Passage & Pier

Hynes Eagle 40L vs Osprey Farpoint 40

The budget 40L is lighter than the Osprey and closer to carry-on legal than the Osprey. What the extra money buys is a hip belt that carries and a warranty with no end date - and whether that is worth it comes down to one number.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we choose

The verdict

Buy the Hynes Eagle 40L if you travel a few times a year and your packed bag lands under about 20 lb. It is the better bag on paper in the two places that are easiest to check: 2.2 lb empty against the Osprey’s 3.1 lb, and a published 20.1 x 13.4 x 9.8 in against the Osprey’s 21 x 15 x 10 in — which means the cheap pack misses the standard carry-on box on one dimension where the Osprey misses on two. It also states a hip belt and compression straps, and a 15.6-inch laptop sleeve against the Osprey’s 15.

Buy the Osprey Farpoint 40 if you will own this bag for a decade or carry it heavy. Two things the spec sheet understates: a hip belt that genuinely transfers load off your shoulders, and the All Mighty Guarantee — Osprey repairs or replaces any product from any era, free. Hynes Eagle publishes no warranty term at all, which is the honest headline difference between a few-years bag and a buy-it-for-life one.

Neither is dimensionally compliant on paper. Against the 22 x 14 x 9 in box American, Delta, United, JetBlue and Alaska print, the Hynes Eagle is 0.8 in over on depth and inside on height and width; the Farpoint is 1 in over on width and 1 in over on depth. Both are soft clamshells that clear US gates routinely. If you want all three published numbers inside the box, that is the tomtoc 40L at 20.5 x 13 x 9 in.

“Hynes Eagle vs Osprey” is one of the most-asked questions in one-bag travel, and it is really a question about whether premium travel luggage is a racket. The Farpoint 40 is the default answer to “best carry-on travel backpack” and has been for years. The Hynes Eagle 40L is the pack that keeps showing up in the replies saying you can have the same thing for a fraction of the money.

The uncomfortable part, if you like tidy answers, is that on published specs the budget bag wins. It is lighter, it is slimmer, and it states the same core features — 40 liters, clamshell opening, hip belt, laptop sleeve. There is no spec column where paying more gets you a bigger number. What the money buys does not appear in a spec table at all, and the rest of this page is about saying exactly what it is rather than pretending the table settles it.

One caveat: we do not own either pack and we have not flown them. Published specs settle weight, fit against an airline’s box, laptop carry and warranty terms. They cannot settle how a zipper feels after two years, so you will find no durability score here — only what each maker commits to in writing.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which bag we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on capacity, carry-on fit and who each bag actually suits. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not flown every one of these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductCapacityWeight (empty)External dimensionsLaptop sleeveWarrantyBest forPrice
1
Hynes Eagle 40L Flight-Approved Carry-On Backpack

Hynes Eagle 40L Flight-Approved Carry-On Backpack

The perennial budget one-bag pick. A 40L clamshell with a real hip belt for a fraction of the premium price — genuinely capable for the money. You give up refinement and long-term durability, but for occasional trips it punches far above its cost.

40 L2.2 lb20.1 x 13.4 x 9.8 in15.6 inNot publishedBest value: lighter, slimmer, far cheaper
$45.99 · View on Amazon

$54.9916% off

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

The default answer to 'best carry-on travel backpack,' and it earns it: a 40L clamshell that opens flat like a suitcase, a real hip belt that moves the load off your shoulders, and Osprey's all-mighty warranty behind it. At 40L it sits right at the carry-on ceiling — great if you pack full, worth measuring against a strict European carrier.

40 L3.1 lb21 x 15 x 10 in15 inOsprey All Mighty GuaranteeBest for heavy loads and the long run
$199.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L Travel Backpack

tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L Travel Backpack

A lot of well-built 40L for the money. A structured clamshell with a protective laptop compartment and a lifetime warranty that undercuts the premium brands by a wide margin. The trade-off is a simpler harness — fine for airport-to-hotel, less so for long walks under load.

40 L2.65 lb20.5 x 13 x 9 in17.3 in1-year (2-year with registration)Best middle ground: inside the box on all three sides
$79.99 · View on Amazon

$89.9911% off

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Specs read from each product’s own Amazon listing as of August 11, 2026; prices as of October 19, 2026, refreshed daily. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure — we print that rather than an estimate.

The picks in full

#1Best value: lighter, slimmer, far cheaper

Hynes Eagle 40L Flight-Approved Carry-On Backpack

The perennial budget one-bag pick. A 40L clamshell with a real hip belt for a fraction of the premium price — genuinely capable for the money. You give up refinement and long-term durability, but for occasional trips it punches far above its cost.

