costs you only your own comfort. Elsewhere it is a hard constraint. Emirates allows one Economy cabin bag of 7 kg (about 15.4 lb) and Qantas does the same on international Economy: the empty Sojourn is more than half that allowance before a shirt goes in, while the empty Farpoint is about a fifth of it. Lufthansa’s cabin allowance is 8 kg. On those carriers the Sojourn is a bag you must pack light, which argues against its own extra five liters.

Frontier is the friendliest combination for this bag: a 24 x 16 x 10 in box with a 35 lb limit, so the Sojourn fits with room and 7.93 lb still leaves 27 lb for clothes. Our carry-on weight limits guide has the carrier-by-carrier figures, and how much does a travel backpack weigh puts both of these bags on one table with every other published weight on the site.

The harness question, answered honestly

Most wheeled backpacks give you two shoulder straps sewn onto a hard case; they exist so the listing can say “backpack.” The Sojourn is the exception we have found: Osprey publishes a stowaway AirScape harness, backpanel and padded hip belt that deploy from behind a zip. That is a real suspension, and it is the whole reason this bag is worth comparing to a Farpoint.

It still is not the Farpoint’s harness, because it cannot be. You carry the wheels, the chassis and the telescoping handle on your back along with the clothes, so a loaded Sojourn is close to five pounds heavier than a loaded Farpoint holding the same trip. For station stairs, a cobbled street or a kilometer to a guesthouse, that is the difference between inconvenient and miserable. Treat the Sojourn’s harness as an escape hatch rather than the default mode and the bag makes sense; buy it expecting to carry it half the time and you have bought the wrong bag.

Who should buy which

Buy the Farpoint 40 if you walk any meaningful distance with your bag, you fly carriers that weigh cabin baggage, you want the laptop in the main bag, or the price difference matters. It is also the better bag for mixed terrain, which in Europe means most of the trip. Our Osprey Farpoint 40 review has the full write-up, and Farpoint 40 vs Cotopaxi Allpa 35L settles it against the other obvious carry-it option.

Buy the Sojourn 45 if rolling is the plan and carrying is the exception, you need the extra five liters, you want a bag whose published dimensions you can show a gate agent, or you cannot carry a loaded pack at all. If that is you, read best wheeled carry-on backpacks for the rest of the class and Sojourn 45 vs Transporter 40 for the wheels-versus-duffel version of the same argument.

Buy neither if money is the constraint.The High Sierra Freewheel is the third pick above for a reason: at a published 19.5 x 13.5 x 8 in it is inside the standard box on every dimension with room to spare, it has the 15 in laptop sleeve the Sojourn lacks, and it carries High Sierra’s limited lifetime warranty. It is 34L rather than 45L, 5.5 lb rather than 7.93 lb, and its straps are for crossing a terminal rather than carrying a load — but it is a fraction of the price and it will not be stopped at a sizer.

What we are not claiming

We have not flown either bag. Everything above is published spec read against published airline policy, which is what that method is good for: fit, weight and warranty are knowable before you buy, while wheel durability over three years is not. Where a maker’s figure disagrees with its retail listing we say so on the card itself. Our standards, including what we refuse to assert, are in how we choose.

Frequently asked questions

Osprey Farpoint 40 or Sojourn 45 — which should I buy?

The Farpoint 40, for most travelers. It is 3.1 lb against the Sojourn's 7.93 lb, it costs considerably less, and it has a load-transferring hip belt, so it is the better bag the moment you have to walk. Choose the Sojourn 45 if your itinerary is mostly smooth ground and rolling, if you need 45 liters, or if carrying a loaded pack is not an option for you.

Is the Osprey Sojourn 45 carry-on size?

By its published dimensions, yes: Osprey states 22 x 14 x 9 in, which is exactly the carry-on box American, Delta, United, JetBlue and Alaska publish. It also fits Southwest's and Frontier's larger 24 x 16 x 10 in. The number to watch on this bag is weight, not size — 7.93 lb empty is more than half the 7 kg cabin allowance Emirates and Qantas publish.

Is the Osprey Farpoint 40 carry-on size?

Osprey publishes 21 x 15 x 10 in, which is an inch over the standard 22 x 14 x 9 in box on both width and depth. It is a soft bag with no frame, so packed sensibly it compresses and clears gates routinely — but it is not dimensionally compliant on paper, and against a rigid sizer a hard-packed Farpoint can be refused.

Does the Osprey Sojourn have a laptop sleeve?

Osprey publishes no laptop sleeve for the Sojourn 45, so we print none and you should plan on the computer traveling in your personal item. The Farpoint 40 publishes a 15 in sleeve and the High Sierra Freewheel publishes a padded 15 in sleeve, if the laptop has to live in the main bag.

How much heavier is the Sojourn than the Farpoint?

4.83 lb empty — 7.93 lb against 3.1 lb. That gap is larger than the entire empty weight of some 40L packs, and you carry it on every leg whether you roll or not. Against a 7 kg (15.4 lb) cabin allowance, the empty Sojourn consumes about half and the empty Farpoint about a fifth.

Do both come with Osprey's warranty?

Yes. Both are covered by the All Mighty Guarantee, Osprey's any-product, any-era promise to repair or replace a bag with a defect or damage. That makes the warranty a non-factor in this decision — unusual in a comparison, and worth knowing before a warranty argument sways you either way.

Sources

Keep reading