Passage & Pier

Osprey Sojourn 45 vs Osprey Transporter 40

Two Osprey travel bags under the same guarantee, with opposite ideas about what a transfer looks like. One rolls on 90 mm wheels and weighs 7.93 lb empty; the other is a squashable U-zip duffel with stowable straps.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we choose

The verdict

Buy the Osprey Transporter 40 for most trips.It is a soft, squashable 40L duffel with a wide U-zip that opens the whole face, a water-resistant recycled nylon shell, stowable backpack straps and the All Mighty Guarantee — and because it has no wheels, no chassis and no telescoping handle, you are not carrying several pounds of hardware on every leg. It is for the traveler whose bag has to ride in a van, a boat or a roof rack as often as it rides a terminal floor. Buy the Osprey Sojourn 45 only if rolling is genuinely the plan— smooth floors, long transfers, a back or shoulder that cannot take a loaded pack. It is the one wheeled bag we cover with a real stowaway harness and padded hip belt, and Osprey publishes it at 22 x 14 x 9 in, the standard US carry-on box to the inch.

The honest gap in this comparison is on the duffel’s side of the table: Osprey publishes neither exterior dimensions nor an empty weight for the Transporter 40L, so we print “Not published” rather than a guessed figure. What we can say is what the Sojourn costs you in the one number it does publish — 7.93 lb empty, the heaviest bag on this site, more than half of the 7 kg cabin allowance Emirates and Qantas allow.

People search these two against each other because they sit next to one another in Osprey’s travel line at a similar capacity, and because the question underneath is not really about brands: it is whether you want wheels at all. A 45L wheeled pack and a 40L duffel hold roughly the same trip. They behave nothing alike the moment the ground stops being flat, the gate agent reaches for a sizer, or the bag has to be thrown into the back of a pickup.

Both carry Osprey’s All Mighty Guarantee, the any-product, any-era free-repair promise, so the warranty is not a tiebreaker here. Both open wide rather than loading from the top, which is the feature that separates a travel bag from a gym bag. After that they diverge: the Sojourn adds a rigid chassis, 90 mm wheels, a telescoping handle and a harness that zips away behind the back panel, and the Transporter adds none of that and weighs accordingly.

Everything below is each bag’s published spec, with the carriers’ own baggage pages for the size and weight limits. We have not flown either bag, so there is no score column and no durability claim — only what the makers state and what it means on a real itinerary.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which bag we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on capacity, carry-on fit and who each bag actually suits. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not flown every one of these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductCapacityWeight (empty)External dimensionsCarry-on fit (our read)Best forPrice
1
Osprey Transporter 40L Travel Duffel

Osprey Transporter 40L Travel Duffel

The most travel-literate duffel of the group: water-resistant fabric, a wide U-zip that opens like a suitcase instead of a hole, stowable backpack straps and Osprey's guarantee behind it. At 40L it's the duffel we'd hand someone who wants one bag that can be carried on and thrown in a van.

40 LNot publishedNot publishedCarry-on (check strict carriers)Best overall: no wheels to carry
2
Osprey Sojourn 22"/45L Wheeled Travel Pack

Osprey Sojourn 22"/45L Wheeled Travel Pack

The only bag in this category that takes the backpack half seriously. The harness, backpanel and hip belt stow behind a zip and deploy into something close to a real Osprey suspension, and Osprey publishes 22 x 14 x 9 in — the standard US carry-on box exactly. You pay for that twice: in money, and in 7.93 lb of empty weight you carry before a single shirt goes in.

45 L7.93 lb22 x 14 x 9 inCarry-on (check strict carriers)Best if the trip is mostly rolling
$430.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Eagle Creek Cargo Hauler Duffel 40L

Eagle Creek Cargo Hauler Duffel 40L

The duffel to buy if the bag has to survive the trip rather than just make it. Eagle Creek builds the Cargo Hauler out of burly ripstop with taped, abrasion-resistant panels, and 40L keeps it inside carry-on territory. It has backpack straps, but they're a get-you-across-the-airport feature, not a suspension system.

40 LNot publishedNot publishedCarry-on (check strict carriers)Best if durability is the whole point
$149.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Specs read from each product’s own Amazon listing as of August 25, 2026; prices as of October 10, 2026, refreshed daily. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure — we print that rather than an estimate.

The picks in full

#1Best overall: no wheels to carry

Osprey Transporter 40L Travel Duffel

The most travel-literate duffel of the group: water-resistant fabric, a wide U-zip that opens like a suitcase instead of a hole, stowable backpack straps and Osprey's guarantee behind it. At 40L it's the duffel we'd hand someone who wants one bag that can be carried on and thrown in a van.