Strengths

  • 40L clamshell with a hip belt at a budget price
  • Compression straps to cinch a light load down to size
  • A frequent recommendation in one-bag communities

Trade-offs

  • Materials and zippers aren't built for years of hard use
  • No premium warranty to fall back on
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)2.2 lb
External dimensions20.1 x 13.4 x 9.8 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve15.6 in
MaterialWater-repellent polyester
WarrantyNot published

Fit note. A capable 40L for the price. Treat it as a few-years bag rather than a buy-it-for-life pack, and the value is hard to argue with. Same 40L strict-carrier caveat applies.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best for heavy loads and the long run

Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Backpack

The default answer to 'best carry-on travel backpack,' and it earns it: a 40L clamshell that opens flat like a suitcase, a real hip belt that moves the load off your shoulders, and Osprey's all-mighty warranty behind it. At 40L it sits right at the carry-on ceiling — great if you pack full, worth measuring against a strict European carrier.

Strengths

  • Clamshell opens flat so you pack it like a suitcase, not a stuff sack
  • Proper padded hip belt actually transfers weight off the shoulders
  • Backed by Osprey's All Mighty Guarantee — they repair or replace it

Trade-offs

  • At 40L it runs right at the carry-on limit; overpack it and strict carriers push back
  • Premium price versus the budget 40L crowd
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)3.1 lb
External dimensions21 x 15 x 10 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve15 in
MaterialNylon ripstop
WarrantyOsprey All Mighty Guarantee

Fit note. 40L is the most a soft carry-on backpack can hold before it starts failing strict sizers when full. On generous US carriers it clears; on a strict 40x20x25cm European budget limit, packed full it can get flagged. Check your carrier's number on our size guide before you count on it.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best middle ground: inside the box on all three sides

tomtoc Navigator-T66 40L Travel Backpack

A lot of well-built 40L for the money. A structured clamshell with a protective laptop compartment and a lifetime warranty that undercuts the premium brands by a wide margin. The trade-off is a simpler harness — fine for airport-to-hotel, less so for long walks under load.

Strengths

  • Structured clamshell and a well-padded laptop compartment
  • Lifetime warranty at a mid-tier price
  • Clean, business-appropriate looks

Trade-offs

  • Simpler hip belt and back panel than an Osprey — less comfortable under a heavy load
  • At 40L, the same strict-carrier caveat applies when packed full
Capacity40 L
Weight (empty)2.65 lb
External dimensions20.5 x 13 x 9 in
Carry-on fit (our read)Carry-on (check strict carriers)
Laptop sleeve17.3 in
MaterialRecycled 1680D PET fabric, YKK zippers
Warranty1-year (2-year with registration)

Fit note. The tomtoc's strength is protective tech carry at a mid price; its weakness is the suspension. If you'll walk far with it loaded, budget for the comfort gap versus a hip-belted Osprey.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

The published figures, side by side

  • Capacity. 40 L both, fixed. The Hynes Eagle adds compression straps to cinch a light load down; the Farpoint has them too.
  • Empty weight.2.2 lb against 3.1 lb. The Hynes Eagle is 0.9 lb lighter — 29 percent less bag before you pack anything. As capacity per pound: 18.2 L/lb against 12.9 L/lb. The Hynes Eagle is the lightest 40 L pack we cover.
  • External dimensions. 20.1 x 13.4 x 9.8 in against 21 x 15 x 10 in. The Hynes Eagle is nearly an inch shorter and more than an inch and a half narrower.
  • Laptop. 15.6 in against 15 in. A small win for the cheap bag, and enough to matter if your machine is a 15.6.
  • Material. Water-repellent polyester against nylon ripstop. This is the first place the price difference becomes real: ripstop nylon resists tear propagation in a way plain polyester does not.
  • Warranty.Osprey’s All Mighty Guarantee — any product, any era, repaired or replaced free. Hynes Eagle: not published.We print “Not published” rather than guess, and the absence is itself the information.

Fit: the cheap bag is the more compliant one

This surprises people, so here it is bluntly. Against the standard 22 x 14 x 9 in allowance:

  • Hynes Eagle 40L: height 20.1 in (1.9 in of margin), width 13.4 in (0.6 in of margin), depth 9.8 in (0.8 in over). One failure.
  • Osprey Farpoint 40: height 21 in (1 in of margin), width 15 in (1 in over), depth 10 in (1 in over). Two failures.

Width is where the Farpoint gets caught, and it is the quiet reason it occasionally fails a narrow sizer when a bigger-looking bag walks through: at a published 15 inches it is wider than the limit before you pack it. Depth is where both get caught, and depth is the dimension airlines measure most reliably — measured the way a gate agent would, packed and at its widest, not empty and at its neatest.

Both are soft clamshells, so both compress. A half-packed Hynes Eagle at 9.8 in of published depth is a plausible 9 in; a hard-packed Farpoint at 15 in wide and 10 in deep is the one we would not take to Ryanair, whose priority cabin bag is 55 x 40 x 20 cm (about 21.7 x 15.7 x 7.9 in). Our 40L fit guide runs every 40-liter pack on this site through the same arithmetic.

