Passage & Pier

Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L vs Osprey Farpoint 40

The premium pack is the slimmer, more compliant one. The cheaper pack is the one that carries. That sounds like a tidy trade until you notice the Farpoint takes up as much room in a sizer as a fully expanded Peak Design while holding five fewer liters.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we choose

The verdict

Buy the Osprey Farpoint 40 if you are going to carry the bag rather than wheel it, park it or photograph out of it. It is 1.4 lb lighter empty (3.1 lb against 4.5 lb), it is the only one of the two with a published load-bearing hip belt on a structured back panel, and its All Mighty Guarantee has no end date and no purchase-channel conditions. For a one-bag traveler who walks to the hotel, that combination decides it on the first trip.

Buy the Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L if the bag has to change size, and if you will fly it in its 35 L standard mode. It is genuinely three bags — 30 L cinched, 35 L standard, 45 L expanded — with rear, front, side and top access and a 16-inch laptop sleeve against the Osprey’s 15. Its published 22 x 13 x 9.5 in is also the slimmer shape of the two: against the 22 x 14 x 9 in box American, Delta, United, JetBlue and Alaska all print, it misses on one dimension by half an inch where the Farpoint misses on two by a full inch each.

The arithmetic nobody runs on this pair is the one that matters most. Multiply the published exteriors: 21 x 15 x 10 in of Farpoint is 3,150 cu in of bag, and 22 x 13 x 11 in of fully expanded Peak Design is 3,146. Those are the same bag-shaped hole in an overhead bin to within four cubic inches — except the Osprey holds 40 L and the Peak Design holds 45 L at that size. The Osprey is not the small bag in this comparison. It is the wide one.

These two packs are cross-shopped constantly and they are almost never described accurately. The Peak Design gets written up as the big, heavy, expensive one and the Farpoint as the sensible carry-on. On published figures, half of that is backwards: the Peak Design is narrower, is closer to carry-on legal, and in its standard mode is a smaller bag than the Osprey in every sense except the number printed on its label.

What is true is the weight and the harness. The Peak Design is the heaviest pack we cover without wheels, and Peak Design publishes no hip belt for the 45L at all — it sells one as an accessory for the 30L. Osprey publishes a padded hip belt on a structured panel. Carrying 4.5 lb of empty bag on shoulder straps alone is a different experience from carrying 3.1 lb on your hips, and no amount of modularity changes that.

So this is not a good-bag-versus-bad-bag page. It is two packs that fail different tests, and the right one depends on which test your trips actually run. Everything below comes from each maker’s own published specification and the airline pages cited at the bottom. We do not own either bag and have not flown them, so you will find no durability score here — only numbers that can be checked and warranty language quoted as written.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which bag we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on capacity, carry-on fit and who each bag actually suits. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not flown every one of these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductCapacityWeight (empty)External dimensionsLaptop sleeveWarrantyBest forPrice
1
Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

The default answer to 'best carry-on travel backpack,' and it earns it: a 40L clamshell that opens flat like a suitcase, a real hip belt that moves the load off your shoulders, and Osprey's all-mighty warranty behind it. At 40L it sits right at the carry-on ceiling — great if you pack full, worth measuring against a strict European carrier.

40 L3.1 lb21 x 15 x 10 in15 inOsprey All Mighty GuaranteeBest for carrying: lighter, hip-belted, broader guarantee
$199.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L

Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L

The most completely engineered bag on this site, and the one whose numbers you should read twice. It genuinely is three bags — 30L cinched down, 35L standard, 45L expanded — with rear, front, side and top access and a lifetime warranty behind it. It is also 4.5 lb empty and published at 9.5 in deep before you expand it, which is half an inch over the box every US carrier prints on its sizer.

45 L4.5 lb22 x 13 x 9.5 in (11 in deep expanded)16 inPeak Design lifetime warrantyBest for trips that change size, and the slimmer shape
$299.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L Travel Backpack

tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L Travel Backpack

A lot of well-built 40L for the money. A structured clamshell with a protective laptop compartment and a lifetime warranty that undercuts the premium brands by a wide margin. The trade-off is a simpler harness — fine for airport-to-hotel, less so for long walks under load.

