Passage & Pier

Osprey Farpoint 40 vs tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L

Same capacity, very different philosophies — and unusually, the cheaper bag wins on three of the four published numbers. What the Osprey money actually buys is the one thing a spec sheet can't show.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we choose

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which bag we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

This is the most useful cross-shop in the 40L category, because the two bags are not different flavors of the same thing — they are built from opposite starting points. The Farpoint is a hiking company’s answer to travel: a harness first, with a suitcase wrapped around it. The tomtoc is a tech accessory company’s answer: a protective case first, with straps added.

The unusual part, and the reason this comparison is worth writing, is that the cheaper bag wins on most of the published numbers. It is lighter, it is smaller externally, and it takes a larger laptop. That does not settle it — but it does mean the Osprey has to justify itself on something other than the spec sheet, and it can.

At a glance

Osprey Farpoint 40 versus tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L, published specifications
 Osprey Farpoint 40tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L
Capacity40 L40 L
Empty weight3.1 lb2.65 lb
External dimensions21 x 15 x 10 in20.5 x 13 x 9 in
Laptop sleeve15 in17.3 in
MaterialNylon ripstopRecycled 1680D PET, YKK zippers
Hip beltPadded, framedSimpler suspension
WarrantyAll Mighty Guarantee (any product, any era)1 year, 2 with registration
Our carry-on readCarry-on (check strict carriers)Carry-on (check strict carriers)

The dimensions, and why they matter more than the liters

Both bags claim 40 liters. Only one of them claims to be smaller on the outside, and external size is what an airline measures.

The tomtoc’s published 20.5 x 13 x 9 in fits inside the standard US allowance of 22 x 14 x 9 in on all three dimensions. The Farpoint’s published 21 x 15 x 10 in is over on width and depth. In practice both are soft bags that a gate agent will assess by eye and occasionally by sizer, and both compress — but if you fly strict European carriers, starting from the smaller published number is a genuine advantage.

The obvious question this raises: how do two 40L bags measure so differently? Because “40 liters” has no standardized measurement method. Makers arrive at it differently, and the liter figure is closer to a category label than a measurement. This is exactly why we lead every spec table with external dimensions and print “Not published” wherever a maker declines to state them — see how to measure a backpack for what a gate agent actually assesses.

The harness, which is the entire case for the Osprey

The Farpoint has a framed back panel with a padded hip belt that is anchored to it, plus load lifters. The tomtoc has a padded back panel and shoulder straps and a much simpler arrangement below.

Under about 15 lb this is close to irrelevant, and anyone telling you a full-frame harness transforms a light bag is overselling. Above roughly 18 lb it becomes the dominant difference: a working hip belt moves the majority of the load onto your pelvis, so your shoulders stabilize rather than carry. The practical test is not the walk to the taxi, it is the forty minutes from a station to an apartment on a hot day, and there the two bags feel like different weight classes even at identical loads.

The caveat, and it is a large one: that advantage only exists if the Farpoint’s harness fits your torso. A framed pack sized wrong is worse than an unframed pack, because the belt lands in the wrong place and the frame stops it adapting. Measure first — how to fit a travel backpack takes two minutes.

The laptop, which is the entire case for the tomtoc

A 17.3 inch padded compartment against 15 inches is not a marginal difference — it is the difference between your 16 inch laptop fitting and not fitting. tomtoc came to bags from laptop sleeves, and it shows in the padding and the placement.

Placement matters as much as size. A sleeve that opens independently of the main compartment means you can pull the laptop at security without unpacking the bag, which over a trip with four flights is real time and four fewer chances to leave something on a conveyor. If you travel with a large laptop, this alone can decide the comparison — the wider field is in best backpacks with a laptop compartment.

Warranty: the difference with a cash value

Osprey’s All Mighty Guarantee covers any Osprey product from any era, repaired or replaced free. tomtoc offers one year, two with registration. Both are honest positions for their price points, and they are not comparable.

Think of it as amortization rather than insurance. A bag that gets repaired for a decade has a different cost per year than a bag with a two-year backstop, and travel packs fail in boring, repairable ways — a zip, a buckle, a strap anchor. If you expect to own one bag for a long time, this is the line in the table that quietly repays the price gap. It is also the main argument in our premium travel backpacks roundup.

Weight, and where it counts

2.65 lb against 3.1 lb is not much until you fly a carrier that weighs cabin bags. On a 7 kg allowance, that half-pound is about 3% of your total, which is a shirt and a pair of socks. On US domestic flights, where the major carriers publish no cabin weight limit at all, it does not matter. Check which world you are in using carry-on weight limits by airline.