What the extra money actually buys

A hip belt that carries, not a hip belt that exists

Both bags state a hip belt. They are not the same object. Osprey’s is a padded, load-bearing belt attached to a structured back panel, which is the mechanism that moves weight off your shoulders and onto your hips. A budget pack’s belt is usually webbing with light padding and no frame behind it, which stabilizes the bag without unloading your shoulders. Nobody publishes a number for this, which is precisely why it is invisible in a spec table — and it is the single biggest difference you will feel on a packed 25 lb bag over an hour on your feet. Our hip-belt roundup separates the packs whose maker states a real belt from the ones with two courtesy webbing loops.

A warranty with no end date

Osprey’s All Mighty Guarantee is a free repair or replacement on any Osprey product, from any era, regardless of when or where it was bought. Hynes Eagle publishes no warranty term we could find. That is the difference between a bag whose failed zipper is a service ticket and a bag whose failed zipper is a new bag. Over ten years of regular travel, it is the strongest financial argument in the Farpoint’s favor; over three trips it is worth almost nothing. Our lifespan guide quotes every warranty on this site in its own words.

Materials that fail more slowly

Nylon ripstop against water-repellent polyester. Ripstop’s grid of reinforcing threads is designed to stop a small tear becoming a long one. Polyester is cheaper, a little heavier per unit of strength, and more UV-stable — it is not junk, it is just not the same thing. Combined with the warranty, this is why we describe the Hynes Eagle as a few-years bag rather than a buy-it-for-life pack, and say so on its own review.

The decision, in one number

Weigh your packed bag. Under about 20 lb, a load-bearing belt is a luxury and the Hynes Eagle is the better buy — lighter, slimmer, cheaper, and nearly a pound of allowance back on a 7 kg cabin limit. Over about 20 lb, or if you are walking more than twenty minutes with it, the Osprey’s harness earns its price on the first trip and keeps earning it.

The second question is time. If this is a bag for three trips, buy the cheap one and put the difference into the trip. If it is a bag for the next ten years, the guarantee is the cheapest insurance in luggage. Our spending guide works through the ladder rung by rung, and the under-$100 roundup is where the Hynes Eagle sits at the top.

The middle ground, if you want one

There is a third answer and it is a good one. The tomtoc 40Lpublishes 20.5 x 13 x 9 in — inside the standard box on height, width anddepth, which neither bag above manages — at 2.65 lb, with a 17.3-inch laptop sleeve, for a mid price rather than a premium one. Its belt is simpler than the Osprey’s and its brand has no All Mighty Guarantee behind it. If your deciding criterion is clearing every sizer you meet, it beats both of these on the only evidence available.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Hynes Eagle 40L as good as the Osprey Farpoint 40?

On published specs it is better: 2.2 lb against 3.1 lb, 20.1 x 13.4 x 9.8 in against 21 x 15 x 10 in, and a 15.6-inch laptop sleeve against 15. What the Osprey has that does not appear in a spec table is a load-bearing hip belt on a structured back panel and the All Mighty Guarantee - free repair or replacement on any Osprey product from any era. Hynes Eagle publishes no warranty term at all.

Which is more likely to pass as a carry-on?

The Hynes Eagle. Against the standard 22 x 14 x 9 in box it is over on one dimension only - 9.8 in of depth - with 1.9 in of height margin and 0.6 in of width margin. The Farpoint 40 is over on two, at 15 in wide against a 14 in limit and 10 in deep against 9. Both are soft bags that compress and both clear US gates routinely; on a strict European sizer the Farpoint is the riskier one.

Does the Hynes Eagle 40L have a hip belt?

Yes, it states one, plus compression straps. The caveat is what a hip belt means at that price: a padded webbing belt stabilizes the bag, while a load-bearing belt on a structured back panel moves weight off your shoulders onto your hips. No maker publishes a number for load transfer, so we will not claim one - but that structural difference is the main thing the Osprey's price buys.

How long does a Hynes Eagle backpack last?

Nobody can give you a number of years honestly, and Hynes Eagle publishes no warranty term, so there is nothing to fall back on if it fails. Its shell is water-repellent polyester rather than the ripstop nylon the Osprey uses. We treat it as a few-years bag for occasional travel, which at its price is a reasonable trade rather than a criticism.

Is the Osprey Farpoint 40 worth the extra money?

If your packed bag is over about 20 lb, or you will own it for a decade, yes - the harness changes how a heavy bag feels and the All Mighty Guarantee has no expiry. If you fly a few times a year with a light bag, the Hynes Eagle delivers the same 40 liters, lighter and slimmer, and the difference is better spent on the trip.

Which 40L backpack fits inside 22 x 14 x 9 in on all three sides?

Of the 40L packs we cover, the tomtoc 40L (20.5 x 13 x 9 in), the Nomatic Travel Bag 40L (21 x 14 x 9 in) and the Osprey Fairview 40 (21.3 x 13.8 x 9 in) are inside the standard box on height, width and depth. Neither the Hynes Eagle nor the Farpoint 40 is.

Sources

Keep reading