40 L2.65 lb20.5 x 13 x 9 in17.3 in1-year (2-year with registration)Best if compliance is the whole point: inside the box on all three sides
$79.99 · View on Amazon

$89.9911% off

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Specs read from each product’s own Amazon listing as of September 3, 2026; prices as of October 22, 2026, refreshed daily. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure — we print that rather than an estimate.

The picks in full

#1Best for carrying: lighter, hip-belted, broader guarantee

Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

The default answer to 'best carry-on travel backpack,' and it earns it: a 40L clamshell that opens flat like a suitcase, a real hip belt that moves the load off your shoulders, and Osprey's all-mighty warranty behind it. At 40L it sits right at the carry-on ceiling — great if you pack full, worth measuring against a strict European carrier.

Strengths

  • Clamshell opens flat so you pack it like a suitcase, not a stuff sack
  • Proper padded hip belt actually transfers weight off the shoulders
  • Backed by Osprey's All Mighty Guarantee — they repair or replace it

Trade-offs

  • At 40L it runs right at the carry-on limit; overpack it and strict carriers push back
  • Premium price versus the budget 40L crowd
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)3.1 lb
External dimensions21 x 15 x 10 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve15 in
MaterialNylon ripstop
WarrantyOsprey All Mighty Guarantee

Fit note. 40L is the most a soft carry-on backpack can hold before it starts failing strict sizers when full. On generous US carriers it clears; on a strict 40x20x25cm European budget limit, packed full it can get flagged. Check your carrier's number on our size guide before you count on it.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best for trips that change size, and the slimmer shape

Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L

The most completely engineered bag on this site, and the one whose numbers you should read twice. It genuinely is three bags — 30L cinched down, 35L standard, 45L expanded — with rear, front, side and top access and a lifetime warranty behind it. It is also 4.5 lb empty and published at 9.5 in deep before you expand it, which is half an inch over the box every US carrier prints on its sizer.

Strengths

  • Publishes every number that matters — 22 x 13 x 9.5 in, 4.5 lb, a 16 in laptop sleeve and a recycled 400D shell — so the fit math is checkable before you buy
  • Three usable sizes in one bag: cinched to 30L, 35L as standard, 45L expanded for the trip home
  • Rear, front, side and top access, so nothing is ever buried, plus Peak Design's lifetime warranty on failures that stop the bag working

Trade-offs

  • 4.5 lb empty — the heaviest bag we cover that doesn't have wheels, and nearly a third of a 7 kg cabin allowance gone before you pack
  • Published at 9.5 in deep in standard mode against a 9 in limit, and 11 in expanded, which is not a carry-on on any airline
  • Several times the price of a competent budget 40L, and the packing cubes, camera cubes and pouches the layout is designed around are all sold separately
Capacity45 L
Weight (empty)4.5 lb
External dimensions22 x 13 x 9.5 in (11 in deep expanded)
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve16 in
MaterialWeatherproof 100% recycled 400D nylon shell with a 900D bottom liner
WarrantyPeak Design lifetime warranty

Fit note. Read the two dimensions that move. Width is the good news: 13 in against a 14 in limit, where much of the 40L field runs 15 in and gets stopped on a narrow sizer. Depth is the bad news: 9.5 in standard is half an inch over the 22 x 14 x 9 in box, and the 45L mode adds another inch and a half to exactly the dimension airlines measure most reliably. Fly out in standard mode, expand on the way home, and treat the expanded bag as checked.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best if compliance is the whole point: inside the box on all three sides

tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L Travel Backpack

A lot of well-built 40L for the money. A structured clamshell with a protective laptop compartment and a lifetime warranty that undercuts the premium brands by a wide margin. The trade-off is a simpler harness — fine for airport-to-hotel, less so for long walks under load.

