Passage & Pier

Peak Design Travel Backpack 30L vs 45L

Neither pack holds the number on its label, and only one of them is inside the carry-on box. Peak Design publishes every figure that settles this - so here they all are, mode by mode.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we choose

The verdict

Buy the 30L. For most travelers it is the better of the two Peak Design travel packs, and the reason is fit: Peak Design publishes 20.9 x 13 x 7 in standard and 7.9 in deep expanded, which is inside the 22 x 14 x 9 in carry-on box in bothmodes. It is also 1.33 lb lighter, and it gives up nothing structural — same weatherproof recycled 400D shell, same 900D waterproof bottom liner, same 16-inch laptop sleeve, same lifetime warranty. It is for three-to-five-day trips, for laptop-first travel, and for anyone who flies routes where the bag gets measured.

Buy the 45L only if you specifically need the expanded mode— camera kit, cold-weather clothing, or a trip you fly out light and come home full from. It buys you a genuine three-size bag (30L cinched, 35L standard, 45L expanded) with rear, front, side and top access. The price is 4.5 lb empty, the heaviest pack without wheels on this site, and a published 9.5 in depth in standard mode — half an inch over the box before you expand it, and 11 in after.

Read the names as marketing, not capacity.Peak Design publishes 27 L standard and 33 L expanded for the bag called the 30L, and 30 L cinched / 35 L standard / 45 L expanded for the bag called the 45L. Neither pack’s label matches its own standard mode, and the 45L’s own stated “max carry-on” configuration is 35 liters.

These are the same bag at two sizes in almost every respect that costs money: the same weatherproof recycled 400D nylon Versa Shell over a 900D waterproof bottom liner, the same anodized aluminum and glass-reinforced nylon hardware, the same UltraZips, the same 16-inch laptop sleeve, the same tuck-away shoulder straps and the same lifetime warranty. Both expand. Both are built around Peak Design’s own packing and camera cubes, which are sold separately.

What separates them is not quality, then. It is 1.33 lb of empty weight, roughly six liters of standard capacity, and two and a half inches of published depth — and that last number is the one that decides whether your bag goes in the bin or down the jet bridge. Peak Design is unusually generous with specs, publishing exterior dimensions for every mode of both packs in centimeters and inches, which means this comparison can be settled on the maker’s own figures rather than on vibes.

One caveat before the table: we do not own either pack and we have not flown them. Published specs settle capacity, weight, fit against an airline’s box, laptop carry and warranty terms. They cannot settle how a shell wears over five years, so there is no durability verdict and no score here.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which bag we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on capacity, carry-on fit and who each bag actually suits. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not flown every one of these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductCapacityWeight (empty)External dimensionsLaptop sleeveWarrantyBest forPrice
1
Peak Design Travel Backpack 30L

Peak Design Travel Backpack 30L

The 45L's build in a bag that actually clears the sizer. Peak Design publishes 20.9 x 13 x 7 in — inside the 22 x 14 x 9 in box on all three dimensions, with the depth still under 8 in expanded — so the half-inch argument that follows the 45L around does not apply here. The trade is capacity and weight: 27L standard, 33L expanded, and 3.17 lb empty, which is more than an Osprey Farpoint 40 weighs for ten fewer liters. The hip belt is an accessory, not in the box.

30 L3.17 lb20.9 x 13 x 7 in (7.9 in deep expanded)16 inPeak Design lifetime warrantyBest overall: inside the box in both modes
$249.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L

Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L

The most completely engineered bag on this site, and the one whose numbers you should read twice. It genuinely is three bags — 30L cinched down, 35L standard, 45L expanded — with rear, front, side and top access and a lifetime warranty behind it. It is also 4.5 lb empty and published at 9.5 in deep before you expand it, which is half an inch over the box every US carrier prints on its sizer.

45 L4.5 lb22 x 13 x 9.5 in (11 in deep expanded)16 inPeak Design lifetime warrantyBest if the trip changes size
$299.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Nomatic Travel Bag 40L (Convertible)

Nomatic Travel Bag 40L (Convertible)

The organized traveler's tech bag. Converts between duffel and backpack, opens like a suitcase, and is riddled with structured compartments and a separate laptop/tablet section. Heavy and expensive for its volume — you're paying for organization and build, not lightness.