The picks

#1Best for carrying it loaded

Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

The default answer to 'best carry-on travel backpack,' and it earns it: a 40L clamshell that opens flat like a suitcase, a real hip belt that moves the load off your shoulders, and Osprey's all-mighty warranty behind it. At 40L it sits right at the carry-on ceiling — great if you pack full, worth measuring against a strict European carrier.

Strengths

  • Clamshell opens flat so you pack it like a suitcase, not a stuff sack
  • Proper padded hip belt actually transfers weight off the shoulders
  • Backed by Osprey's All Mighty Guarantee — they repair or replace it

Trade-offs

  • At 40L it runs right at the carry-on limit; overpack it and strict carriers push back
  • Premium price versus the budget 40L crowd
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)3.1 lb
External dimensions21 x 15 x 10 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve15 in
MaterialNylon ripstop
WarrantyOsprey All Mighty Guarantee

Fit note. 40L is the most a soft carry-on backpack can hold before it starts failing strict sizers when full. On generous US carriers it clears; on a strict 40x20x25cm European budget limit, packed full it can get flagged. Check your carrier's number on our size guide before you count on it.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best value and best sizer bet

tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L Travel Backpack

A lot of well-built 40L for the money. A structured clamshell with a protective laptop compartment and a lifetime warranty that undercuts the premium brands by a wide margin. The trade-off is a simpler harness — fine for airport-to-hotel, less so for long walks under load.

Strengths

  • Structured clamshell and a well-padded laptop compartment
  • Lifetime warranty at a mid-tier price
  • Clean, business-appropriate looks

Trade-offs

  • Simpler hip belt and back panel than an Osprey — less comfortable under a heavy load
  • At 40L, the same strict-carrier caveat applies when packed full
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)2.65 lb
External dimensions20.5 x 13 x 9 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve17.3 in
MaterialRecycled 1680D PET fabric, YKK zippers
Warranty1-year (2-year with registration)

Fit note. The tomtoc's strength is protective tech carry at a mid price; its weakness is the suspension. If you'll walk far with it loaded, budget for the comfort gap versus a hip-belted Osprey.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

The honest verdict

Buy the tomtoc if your bag mostly moves from car to terminal to hotel, if you carry a 16 or 17 inch laptop, or if your itinerary includes strict European sizers. It is the better value by a clear margin, and on three of the four numbers people actually check, it is simply the better bag.

Buy the Farpoint if you will carry it loaded for real distances, if your torso length matches its harness, or if you want the bag to still be in service in ten years with Osprey repairing whatever fails. The harness and the guarantee are the two things a cheaper bag cannot copy, and they are worth the money to the person who needs them.

What we would not say is that either is the objectively better bag. They optimize for different journeys, and the honest question is which journey is yours.

Frequently asked questions

Is the tomtoc 40L as good as the Osprey Farpoint 40?

On published specs, better in places: it's lighter (2.65 lb vs 3.1 lb), smaller externally (20.5 x 13 x 9 in vs 21 x 15 x 10 in) and takes a 17.3 inch laptop against the Farpoint's 15. What it doesn't have is the Farpoint's framed harness and hip belt, or a guarantee that covers any product from any era. If you carry the bag loaded for distance, that gap is the whole decision.

Which is better for carry-on compliance?

The tomtoc, and it isn't close on paper. Its published 20.5 x 13 x 9 in sits inside the standard 22 x 14 x 9 in allowance on every dimension. The Farpoint's published 21 x 15 x 10 in is over on two of them, which is why we classify it 'carry-on, check strict carriers'. Both are soft bags that bulge when full, so pack to about 80% either way.

Does the Osprey hip belt actually matter?

Above roughly 18 lb, yes, a lot. A framed hip belt transfers weight to your pelvis instead of your shoulders, and the Farpoint has one anchored to a real frame. The tomtoc's suspension is simpler. For airport-to-hotel walks the difference is small; for a 40-minute walk to an apartment with a full bag it's the difference between fine and unpleasant.

Which has the better warranty?

Osprey, clearly. The All Mighty Guarantee covers any Osprey product from any era with a free repair or replacement. tomtoc states a 1-year warranty, extendable to 2 years with registration — which is respectable at the price and not in the same category. On a bag you intend to keep for a decade, that difference has a real cash value.

Which should I buy?

Buy the tomtoc if you fly more than you walk, want a big protected laptop sleeve, and value the tighter external dimensions — it's the better value and the better sizer bet. Buy the Farpoint if you carry the bag loaded for real distances, or if you want a pack you'll still be using in ten years and repaired free if it fails.

Sources

Keep reading