Strengths

  • Structured clamshell and a well-padded laptop compartment
  • Lifetime warranty at a mid-tier price
  • Clean, business-appropriate looks

Trade-offs

  • Simpler hip belt and back panel than an Osprey — less comfortable under a heavy load
  • At 40L, the same strict-carrier caveat applies when packed full
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)2.65 lb
External dimensions20.5 x 13 x 9 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve17.3 in
MaterialRecycled 1680D PET fabric, YKK zippers
Warranty1-year (2-year with registration)

Fit note. The tomtoc's strength is protective tech carry at a mid price; its weakness is the suspension. If you'll walk far with it loaded, budget for the comfort gap versus a hip-belted Osprey.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

The published figures, side by side

  • Capacity.The Farpoint is 40 L, fixed. The Peak Design is three numbers: 30 L cinched down, 35 L standard, 45 L expanded — and Peak Design itself labels the 35 L configuration its “max carry-on” mode. Read the comparison as 40 L against 35 L for flying and 40 L against 45 L for the trip home.
  • Empty weight.3.1 lb against 4.5 lb. The Peak Design is 1.4 lb heavier — 45 percent more bag before anything goes in it. As capacity per pound: the Farpoint gives 12.9 L/lb, the Peak Design 7.8 L/lb in standard mode and 10.0 L/lb fully expanded. On this site only wheeled bags carry worse ratios.
  • External dimensions. 21 x 15 x 10 in against 22 x 13 x 9.5 in standard (11 in deep expanded). The Peak Design is an inch taller and two inches narrower.
  • Laptop. 15 in against 16 in, plus a separate tablet sleeve on the Peak Design. If your machine is a 16-inch MacBook Pro, that is not a preference, it is the answer.
  • Hip belt. Osprey publishes a padded, load-bearing hip belt on a structured back panel. Peak Design publishes nonefor the 45L — the hip belt is a separate accessory in its 30L listing and is not stated here at all. This is the single largest difference on the page and it is the one a spec table buries.
  • Material. Nylon ripstop against a weatherproof 100% recycled 400D nylon shell over a 900D bottom liner. The Peak Design is the more weather-capable shell of the two as published; neither is waterproof, and nothing with a travel zipper is.
  • Warranty. Both are lifetime terms and they are not equivalent. More on that below, because the difference is in the exclusions rather than the headline.

The exterior-volume finding

Capacity is the number on the label. The number that decides whether you board with your bag is the exterior, and the honest way to compare two exteriors is to multiply them out.

  • The allowance. 22 x 14 x 9 in = 2,772 cu in, which is about 45.4 liters of box.
  • Osprey Farpoint 40. 21 x 15 x 10 in = 3,150 cu in (51.6 L of box) around 40 L of cargo.
  • Peak Design 45L, standard. 22 x 13 x 9.5 in = 2,717 cu in(44.5 L of box) around 35 L of cargo — the only figure in this group that is under the allowance by volume.
  • Peak Design 45L, expanded. 22 x 13 x 11 in = 3,146 cu in (51.6 L of box) around 45 L of cargo.

Read the second and fourth lines together. A Farpoint 40 and a fully expanded Peak Design 45L occupy the same volume of bin to within four cubic inches — and at that size the Peak Design is carrying five more liters. In its standard mode the Peak Design is smaller than the allowance itself, at 2,717 cu in against 2,772, which no other 40-liter-class pack on this site manages. The same arithmetic applied to every bag we cover is in how many liters is a carry-on.

None of that means the Peak Design walks through a sizer and the Osprey does not. Volume is not the test; three independent dimensions are, and a sizer does not care that your bag’s total is under budget if one side of it is over.

Fit: one failure by half an inch against two failures by an inch

Against the 22 x 14 x 9 in box American, Delta, United, JetBlue and Alaska publish:

  • Peak Design 45L, standard mode: height 22 in (level with the limit), width 13 in (1 in of margin), depth 9.5 in (0.5 in over). One failure, by half an inch.
  • Peak Design 45L, expanded: depth 11 in (2 in over). Still one failure, now a serious one. Peak Design does not call the expanded bag a carry-on and neither do we.
  • Osprey Farpoint 40: height 21 in (1 in of margin), width 15 in (1 in over), depth 10 in (1 in over). Two failures, an inch each.

Width is the Farpoint’s quiet problem and the reason it occasionally gets stopped when a taller bag walks past: at a published 15 inches it is wider than a 14-inch limit before you pack it. Both bags are soft and both compress, so in practice both clear US gates routinely — but “over on one side” and “over on two” are different risks at a European sizer, where the frame is a fixed box rather than an agent’s eye.