40 L3.42 lb21 x 14 x 9 in16 inNomatic lifetime warrantyBest if you want the capacity and the box
$329.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Specs read from each product’s own Amazon listing as of September 17, 2026; prices as of October 19, 2026, refreshed daily. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure — we print that rather than an estimate.

The picks in full

#1Best overall: inside the box in both modes

Peak Design Travel Backpack 30L

The 45L's build in a bag that actually clears the sizer. Peak Design publishes 20.9 x 13 x 7 in — inside the 22 x 14 x 9 in box on all three dimensions, with the depth still under 8 in expanded — so the half-inch argument that follows the 45L around does not apply here. The trade is capacity and weight: 27L standard, 33L expanded, and 3.17 lb empty, which is more than an Osprey Farpoint 40 weighs for ten fewer liters. The hip belt is an accessory, not in the box.

Strengths

  • Published at 20.9 x 13 x 7 in standard and 7.9 in deep expanded — the only Peak Design travel pack that is inside the standard carry-on box in every mode
  • A 16 in laptop sleeve (published max 16 x 11 x 1 in) plus a 10 in tablet sleeve, in a rear-loading clamshell that opens flat
  • The same weatherproof recycled 400D shell, 900D bottom liner, metal hardware and lifetime warranty as the 45L, at 1.33 lb less

Trade-offs

  • 3.17 lb empty for 27-33L — heavier than the Osprey Farpoint 40 (3.1 lb, 40L) and the Cotopaxi Allpa 35L (2.94 lb), so per liter it is one of the heaviest packs we cover
  • No hip belt in the box and no frame: the hip belt is a separate accessory, and the load rides on the shoulders
  • At 20.9 in tall it is a carry-on, not a personal item, on every major carrier — and a premium price for a bag that holds four to five days of clothes
Capacity30 L
Weight (empty)3.17 lb
External dimensions20.9 x 13 x 7 in (7.9 in deep expanded)
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on compliant
Laptop sleeve16 in
MaterialWeatherproof 100% recycled 400D nylon Versa Shell with a 900D waterproof bottom liner
WarrantyPeak Design lifetime warranty

Fit note. Peak Design publishes 53 x 33 x 18 cm (20.9 x 13 x 7 in) standard and 53 x 33 x 20 cm (20.9 x 13 x 7.9 in) expanded. Against a 22 x 14 x 9 in box that is 1.1 in under on height, an inch under on width and two inches under on depth — expanded, still more than an inch under on depth. It fits Ryanair's 55 x 40 x 20 cm priority bag in both modes (level on depth expanded) and Lufthansa's 55 x 40 x 23 cm. It is not a personal item anywhere: 20.9 in tall against United's 17 in and American's 18 in. The 30L in the name is the marketing figure; the published capacity is 27L standard and 33L expanded.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 17, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best if the trip changes size

Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L

The most completely engineered bag on this site, and the one whose numbers you should read twice. It genuinely is three bags — 30L cinched down, 35L standard, 45L expanded — with rear, front, side and top access and a lifetime warranty behind it. It is also 4.5 lb empty and published at 9.5 in deep before you expand it, which is half an inch over the box every US carrier prints on its sizer.

Strengths

  • Publishes every number that matters — 22 x 13 x 9.5 in, 4.5 lb, a 16 in laptop sleeve and a recycled 400D shell — so the fit math is checkable before you buy
  • Three usable sizes in one bag: cinched to 30L, 35L as standard, 45L expanded for the trip home
  • Rear, front, side and top access, so nothing is ever buried, plus Peak Design's lifetime warranty on failures that stop the bag working

Trade-offs

  • 4.5 lb empty — the heaviest bag we cover that doesn't have wheels, and nearly a third of a 7 kg cabin allowance gone before you pack
  • Published at 9.5 in deep in standard mode against a 9 in limit, and 11 in expanded, which is not a carry-on on any airline
  • Several times the price of a competent budget 40L, and the packing cubes, camera cubes and pouches the layout is designed around are all sold separately
Capacity45 L
Weight (empty)4.5 lb
External dimensions22 x 13 x 9.5 in (11 in deep expanded)
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve16 in
MaterialWeatherproof 100% recycled 400D nylon shell with a 900D bottom liner
WarrantyPeak Design lifetime warranty

Fit note. Read the two dimensions that move. Width is the good news: 13 in against a 14 in limit, where much of the 40L field runs 15 in and gets stopped on a narrow sizer. Depth is the bad news: 9.5 in standard is half an inch over the 22 x 14 x 9 in box, and the 45L mode adds another inch and a half to exactly the dimension airlines measure most reliably. Fly out in standard mode, expand on the way home, and treat the expanded bag as checked.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best if you want the capacity and the box

Nomatic Travel Bag 40L (Convertible)

The organized traveler's tech bag. Converts between duffel and backpack, opens like a suitcase, and is riddled with structured compartments and a separate laptop/tablet section. Heavy and expensive for its volume — you're paying for organization and build, not lightness.