Strengths

  • Wide U-zip opening — you pack it like a suitcase, not a stuff sack
  • Water-resistant shell and burly base for transfers and roof racks
  • Stowable backpack straps plus Osprey's All Mighty Guarantee

Trade-offs

  • Straps stow away neatly but still aren't a hip-belted travel harness
  • Costs more than a plain gym-style duffel of the same volume
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)Not published
External dimensionsNot published
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeveNot published
MaterialWater-resistant recycled nylon
WarrantyOsprey All Mighty Guarantee

Fit note. The U-zip is the spec that matters. A top-loading duffel buries whatever went in first; a U-zip opens the whole face so the bag behaves like a soft suitcase, which is what makes 40L of duffel usable on a real trip.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best if the trip is mostly rolling

Osprey Sojourn 22"/45L Wheeled Travel Pack

The only bag in this category that takes the backpack half seriously. The harness, backpanel and hip belt stow behind a zip and deploy into something close to a real Osprey suspension, and Osprey publishes 22 x 14 x 9 in — the standard US carry-on box exactly. You pay for that twice: in money, and in 7.93 lb of empty weight you carry before a single shirt goes in.

Strengths

  • Stowaway harness, backpanel and padded hip belt — a real suspension, not two courtesy straps
  • Published at 22 x 14 x 9 in, which is the standard US carry-on allowance to the inch
  • Oversized 90 mm wheels on a rigid chassis, and Osprey's All Mighty Guarantee behind the whole bag

Trade-offs

  • 7.93 lb empty — more than a fifth of a 7 kg cabin allowance gone before you pack
  • Comfortably the most expensive bag on this page, and several times the price of the budget rollers
  • No published laptop sleeve, so the computer lives in your personal item
Capacity45 L
Weight (empty)7.93 lb
External dimensions22 x 14 x 9 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeveNot published
MaterialRecycled high-tenacity nylon and ballistic polyester
WarrantyOsprey All Mighty Guarantee

Fit note. Forty-five liters inside a 22 x 14 x 9 in shell is the whole trick: a rigid wheeled box uses the allowance more completely than a soft 40L pack does. The number to watch here is not size but weight — at 7.93 lb empty this is the heaviest bag we cover, which matters enormously on carriers that weigh cabin bags and not at all on the US majors that don't.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best if durability is the whole point

Eagle Creek Cargo Hauler Duffel 40L

The duffel to buy if the bag has to survive the trip rather than just make it. Eagle Creek builds the Cargo Hauler out of burly ripstop with taped, abrasion-resistant panels, and 40L keeps it inside carry-on territory. It has backpack straps, but they're a get-you-across-the-airport feature, not a suspension system.

Strengths

  • Genuinely tough ripstop build made for being thrown around
  • 40L sits inside carry-on territory rather than sprawling past it
  • Packs down when empty, so it doubles as a spare bag

Trade-offs

  • Backpack straps are a convenience, not a real harness for long carries
  • Duffel shape gives you one big space — you'll want cubes to keep order
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)Not published
External dimensionsNot published
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeveNot published
MaterialRipstop nylon
WarrantyNot published

Fit note. A 40L duffel and a 40L backpack hold the same volume but behave differently at the gate: a duffel is soft and squashable, so it often makes a sizer a rigid pack would fail. That flexibility is the duffel's real carry-on advantage.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

What each bag publishes, and what it does not

This comparison is unusual in that one side of it is mostly blank, and we would rather say so than fill it in:

  • Osprey Sojourn 45: 45L, 22 x 14 x 9 in, 7.93 lb empty, recycled high-tenacity nylon and ballistic polyester, stowaway AirScape harness, backpanel and padded hip belt, 90 mm wheels on a HighRoad chassis, All Mighty Guarantee. No published laptop sleeve.
  • Osprey Transporter 40L: 40L, water-resistant recycled nylon, wide U-zip opening, stowable backpack straps, All Mighty Guarantee. No published exterior dimensions, no published empty weight, no published laptop sleeve.

A missing figure is not a bad figure, but it does change how you shop. With the Sojourn you can do the gate arithmetic at your desk. With the Transporter you cannot, so the sensible move is to measure it yourself when it arrives — our how to measure a backpackguide works the same way for a duffel — and to pack it below full if you intend to carry it on.

The sizer behaves differently for each one

A rigid wheeled case is measured once and for all: the Sojourn is 22 x 14 x 9 in empty or stuffed, which is why it fits the box American, Delta, United, JetBlue and Alaska publish, and fits Southwest’s and Frontier’s larger 24 x 16 x 10 in with room. You never have to argue, and you never get a break either.

A soft duffel is the opposite. Packed two-thirds full the Transporter squashes into whatever frame it is pushed into, which is the duffel’s real carry-on advantage over a rigid bag of the same volume. Packed to 40 liters it is a different object, and on a carrier that measures as policy — Ryanair’s 55 x 40 x 20 cm priority cabin bag, easyJet’s 56 x 45 x 25 cm large cabin bag — a bulging duffel is exactly the shape that gets stopped. Decide which mode you are flying in before you pack, and read what happens if your carry-on is too big if the answer is “full.”