For a worked example of what that means at a strict carrier: Ryanair’s priority cabin bag is 55 x 40 x 20 cm, which is roughly 21.7 x 15.7 x 7.9 in. Both bags are over on depth there — the Peak Design by 1.6 in in standard mode, the Farpoint by 2.1 in — and the Farpoint is also level on width where the Peak Design has 2.7 inches to spare. Neither is a Ryanair priority bag on paper. Our 40L fit guide and how to measure a backpack cover doing this for your own carrier, packed, at the widest point.

Weight, against the limits that actually exist

The five biggest US carriers publish no cabin weight limit, so on a domestic itinerary 1.4 lb of extra empty bag is an effort problem and nothing more. Elsewhere it is an allowance problem:

  • Emirates and Qantas, 7 kg including the bag (15.4 lb). An empty Farpoint is 20 percent of that. An empty Peak Design is 29 percent— nearly a third of the allowance gone before you pack a shirt.
  • Lufthansa, 8 kg (17.6 lb). 18 percent against 26 percent.
  • Ryanair, 10 kg for the priority bag. Both are comfortable here; depth is the binding constraint on that carrier, not mass.

And there is a second-order effect worth naming, because it is the thing people underestimate about an expandable pack: a bag that can become 45 liters tends to end up holding 45 liters.The Farpoint’s fixed 40 L is a budget you cannot overspend. Every published empty weight on this site, from 0.16 lb to 7.5 lb, is tabled in how much does a travel backpack weigh, and the carrier-by-carrier ceilings are in carry-on weight limits. If 4.5 lb on your shoulders is the part that puts you off, the honest alternative is not a lighter pack but wheels — the MATEIN rolling backpack is 4.9 lb and carries almost none of it on your body.

The harness is the decision for most people

Here is the asymmetry that settles this comparison for a majority of readers. The heavier bag is the one with no published hip belt.

Osprey states a padded hip belt attached to a structured back panel. That combination — belt plus panel plus frame — is the mechanism that transfers load onto your pelvis and demotes the shoulder straps to stabilizers. Peak Design publishes no hip belt for the 45L. It lists one as an optional accessory on the 30L, which tells you the company knows the harness benefits from it; it is not stated for this bag.

So a packed Peak Design starts 1.4 lb heavier and puts all of that on your shoulders. That is fine in the use case the bag is designed around: a photographer or a commuter who carries it in bursts, between a car, a hotel room and a shoot. It is not fine on a forty-minute walk from a train station with two weeks of clothes in it. Our hip-belt roundup separates the packs whose maker states a genuine load-bearing belt from the ones with two courtesy webbing loops, and why does my backpack hurt my shoulders explains the mechanism and the strap order that most people reverse.

What the Peak Design buys that the Osprey cannot

Four doors instead of one

The Farpoint is a clamshell: it opens flat, like a suitcase, from the front. That is a genuinely good design and it is the reason clamshell packsdominate one-bag travel. The Peak Design opens from the rear, the front, both sides and the top. If your trip involves taking a lens or a laptop out of a bag that is still on your back, or packing around a camera cube, that is not a convenience feature — it is the whole reason the bag exists, and nothing in the Osprey line answers it.

Three sizes in one shell

Cinched to 30 L it is a large daypack. At 35 L it is a carry-on. Expanded to 45 L it is a checked bag or a hold-everything for the flight home. That range genuinely replaces two bags for some travelers, and it is the honest case for the price. It is also why its weight is what it is: the zips, the external frame structure, the metal hardware and the four access doors all weigh something.

A 16-inch laptop sleeve

15 in against 16 in, plus a dedicated tablet sleeve. For most machines this is noise; for a 16-inch laptop it is disqualifying in one direction. If your laptop is 17 inches, neither of these is your bag — see best travel backpacks for a 17-inch laptop.

Two lifetime warranties, and why they are not the same

Both makers use the word lifetime. The difference is in what each one excludes, which is where warranty documents do their real work.

Osprey’s All Mighty Guarantee covers any Osprey product from any era, repaired or replaced free, regardless of when or where it was purchased. There is no registration, no receipt condition and no channel restriction.

Peak Design’s lifetime warrantycovers manufacturing defects and failures that render part or all of the product non-functional. It excludes cosmetic wear, misuse, apparel, Factory 2nds, and — the clause worth knowing — products bought on secondhand marketplaces or auction sites. Given these bags hold their value and get resold constantly, that exclusion is a real cost rather than boilerplate: a used Farpoint is still fully guaranteed, a used Peak Design is not. Every warranty on this site is quoted in its own words in how long do travel backpacks last.