Strengths

  • Carries as a backpack or a duffel without changing how it packs
  • Dedicated, well-padded tech compartment
  • Serious build quality and structure

Trade-offs

  • Heavy empty — the structure and hardware add up
  • Premium price, and a fixed 40L that runs right at the carry-on limit
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)3.42 lb
External dimensions21 x 14 x 9 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve16 in
MaterialWater-resistant polyester/nylon
WarrantyNomatic lifetime warranty

Fit note. This is a fixed 40L, not an expandable — Nomatic sells the 30L as a separate bag, and the model that expands is the Travel Pack (20L to 30L). Nomatic's published 21 x 14 x 9 in sits right at the standard 22 x 14 x 9 limit, and a structured bag has no give at a sizer, so re-check it against your carrier.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Every published mode, in one place

This is the table Peak Design’s own product pages give you, consolidated. The carry-on column is measured against 22 x 14 x 9 in — the box American, Delta, United, JetBlue and Alaska all print.

  • 30L, standard: 27 L of capacity, 53 x 33 x 18 cm = 20.9 x 13 x 7 in. Inside the box on all three sides, with 1.1 in of height margin, 1 in of width and 2 in of depth.
  • 30L, expanded: 33 L, 53 x 33 x 20 cm = 20.9 x 13 x 7.9 in. Still inside the box, with more than an inch of depth margin left.
  • 45L, cinched: 30 L, in the same 22 x 13 in footprint. Peak Design does not publish a separate cinched depth.
  • 45L, standard: 35 L, 22 x 13 x 9.5 in. Level on height, 1 in inside on width, 0.5 in over on depth.
  • 45L, expanded: 45 L, 22 x 13 x 11 in. 2 in over on depth— not a carry-on on any airline we track.

Two things fall out of that list. The first is that the 30L is the only expandable pack on this site whose published dimensions sit inside the standard box in every mode, which makes it a genuinely unusual bag. The second is that the 45L’s useful carry-on configuration is its 35-liter standard mode, which Peak Design itself labels the maximum carry-on size — so the 45 in the name describes the mode you are meant to fly home in, not out.

Weight, and what it costs per liter

3.17 lb against 4.5 lb. Stated as capacity per pound of pack — the only fair way to compare two bags of different sizes — the 30L carries 8.5 L/lb standard and 10.4 L/lb expanded; the 45L carries 7.8 L/lb standard and 10.0 L/lb expanded. They are close, and they are both poor. For context, the tomtoc 40L does 15.1 L/lb and the Hynes Eagle 40L does 18.2.

That is the real cost of this build quality, and it is worth being blunt about it: both Peak Design travel packs are among the heaviest packs per liter we cover, because metal hardware, a coated shell and four access doors weigh something. Where it bites is a cabin weight limit. Emirates and Qantas publish 7 kg (15.43 lb): the empty 30L spends 21 percent of that, the empty 45L 29 percent. Lufthansa publishes 8 kg (17.64 lb) and Ryanair 10 kg. Our cabin weight guide has every published limit we track, and the weight guide tables every empty weight on this site.

Harness: the difference nobody mentions

Neither pack ships with a hip belt. On the 30L, Peak Design states the hip belt as an optional accessory; on the 45L it states none. Both have tuck-away shoulder straps and a stowable sternum strap, and the 30L ships with two Cord Hook external carry straps in the box.

What that means in practice: the load rides on your shoulders on both. At 27 liters of clothes that is fine for most people. At 45 liters of winter clothing or camera gear it is the single best argument for buying a different bag entirely, because a belt that transfers weight to your hips is the one feature that changes how a heavy pack feels over an hour on your feet. Our hip-belt roundup lists only the packs whose maker states a load-bearing belt, and the shoulder-pain guide explains the mechanism.