Weight is the Sojourn’s real cost

The US majors do not weigh cabin bags, so on a domestic trip the Sojourn’s 7.93 lb costs you only your own shoulders. On Emirates and Qantas, where international Economy allows one 7 kg (about 15.4 lb) cabin bag, the empty Sojourn is more than half the allowance — so the bag that holds five more liters is also the bag you cannot fill. Lufthansa publishes 8 kg. Frontier’s 35 lb carry-on limit is the generous case.

Osprey does not publish the Transporter’s empty weight, so we will not claim a number for it, but the structural point stands: there are no wheels, no chassis and no handle in it, and those are what the 7.93 lb is made of. If cabin weight limits are part of your flying life, the full carrier list is in carry-on weight limits, and how much does a travel backpack weigh puts every published weight on the site into one table.

Carry comfort: an escape hatch either way

Neither of these is a backpack first. The Sojourn’s harness is the best of its kind that we have found — Osprey publishes a real AirScape backpanel and a padded hip belt behind that zip — but wearing it means wearing the wheels too. The Transporter’s straps stow away neatly and are explicitly a get-across-the-airport feature rather than a suspension: no hip belt, no frame, no load transfer.

So if you expect to carry the bag for any real distance, both are the wrong answer and a proper travel pack is the right one. Start with best 40L travel backpacks or, if you want this same wheels-versus-carry decision argued between two packs, Farpoint 40 vs Sojourn 45.

Who should buy which

Buy the Transporter 40 if your trips involve rough transfers, you want one bag that flies and then gets thrown in a vehicle, you like a U-zip that lets you pack like a suitcase, or you simply do not want to haul wheels you will rarely use. The wider field is on best travel duffel bags.

Buy the Sojourn 45 if rolling is the default and carrying is the exception, you want published dimensions you can show a gate agent, or carrying a loaded bag is not available to you. The rest of that class is on best wheeled carry-on backpacks.

Buy the Eagle Creek Cargo Hauler 40L if the bag has to survive the trip. It is burly ripstop with taped, abrasion-resistant panels and it stays inside carry-on territory at 40L; its straps, like the Transporter’s, are for crossing a terminal. Eagle Creek publishes no dimensions or empty weight for it either, which is why the spec table above reads the way it does. If you want the two duffels compared directly, Cargo Hauler vs Transporter is that page.

What we are not claiming

No hands-on testing, no wheel-durability verdict and no invented weights or dimensions for the two bags whose makers do not publish them. What a specs-first comparison settles honestly is fit where it is published, weight where it is published, opening style, harness type and warranty terms. Our method, and the claims we refuse to make, are in how we choose.

Frequently asked questions

Osprey Sojourn 45 or Osprey Transporter 40?

The Transporter 40 for most travelers. It holds a comparable trip without the wheels, chassis and handle that make the Sojourn 7.93 lb empty, it squashes to fit a sizer, and it costs less. Choose the Sojourn 45 if your itinerary is mostly smooth-ground rolling, if you want a bag published at exactly 22 x 14 x 9 in, or if you cannot carry a loaded bag.

Is the Osprey Transporter 40L a carry-on?

Osprey publishes no exterior dimensions for it, so nobody can answer that from the spec sheet — including us. At 40 liters it is in carry-on territory and, being soft, it compresses into a sizer in a way a rigid bag cannot. Packed to full capacity it is a different shape, so measure it yourself and pack below full if you plan to carry it on.

How heavy is the Osprey Transporter 40L?

Osprey does not publish an empty weight for it, so we print 'Not published' rather than a guess. The structural comparison still holds: the Transporter has no wheels, no chassis and no telescoping handle, and those components are what make up most of the Sojourn's published 7.93 lb.

Does the Osprey Transporter have backpack straps?

Yes — stowable backpack straps, which tuck away when you carry it as a duffel. They are a get-across-the-airport feature rather than a suspension: there is no hip belt and no frame, so the load sits on your shoulders. The Sojourn's stowaway harness does include a padded hip belt, but you carry the wheels along with it.

Do both come with the Osprey All Mighty Guarantee?

Yes. Osprey's any-product, any-era promise to repair or replace covers both bags, which takes the warranty out of this decision entirely. The Eagle Creek Cargo Hauler, the third pick here, publishes no warranty term on the listing we cite, so we print none for it.

Is a duffel or a wheeled bag better for carry-on?

A soft duffel is more forgiving at a sizer because it squashes, and it is lighter because there is no hardware in it. A wheeled bag uses the allowance more completely — the Sojourn fits 45 liters inside a 22 x 14 x 9 in shell — and never has to be argued about. If you walk with your bag, the duffel wins; if you roll it, the wheeled bag does.

Sources

Keep reading