The decision

Carry a lot, walk a lot, keep it a decade: Farpoint 40. Lighter, belted, unconditionally guaranteed, and a fraction of the price. The width is its real flaw and it is worth knowing about before a trip on a strict carrier, but it is one inch on a soft bag.

Shoot photos, change bag size trip to trip, or need a 16-inch laptop sleeve: Peak Design 45L — and fly it in standard mode, where it is the slimmer and more compliant of the two. Accept the 4.5 lb and the absence of a published belt as the price of the modularity, because that is exactly what they are.

Want a bag that simply fits: neither. The tomtoc 40L publishes 20.5 x 13 x 9 in, which is inside the standard box on height, width anddepth, at 2.65 lb, with a 17.3-inch laptop sleeve, for a mid price. Its harness is simpler than the Osprey’s and its warranty is a one-year term (two with registration) rather than a lifetime one. If clearing every sizer you meet is the criterion, it wins on the only evidence available — which is why it is the third pick on this page rather than a footnote.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L a carry-on?

In its 35 L standard mode, nearly - and Peak Design itself calls that configuration the bag's max carry-on mode. Published at 22 x 13 x 9.5 in, it is level with the 22 in height limit, an inch inside the 14 in width and half an inch over the 9 in depth of the box American, Delta, United, JetBlue and Alaska print. Expanded to 45 L it is 11 in deep, two inches over, and is not a carry-on anywhere. Fly out in standard mode and treat the expanded bag as checked.

Which is lighter, the Peak Design 45L or the Osprey Farpoint 40?

The Farpoint, by 1.4 lb: 3.1 lb against 4.5 lb published empty. In capacity-per-pound terms the Farpoint gives 12.9 L per pound of bag and the Peak Design 7.8 L per pound in standard mode, 10.0 fully expanded. On Emirates or Qantas, where Economy caps the cabin bag at 7 kg including the bag, the empty Peak Design is already 29 percent of the allowance against the Osprey's 20 percent.

Does the Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L have a hip belt?

Peak Design publishes none for the 45L. It sells a hip belt as an optional accessory for the 30L, but no belt is stated for this bag. The Osprey Farpoint 40 publishes a padded hip belt on a structured back panel, which is the mechanism that moves load onto your pelvis. That is the most consequential difference between these two packs, and it points the wrong way for the heavier one.

Which bag takes up more room in an overhead bin?

They are effectively identical when the Peak Design is expanded, which surprises most people. Multiply the published exteriors: the Farpoint's 21 x 15 x 10 in is 3,150 cu in and the expanded Peak Design's 22 x 13 x 11 in is 3,146 - a four-cubic-inch difference, with the Peak Design carrying five more liters at that size. In standard mode the Peak Design is 2,717 cu in, which is less than the 2,772 cu in of the carry-on allowance itself.

Is Peak Design's lifetime warranty as good as Osprey's?

No, and the gap is in the exclusions rather than the headline. Osprey's All Mighty Guarantee repairs or replaces any Osprey product from any era, free, regardless of when or where it was bought. Peak Design's lifetime warranty covers defects and failures that make the product non-functional but excludes cosmetic wear, misuse, Factory 2nds and anything purchased on a secondhand marketplace or auction site. For bags that get resold as often as these two, that last clause is a real difference in value.

Which one has the bigger laptop sleeve?

The Peak Design, at 16 in plus a separate tablet sleeve, against the Farpoint's 15 in. If your laptop is a 16-inch model that settles the comparison on its own. If it is 17 inches, neither fits - the tomtoc 40L publishes a 17.3 in sleeve and is the cheapest bag on this site that takes one.

Which 40L-class backpack fits inside 22 x 14 x 9 in on all three sides?

Of the packs we cover, the tomtoc 40L at 20.5 x 13 x 9 in and the Nomatic Travel Bag 40L at 21 x 14 x 9 in are inside the standard box on height, width and depth. Neither the Farpoint 40 nor the Peak Design 45L is - the Farpoint misses on width and depth, the Peak Design on depth alone.

Sources

Keep reading