The warranty, in Peak Design’s own words

Identical on both packs, and worth reading before you buy either: Peak Design’s lifetime warranty covers manufacturing defects and failures or breakages that render part or all of the product non-functional. It explicitly excludes cosmetic wear, misuse, apparel, Factory 2nds — and products bought on secondhand marketplaces or auction sites. That last clause is the one that catches people: a Peak Design pack bought used is not covered, which changes the math on buying either of these secondhand.

Who should buy which

Buy the 30L if

  • Your trips are three to five days, or you pack light and fly often.
  • You fly routes where the bag is measured — European budget carriers, regional jets, anything with a frame at the gate. This is the stronger reason, and it applies in both modes.
  • You want the Peak Design build for a laptop and a camera body rather than for clothing volume. The 16-inch sleeve and 10-inch tablet pocket are the same as the 45L’s.

Buy the 45L if

  • You genuinely use the expanded mode — coming home with more than you left with, or carrying bulky cold-weather layers.
  • You want one bag to cover a weekend and a two-week trip, and you will fly out in standard mode and treat the expanded bag as checked.
  • Four-door access matters to you more than weight. Nothing else on this site opens from the rear, front, side and top.

Buy neither if

You want premium organization, more capacity than either, and a published exterior inside the carry-on box. The Nomatic Travel Bag 40Lpublishes 21 x 14 x 9 in — inside 22 x 14 x 9 on every side — at 40 liters, 3.42 lb and a 16-inch laptop sleeve, with its own lifetime warranty. It is the compartment-heavy premium pack that does not have a depth problem. Our premium roundup covers that tier, and the Nomatic against the Peak Design 45L is the head-to-head if that is now your real decision.

What the specs cannot tell you

How much of the 30L’s 27 liters you actually use once a 16-inch laptop is in the sleeve. Whether the expansion zip on either pack stays easy after two years of being cycled. Whether the rear clamshell, which has to be laid flat to open on the 30L, is annoying in a hotel room or a non-issue. None of those are published figures, and we have not flown either pack, so none of them appear above as a claim.

Frequently asked questions

Should I buy the Peak Design Travel Backpack 30L or the 45L?

The 30L for most people. It is published at 20.9 x 13 x 7 in standard and 7.9 in expanded, which is inside the 22 x 14 x 9 in carry-on box in both modes, and it is 1.33 lb lighter at 3.17 lb against 4.5 lb. The 45L makes sense only if you will genuinely use the expanded mode, because its standard mode is already half an inch over the depth limit and its expanded mode is two inches over.

Is the Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L carry-on size?

Not on its published numbers. Peak Design states 22 x 13 x 9.5 in in standard mode, which is half an inch over the 22 x 14 x 9 in box every US major prints, and 22 x 13 x 11 in expanded, which is two inches over. It is a soft bag that compresses, so standard mode clears US gates routinely - but Peak Design's own label for that configuration is 'max carry-on' at 35 liters, not 45.

How much does the Peak Design Travel Backpack 30L actually hold?

Peak Design publishes 27 liters standard and 33 liters expanded - the 30L in the name is neither figure. Internally it states 49 x 36 x 14 cm standard, growing to 16 cm deep expanded, and it holds three Peak Design packing or camera cubes. For clothing that is about four to five days packed in cubes.

Does the Peak Design Travel Backpack come with a hip belt?

No, on either size. Peak Design sells a hip belt as a separate accessory for the 30L and states none for the 45L. Both have tuck-away shoulder straps and a stowable sternum strap, so the load rides on your shoulders. If a load-bearing belt is your deciding feature, neither Peak Design pack is the bag.

Is the Peak Design 30L a personal item?

No. At a published 20.9 in tall it is well over United's 17 in and American's 18 in personal-item height limits, so it is a carry-on going in the overhead bin. It clears the carry-on box comfortably, which is a different thing from fitting under a seat.

Do the 30L and 45L use the same laptop sleeve?

Yes - both state a 16-inch laptop sleeve, and the 30L publishes a maximum laptop size of 16 x 11 x 1 in plus a separate 10-inch tablet sleeve. Laptop carry is not a reason to choose between them.

Is the Peak Design lifetime warranty transferable if I buy used?

No. Peak Design's warranty terms exclude products bought on secondhand marketplaces or auction sites, along with cosmetic wear, misuse, apparel and Factory 2nds. The warranty covers manufacturing defects and failures that render part or all of the product non-functional - for the original purchase.

Sources

  • Peak Design — Travel Backpack 30L specs — Manufacturer spec: 27L standard / 33L expanded; external 53 x 33 x 18 cm (20.9 x 13 x 7 in) standard and 53 x 33 x 20 cm (20.9 x 13 x 7.9 in) expanded; internal 49 x 36 x 14 cm standard / 16 cm deep expanded; 1.44 kg (3.17 lb); fits a 16 in laptop (max 40.6 x 28 x 2.5 cm / 16 x 11 x 1 in) and a 10 in tablet (max 24 x 19 x 1.5 cm); holds 3 Peak Design packing or camera cubes; weatherproof 100% recycled 400D nylon Versa Shell (DWR and double poly coated) over a 900D waterproof bottom liner, anodized aluminum and glass-reinforced nylon hardware, UltraZips with UHMPE thread; tuck-away shoulder straps, optional hip belt accessory; in the box: the pack, two Cord Hook external carry straps and a stowable sternum strap (accessed September 17, 2026)
  • Peak Design — Travel Backpack 45L specs — Manufacturer spec: 30L compressed / 35L standard (max carry-on) / 45L expanded, 22 x 13 x 9.5 in growing to 22 x 13 x 11 in expanded, 4.5 lb, weatherproof 100% recycled 400D nylon shell with a 900D bottom liner, 16 in laptop sleeve plus a separate tablet sleeve (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Pack Hacker — Peak Design Travel Backpack 30L — Independent spec box (page updated February 26, 2026) used to cross-check the manufacturer figures: 27L standard / 33L expanded, 3.17 lb (1.4 kg), 20.9 x 13.4 x 7 in growing to 7.9 in deep expanded, 16 in laptop compartment, lifetime warranty; notes the rear clamshell must be laid flat to open and that the hip belt is an optional accessory (accessed September 17, 2026)
  • Pack Hacker — Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L — Independent spec box used to cross-check the manufacturer figures: 45L, 4.55 lb, 22 x 13 x 9.5 in with depth increasing to 11 in expanded, 16 in laptop compartment (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Peak Design — Lifetime Warranty — Covers manufacturing defects and failures or breakages that render part or all of the product non-functional; excludes cosmetic wear, misuse, apparel, Factory 2nds and products bought on secondhand marketplaces or auction sites (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Nomatic — Travel Bag 40L (specs & lifetime warranty) — Manufacturer spec: 40L, 21 x 14 x 9 in, 3.42 lb, lifetime warranty (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • tomtoc — 40L Travel Backpack (Navigator-T66) specs — Manufacturer spec: 40L, 20.5 x 13 x 9 in, 2.65 lb, up to 17.3 in laptop (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • American Airlines — Carry-on baggage — AA carry-on 22 x 14 x 9 in; personal item 18 x 14 x 8 in (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Delta Air Lines — Carry-on baggage — Delta carry-on 22 x 14 x 9 in (45 linear in); personal item must fit under the seat (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • United Airlines — Carry-on bags — United carry-on 22 x 14 x 9 in; personal item 17 x 10 x 9 in (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • JetBlue — Carry-on bags — JetBlue carry-on 22 x 14 x 9 in; personal item 17 x 13 x 8 in (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Alaska Airlines — Carry-on luggage — Alaska carry-on 22 x 14 x 9 in incl. wheels/handles; personal item must fit under the seat (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Ryanair — Bag policy — Ryanair free small bag 40 x 20 x 25 cm; priority cabin bag 55 x 40 x 20 cm, 10 kg (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Lufthansa — Carry-on baggage — Lufthansa carry-on 55 x 40 x 23 cm and max 8 kg; Economy Basic excludes the carry-on and allows a 40 x 30 x 15 cm personal item only (accessed August 13, 2026)
  • Emirates — Cabin baggage rules — Emirates Economy: one cabin bag max 7 kg (15 lb), total dimensions max 115 cm (L+W+H); 10 kg for journeys originating in Brazil (accessed August 13, 2026)
  • Qantas — Carry-on baggage allowances — Qantas international Economy: one carry-on up to 7 kg plus one small personal item; over the limit must be checked (accessed August 13, 2026)

Keep reading